A Striking Resemblance: Deep Parallels in Israeli and Chinese History

In recent years, Israel has invested heavily in developing the economic, diplomatic and academic dimensions of its relationship with China. The investment has paid off, as Israel-China relations are strengthening while China rises on the world stage.

Moving forward, it is in Jerusalem’s interest to deepen the connection with Beijing. However, it’s legitimate to wonder if the cultural gaps and different histories render such an interest impractical. At first glance, the cultural and historical barriers present serious obstacles to establishing a more profound connection between Israel and China.

This initial view is, however, incorrect. There are profound cultural and historical parallels between the Chinese and Israeli experiences that, if thoughtfully cultivated over time, can be used to deepen the connection between the Israeli and Chinese peoples and to buttress the Israel-China relationship.

Consider the following: only the Chinese and Israelis can claim to be inheritors of traditions that date back to the ancient world but have endured through the present. There are other ancient peoples in the world, for instance, the Persians. But in the case of Persia, the introduction of Islam caused a fundamental disruption within Persian history. Persian culture before Islam, and Persian culture after Islam, are different in kind.

The national traditions of China and Israel, however, have not suffered such fundamental disruptions. It’s true of course that both Jewish and Chinese traditions have undergone numerous twists and turns, some quite abrupt, and absorbed foreign ways ̶ think of the influence of Greek philosophy on Judaism, or the influence of Buddhism on Chinese culture. Nevertheless, those cultures ultimately remain characterized by their continuity.

This parallel between Chinese and Israeli culture becomes even more intriguing when we consider that both the Chinese and Jewish traditions were in a state of unprecedented crisis at the end of the 19th century thanks to their confrontation with the power and allure of Western civilization. As a response to that crisis, fiercely nationalistic Chinese, and fiercely nationalistic Jews, attacked their ancient national traditions in the name of strengthening and modernizing their nations! Patriotic Chinese attacked Confucianism for rendering Chinese excessively bookish and weak, while patriotic Jews attacked rabbinic Judaism for the same reason. Max Nordau’s call for a ‘muscular Judaism’ at the turn of the century thus found its echo half a century later when Mao Zedong demonstratively went for a swim in the Yangtze river, demonstrating to the Chinese people what a strong Chinese looked like.

In this context, it’s interesting to note the parallel biographies of the founding visionaries of modern Jewish and Chinese nationalism, Theodore Herzl (1860-1904) and Sun Yat Sen (1866-1925). Herzl and Sun (his family name) belonged to the same generation and emerged as national leaders during this period of intense crisis. Both Herzl and Sun were raised outside of the traditional mainstream and received Western educations that enabled them to engage the Western world on its own terms, a reminder that in order to effectively engage another culture you need to know it from the inside. In addition, both Herzl and Sun were heavily criticized by traditionalists (rabbis and Confucian scholars) for their lack of traditional education. In a sense, both Herzl and Sun were, from a purely political perspective, Moses-like figures, insofar as Moses was able to engage Egypt on its own terms and to initiate the liberation of his people precisely because he had been raised in Pharoah’s house.

Turning to 20th century political history, the modern state of Israel was founded in 1948, while the modern state of China was founded in 1949. Israel was originally founded as a socialist state and China as a communist state. Yet, due to the powerful socializing processes that aimed to replace traditional culture with revolutionary national culture, both countries began as insular societies. For instance, Israel famously prevented the Beatles from performing in the 1960’s for fear that they would “corrupt the youth,” while, in a far more intense fashion, China shut itself off from the outside world during the Cultural Revolution (1966-76).

But these attempts to keep the world at bay and inculcate new ways were ultimately unsuccessful. Israel began opening up to the world in the late 1960’s, while China opened up to the world in the late 1970s. In short order both countries dismantled their previously centralized economic systems and linked up to the global economy. The results have, in both cases, been staggeringly successful, with the Chinese economy challenging the American economy as the largest in the world and Israel establishing itself as a global, High-Tech superpower.

