Second Chinese Lecture Tour of Avinoam Idan

As part of our Academic Seminar series and visiting lecturer program at SIGNAL’s Israel Studies Programs (ISP), Avinoam Idan participated in second lecture tour to universities across China. Over a period of more than three weeks, from September 24th-October 18th, lectures were delivered at seven universities in five cities. This is Dr. Idan’s second tour, having previously in November 2014 delivered lectures to Israel Studies Programs.

Dr. Avinoam Idan is a political geographer teaching at the Energy Studies Program of Haifa University and research fellow at John Hopkins University. Prior to serving as an academic, he work for many years in the Israel’s Prime Minister’s Office, including in the Israeli embassy in Moscow in the final years of the Soviet Union and was involved in establishing Israel’s diplomatic ties with the Caucasus and Central Asian region.

The first lectures of Dr. Idan were delivered at Shihezi University located in the city of Shihezi and the Xianjiang Academy of Social Sciences of Urumqi both in Xinjiang, the westernmost province of China. Following the Chinese National holiday, he delivered a lecture at Northwest University located in the ancient Chinese capital of Xi’an. Travelling to Beijing, Dr. Idan then delivered lectures in Beijing Foreign Studies University, China Foreign Affairs University, Beijing Language and Culture University and Renmin University.

The topics of Dr. Avinoam Idan’s lectures included an analysis of the challenges facing the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), an Israeli perspective on BRI and whether we are facing a renewal of the Cold War. In his lectures, Idan provided a highly nuanced geographical analysis of the countries through which the BRI is to traverse. Offering in-depth examination of the issues entailed, with a particular focus on energy and transportation, he presented the perspicuous insights to students necessary to gain an adequate understanding of contemporary developments.

davGiven Dr. Idan’s high level of academic expertise combined with his many years of practical experience in politically significant roles, SIGNAL was honored to have had the opportunity to bring to Dr. Avinoam Idan as a visiting lecturer to the Israel Studies Programs in China. The visit of Dr. Idan is a continuation of our commitment to provide excellence in educational opportunity and academic resources on Israel to the ISPs as part of our mission to advance mutual understanding between Israel and China.

Published: 30-10-2016

阿维诺姆•伊丹(Avinoam Idan)博士的第二次中国巡回讲座

阿维诺姆•伊丹博士在中国各个高校进行了第二次巡回演讲,这是我们学术研讨系列活动和中以学术交流促进协会以色列研究项目的客座讲师系列的一部分。从9月24日到10月18日,在为期三周多的时间里,伊丹博士在五座城市七所高校发表了演讲。这是伊丹博士的第二次巡回讲座,他曾于2014年11月为以色列研究项目(Israel Studies Programs)做过讲座。

sw7阿维诺姆•伊丹博士是地缘政治学家,在海法大学授课,从事能源研究项目,同时兼任约翰霍普金斯大学的高级研究员。在从事学术工作之前,他曾在以色列总理办公室任职多年,还曾在苏联解体前期在以色列驻莫斯科使馆工作,在此期间,伊丹博士参与建立了以色列和高加索及中亚地区的外交关系。

伊丹博士的首轮演讲在中国几大高校举办,包括石河子大学和新疆社会科学院,这两所大学都位于中国最西部的省份新疆。国庆后,伊丹博士在古都西安的西北大学发表了演讲。之后来到北京,伊丹博士分别在北京外国语大学,外交学院,北京语言大学和人民大学做了讲座。

伊丹博士的讲座主题包括分析“一带一路”倡议面临的挑战,以色列视角下的“一带一路”,以及我们是否正面临新一轮的冷战。在他的讲座中,伊丹博士(Idan)对一带一路沿线国家的地理条件差异进行了详细分析。他深入探讨了相关议题,着重分析了能源与交通条件,向同学们清晰地展示了当代发展中加强了解的必要性。

伊丹博士是资深学者,他把学术专业知识和其在政治要职上多年的实战经验结合起来。SIGNAL有幸请到他作为中国以色列研究项目的客座讲师。我们的使命是加强中以双方的相互了解,致力于为以色列研究项目提供优质的教育机会和学术资源,邀请伊丹博士作为访问学者正体现了这一点。这也是我们使命的一部分。

English
Published: 02-11-2016