SIGNAL Note 64: “Indispensable Netanyahu”- The Israeli prime minister’s diplomatic role has overriding importance for American and world security

After 13 years in office, Benjamin Netanyahu has served long enough to have rankled every Israeli I know. He faces a difficult election on September 17, after failing to form a coalition government following a national election earlier this year. As an American, I avoid taking a view on Israeli politics, but this is a special situation in which Netanyahu’s diplomatic role has overriding importance for American and world security. I have argued since 2009 that the United States has a narrow but important set of common interests with Russia in the Middle East. Thanks in large part to Netanyahu, security cooperation seems effective.

No other world leader could have convened, as Netanyahu did June 25, a meeting of Russia’s national security adviser Nicolai Petrushev and American NSA John Bolton. Speaking in Jerusalem, Petrushev declared, “We pay special attention to ensuring Israel’s security,” calling it “a special interest of ours because here in Israel live a little less than about two million of our countrymen.” He added, “Israel supports us in several channels, including at the UN.”

The Israeli prime minister is the only head of government who has the confidence of President Trump as well as President Putin. Few observers of the region grasp the scope of that accomplishment. Netanyahu did not create a working relationship with Russia by schmoozing its president, but by combining audacious grit and a willingness to compromise. In consequence, it appears possible for the United States and Israel to contain Iran’s imperial ambitions in the Levant without a shooting war. Russia has quietly but firmly discouraged Iran from crossing lines that would provoke actual hostilities, while allowing Israel to conduct hundreds of attacks against Iranian assets in Syria.

This morning, the Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs’ Daily Alert published a report from the news monitoring service MEMRI that Iran’s Syrian proxy Hezbollah is moving forces back to the Syrian-Lebanese border: “Lebanese news websites that oppose Hezbollah have reported that the organization is redeploying its forces in Syria and moving them to the Syria-Lebanon border. The website’s claim that among the reasons are instructions from Russia to withdraw from certain areas to avoid an Israeli attack; the fact that a Hezbollah presence is no longer necessary in view of the stronger Syrian army and the defeat of the rebels; and the need to reduce the expenses incurred by its presence in Syria, in view of the American intensification of sanctions against Hezbollah during the past year.”

Iran wants to turn Syria into a satellite state. Half the Syrian population has been killed or displaced. Iran wants to replace the expelled Syrian Sunni population with Shiite settlers from Lebanon, Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan. The most comprehensive report (again via MEMRI) came last year from the Lebanese journalist Ahmad ‘Ayyash in al-Nahar, although the first public reporting appeared in 2017 by Martin Chulov in The Guardian. ‘Ayyash wrote, “Hezbollah’s involvement in the Syria war is not confined to military action aimed at propping up the Syrian regime. [Its goals] extend much further than that, and have to do with an Iranian settlement project whose implementation began several years ago. The aim [of this project] is changing the demography [of Syria] by settling [it with members of] Iran-backed [Shi’ite] militias from Afghanistan, Lebanon and other countries in the region.”

Neither Israel, Turkey nor the United States will allow Iran to turn Syria into a protectorate without a fight. The United States is committed to containing Iran’s influence. Turkey needs the support of Syria’s Sunnis as a counterweight to Syria’s Kurds, who want to link the regions they control in the north of the country to the Kurdish-controlled autonomous zone in the north of Iraq. And Israel will not allow Iran to create yet another front on its Syrian border. The prospect of a two-front war in Gaza and southern Lebanon presents strategic challenges enough.

Russia respects power, and not much else. One reason that Russia prefers to work with rather than against Israel is that the Russian military respects Israeli arms, and doesn’t want to tangle with the Israel Defense Forces. When Russia deployed warplanes in Syria in 2015, senior Russian and Israeli air force officers sat down to work out a modus vivendi. According to a participant at the meeting, the Russians began by advising Israel to change the flight path for its jet fighters, which often veered West through Lebanon after completing missions in Syria. When Russia shoots down Israeli warplanes over Lebanon, it wants to avoid accidentally destroying civilian aircraft near the Beirut airport, a Russian commander said. His Israeli counterpart suggested that if Russian soldiers fired a missile at an Israeli plane, they had better abandon their post in less than seven seconds, because the missile position would be destroyed in that time interval.