Now that China and Israel have secured their position on the global stage, both countries are going through a fascinating process of exploring and, to a degree, reembracing traditional culture.

In the case of China, the aspiration to erase traditional Chinese culture from hundreds of millions of Chinese peasants was doomed from the start. The founder and long-time PM of Singapore, Lee Kwan Yew, likened the attempt to replace traditional Chinese culture to painting over a mosaic, “Mao wanted to erase the old China and paint a new one. But Mao was painting on an old Chinese picture imbedded in mosaic; the rains would come, Mao’s paint would be washed off, and the mosaic would reappear. Mao had only one lifetime and did not have the time or power to erase over 4,000 years of Chinese history, tradition, culture, and literature. Even if all the books were burnt, the proverbs and sayings would survive in the folk memory of the people.” While China’s communist party hasn’t reinvented itself as the Confucian Party (although one prominent ex-pat American scholar suggested that it might not be such a bad idea), Confucius has returned to the public sphere in a way that would have been unthinkable in the recent past: the 2008 Olympics highlighted Confucian ideas and customs; popular books on Confucius and Confucianism have become best-sellers in China; China pedals its soft-power around the globe through government-financed Confucius Institutes; and in 2011 a statue of Confucius even appeared in Tiananmen Square, opposite Mao, for four months.

Likewise, the secular-Zionist aspiration to uproot traditional Jewish culture from the state of Israel initially succeeded in creating a secular mainstream that marginalized Ultra-orthodox Jews. That objective collapsed, however, with the arrival of the Mizrahim, Jewish immigrants from the Arab and Islamic world who were and, to a large degree remain, traditionalists. For the past couple of decades, the Israel Democracy Institute has published studies that demonstrate the increasingly traditional character of Israeli society.

So does Israel possess the means to cultivate a deeper relationship with China? It does. In order to cultivate this more profound level of connection, however, Israel will need to look beyond immediately practical concerns and think seriously about the roles that culture and history can play in deepening the ties between Jerusalem and Beijing.

Author:Aryeh Tepper
中文
Published: 22-08-2017

惊人的相似:中以历史之深度对比

近年来,以色列在与中国发展经济、外交以及学术关系方面投入颇多,效果也随之显现。随着中国在国际舞台上的地位不断提升,中以两国关系也在不断加强。

加强同中国的关系符合以色列政府的长远利益。但是,鉴于两国间的文化、历史差异,能否实现目标仍具有不确定性。从表面上看,中以之间文化及历史差异对于两国关系向更深层次发展是一项严峻的挑战。

然而,这样浅显的观点是错误的。中以两国在文化与历史层面有许多相似经历,若能不断发掘共同点,可以拉近中以两国人民关系,为中以关系奠定基础。

中以两国经历的相似之处在于:世界上只有中以两国人民可以声称自己是古老传统的继承者,也只有中以两国的文明从古至今未曾断绝。世界上也有其他古老的民族,例如波斯人,但伊斯兰教的引入已经彻底摧毁了波斯历史,在伊斯兰教引入之前和之后的波斯文化是两种完全不同的文化。

而中以两国的文化根基却没有经历过这样的根本性的摧毁。当然,中以两国的文化传统也发生过多许许多多的变化,有的甚至很突然,并且外来文化也被不断吸收——例如希腊哲学对犹太教的影响,佛教对中国文化的影响。然而,两国的文化最终仍保留着原本的基调。

回顾19世纪末中以两国文化的处境,我们可以发现中以两国文化有着更多的相似之处。当时面对西方文明的力量和诱惑,两国传统文化都处于前所未有的危机之中。为了应对危机,激进的中华民族主义者和同样激进的犹太民族主义者都以让国家变得强大和现代化为名对古老传统文化进行抨击。中国的爱国主义者抨击儒学使中国人变得教条和羸弱,而犹太爱国主义者以相同的原因抨击犹太教。麦克斯·诺尔道曾在19世纪末呼唤“强大的犹太人”,而半个世纪之后,毛泽东横渡长江,向中国人民展现了什么是强大的中国人。