Russia respects Israel’s military prowess, and has no reason to pick a fight with the Jewish state. Israel doesn’t object to Russia’s efforts to keep President Bashar al-Assad in power, given that the Sunni opposition is riddled with jihadist elements whom Israel views as more dangerous than the Syrian government, whose main concern is perpetuating its rule. Moscow has no sympathy for Iran’s imperial ambitions. The result is a cautious, difficult but largely effective modus vivendi.

Tactical cooperation between Russia and Israel has been effective, with one notable exception. In September 2018, Syrian forces accidentally shot down a Russian transport plane. The Russian military initially blamed Israel for giving Russia insufficient warning of an airstrike in Syria, but Putin dismissed the incident as a tragic accident.

Some Russian commentators think that a tacit agreement with the United States is possible in Syria. Igor Mateev of the Moscow State Institute of International Relations observed July 19 in Al-Monitor, “The United States is weighing possibilities for coordination with Moscow on all of the above-mentioned challenges. In turn, Moscow may try to use dialogue with Washington for its own political and economic calculations.”

Allegations that Netanyahu abused power or abetted corruption are an Israeli internal matter, and of small interest to the rest of the world. I haven’t studied the issues and offer no opinion. There is no question, though, that he has played a difficult diplomatic position brilliantly, and to the benefit of the West. Despite his frosty relations with Western European foreign ministries, the Europeans badly want stability in Syria, if only to prevent another wave of refugees and economic migrants. Netanyahu has done them an enormous service. The US, the Russians and the Europeans are all better off with Netanyahu in office – everyone, in fact, except for Iran, whose dreams of a Shiite crescent stretching from the Mediterranean Sea to Afghanistan are dissolving.

This article was originally published on July 30, 2019. In the Asia Times’ website: https://www.asiatimes.com/2019/07/article/indispensable-netanyahu/.

Author:SPENGLER
Published: 03-10-2019

SIGNAL Note 64: “不可或缺的内塔尼亚胡” -以色列总理的外交角色对美国和世界安全至关重要

本杰明•内塔尼亚胡已执政13年,其任期之长,足以让我认识的每一个以色列人都感到不快。今年上半年的全国大选后,他未能组建联合政府,因此将在9月17日面临艰难的全国大选。作为美国人,我一般不对以色列政治发表看法,但这是特殊情况,因为内塔尼亚胡的外交角色对美国和世界安全至关重要。2009年以来,我反复表示美国与俄罗斯在中东有狭隘但重要的共同利益,这在很大程度上要感谢内塔尼亚胡,安全合作似乎行之有效。

6月25日内塔尼亚胡召集俄罗斯国家安全顾问尼古拉·彼得鲁舍夫(Nicolai Petrushev)和美国国家安全局(NSA)局长约翰·博尔顿(John Bolton)召开会议,我相信没有其他国家领导人能做到这一点。彼得鲁舍夫在耶路撒冷说:“我们特别注意确保以色列的安全,”并把这种做法称为“(符合)我们的特殊利益,因为在以色列这里生活着将近两百万我们的同胞。”他补充说,“以色列在包括联合国在内的很多渠道都支持我们。”

以色列总理是唯一得到特朗普总统和普京总统信任的政府首脑。中东地区的观察家很少有人了解这一点的重要性。内塔尼亚胡并不是通过拍俄罗斯总统的马屁来建立与俄罗斯的工作关系,而是结合了无畏的勇气和妥协的意愿。因此,美国和以色列有可能在不爆发战争的情况下遏制伊朗在黎凡特的帝国野心。俄罗斯暗中坚定地阻止伊朗越过可能引发实际敌对行动的界线,同时允许以色列对伊朗在叙利亚的财产发动数百次袭击。

今天早上,耶路撒冷公共事务中心的每日警报发布了一则从MEMRI新闻监测服务得来的报告,报告是关于伊朗的叙利亚代理人真主党正在把部队转移回叙利亚边境:“反对真主党的黎巴嫩新闻网站报道指出,真主党正在叙利亚部署军队并移防到叙利亚-黎巴嫩边境。该网站声称,原因之一是俄罗斯指示撤出某些地区,以避免以色列的袭击;鉴于日益强大的叙利亚军队和叛军的失败,真主党的存在实属不必;并且美国在过去一年中加强了对真主党的制裁,也有必要减少真主党在叙利亚驻军所带来的开支成本。”

伊朗想把叙利亚变成卫星国,一半的叙利亚人被杀害或流离失所,它希望用来自黎巴嫩、伊朗、阿富汗和巴基斯坦的什叶派定居者取代被驱逐的叙利亚逊尼派人口。去年,黎巴嫩记者艾哈迈德·阿亚什(Ahmad Ayyash)在阿尔纳哈尔(al-Nahar)发表了这方面最全面的报道(也是通过MEMRI)。不过,对此说法的第一次公开报道是2017年《卫报》驻中东记者朱洛夫(Martin Chulov)的报道,他写道:“真主党参与叙利亚战争并不局限于支持叙利亚政权的军事行动。(它的目标)远不止于此,它还与伊朗的一个定居点项目有关,该项目几年前开始实施,目的是改变(叙利亚的)人口结构,让伊朗支持的来自阿富汗、黎巴嫩和该地区其他国家的(什叶派)民兵组织成员在叙利亚定居。”

以色列、土耳其和美国都不会允许伊朗不经过战争就把叙利亚变成一个保护国。美国需要遏制伊朗的影响力。土耳其需要叙利亚逊尼派的支持,来制衡叙利亚库尔德人。库尔德人希望将他们控制的北部地区与库尔德人控制的伊拉克北部自治区联系起来。以色列不会允许伊朗在以色列和叙利亚边境建立另一个前线。加沙和黎巴嫩南部两线作战的前景带来了足够的战略挑战。

俄罗斯只尊重强者。俄罗斯更愿意与以色列合作而不是对抗以色列的一个原因是,俄罗斯军方尊重以色列的武器,不想与以色列国防军发生冲突。2015年,当俄罗斯在叙利亚部署战机时,俄罗斯和以色列的高级空军官员一起制定了一个权宜之计。据一位与会者说,俄罗斯首先建议以色列改变其喷气式战斗机的飞行路线,这些战机在叙利亚完成任务后,往往会向西穿过黎巴嫩。一名俄罗斯指挥官表示,当俄罗斯在黎巴嫩上空击落以色列战机时,它希望避免意外摧毁贝鲁特机场附近的民用飞机。以色列国防部长建议,如果俄罗斯士兵向以色列飞机发射导弹,他们最好在7秒内逃离阵地,因为导弹阵地将在7秒内被摧毁。

俄罗斯尊重以色列的军事实力,且没有理由与这个犹太国家开战。以色列并不反对俄罗斯支持叙利亚总统巴沙尔·阿萨德继续掌权,因为逊尼反对派中充斥着圣战分子,以色列认为这些人比叙利亚政府更危险。莫斯科并不同情伊朗的帝国野心,其结果是一种谨慎、艰难但大体上有效的权宜之计。

俄罗斯和以色列之间的战术合作是有效的,但有一个明显的例外。2018年9月,叙利亚军队不小心击落了一架俄罗斯运输机。俄罗斯军方最初指责以色列对俄罗斯空袭叙利亚预警不足,但普京认为这是一起意外事故。
一些俄罗斯评论人士认为,(俄国)在叙利亚问题上有可能与美国达成默契。莫斯科国家国际关系研究所的伊戈尔·马蒂夫(Igor Mateev) 7月19日在《观察》杂志上说:“美国正在权衡是否有可能与莫斯科就上述所有的挑战进行协调。反过来,莫斯科可能会利用与华盛顿的对话,考量自身的政治和经济。”

有关内塔尼亚胡滥用权力或教唆腐败的指控是以色列的内部事务,与其他国家关系不大,我还没有研究过这些问题,也没有发表任何意见。不过,毫无疑问,他出色地扮演了一个艰难的外交角色,这对西方国家有利。尽管他与西欧各国外交部关系冷淡,但欧洲人迫切希望叙利亚保持稳定,哪怕只是为了防止另一波难民和经济移民潮。内塔尼亚胡为他们做出了巨大的贡献。有内塔尼亚胡执政,美国、俄罗斯和欧洲各国都会变得更好。事实上,除伊朗之外,所有国家都是如此。伊朗的什叶派新月派从地中海一直延伸到阿富汗的梦想正在一步步破灭。

翻译:关媛
审校:陈影

This article was originally published on July 30, 2019. In the Asia Times’ website: https://www.asiatimes.com/2019/07/article/indispensable-netanyahu/.

Author:作者: 斯潘格勒(SPENGLER)
Published: 03-10-2019