还有一点十分有趣,西奥多·赫茨尔(1860-1904)与孙中山(1866-1925),一位是近代犹太民族奠基人,一位是近代中国民族奠基人,这两位富有远见的人拥有相似的人生经历。赫茨尔与孙中山属于同一时代,在那个危机四起的年代,他们都成为了国家领导人。他们都是在传统主流之外长大,并接受西方教育,这使他们自身也融入了西方文化。这也提醒了我们,如果想有效地融入到另外一种文化之中,我们就要身处这种文化之中去了解它。此外,赫茨尔与孙中山,因为他们没有接受传统的教育,都受到传统主义者(犹太教教士和儒学学者)的严厉指责。总而言之,单纯的从政治层面而言,赫茨尔和孙中山都是类似于摩西般的人物,摩西之所以能够融入埃及,并且能够解放他的子民,就是因为他在法老家里长大。

翻开20世纪的政治历史,可以发现,现代以色列成立于1948年,而新中国成立于1949年。以色列成立之初,是一个社会主义国家,而中国是一个共产主义国家。但是,在强大的社会化进程中,为了用革命性的新民族文化来取代传统文化,两国一开始都陷入了孤立。例如,以色列在上世纪六十年代的时候阻止披头士乐队在其境内表演,害怕这样会“毁掉年轻人”,而与此同时的中国更是充满激情,在文化大革命期间(1966-1976)将自己与外部世界隔离起来。

但是,这些试图与外部世界隔离的努力和他们反复灌输的新思想,最后都以失败告终。以色列在上世纪60年代末开始对外开放,而中国在上世纪70年代末开始对外开放。两国都废除了之前的集中经济体制,开始与世界经济接轨。之后,两个国家都取得了相当的成功,中国经济直追世界第一大经济体美国,而以色列,则将自己打造成世界科技强国。

现在,中国和以色列都在国际舞台上确立了自己的地位,并不断探索美好的未来,同时也在重新接受各自的传统文化。

在中国,从一开始就注定有从亿万中国农民渴望取代传统文化。新加坡国父兼总理李光耀把取代中国传统文化的尝试比作在马赛克上作画:“毛泽东想要抹去旧的,画一个新的。但毛泽东画在一幅嵌入马赛克的中国古老画面上;雨将来临,毛泽东的画将被冲洗,马赛克将重新出现。毛泽东只有短短一生,没有时间或权力抹去4000多年的中国历史、传统、文化和文学。即使烧掉所有的书,谚语和俗语仍然能在人民的记忆中幸存下来。”虽然中国共产党并没有把自己彻底改造为儒家党(一位著名的美国学者认为这主意不错),但是孔子已经以一种之前无法想象的方式回到公众视野:2008年奥运会突出了儒家思想观念;有关孔子和儒家的流行书籍已成为中国畅销书;政府资助的孔子学院在全球范围内提升中国的软实力; 2011年,孔子雕像甚至在天安门广场被放置在毛泽东像的对面长达四个月之久。

同样,犹太复国主义者渴望从以色列国家根除传统的犹太文化,最初他们成功地创造出一种世俗主流,使正统犹太人边缘化。然而,随着米兹拉希犹太人的到来,这一目标失败了,这些来自阿拉伯和伊斯兰世界的犹太移民在很大程度上仍然是传统主义者。在过去几十年中,以色列民主研究所发布的研究报告显示以色列社会的传统氛围日益浓厚。

所以以色列有办法与中国建立更深层的关系吗?当然有。然而,为了建立更深层次的联系,以色列不能仅考虑现实利益,而应着眼长远,认真考虑文化和历史在加强中以关系中应当发挥的作用。

作者:Aryeh Tepper (阿里耶·泰珀)
English
Published: 23-10-2017
翻译: 中国石油大学 翻译硕士 边远 黄明俊 陈艳云 审校:关媛