Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) Delegation to Israel

A leading think tank affiliated with the State Council of the People’s Republic of China, the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) is one of the most important institutions generating research on global and domestic issues in China. Building on our previous interchange with the Academy, SIGNAL welcomed a CASS delegation, arranging their itinerary in Israel to interact with leading Israeli experts and local institutions in order to contribute to their knowledge on the dynamics of the Jewish State and the region. The delegation was headed by the Director, Tang Zhichao and senior researchers at the Academy’s Middle East Studies in Institute of West-Asian and African Studies (IWAAS).

The CASS delegation commenced their visit by attending presentations at the Institute for National Security Studies delivered by senior research fellows, Dr. Yoram Schweitzer, head of the Program on Terrorism and Low Intensity Conflict and Dr. Shlomo Brom, head of the Program on Israeli-Palestinian Relations. Following the talks on political affairs, the delegates were introduced to the business environment in Israel through being visiting Yigal Arnon & Co. where they met with Mr. Simon Weintraub of the international corporate department and co-chair of the firm’s emerging China desk. Responding to a request by the Academy, presentations at this meeting were delivered on the bilateral relationship between China and Israel, especially under the Belt and Road Initiative, Israel’s view of China’s diplomatic policy and role in Middle East and features of venture capital of finance and science in Israel.

On the following day, the delegates attended a meeting at the Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs (JCPA). In order to inform the delegates on regional matters, presentations were delivered by Brig.-Gen. (res.) Yossi Kuperwasser, Director of the Project on Regional Middle East Developments and Dr. Harold Rhode, SIGNAL Senior Fellow and Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Gatestone Institute. The presentation topics as requested by the delegation were current development trends of the Middle East and the development of the Islamic State, influences and challenges.

The delegation from CASS constitutes part of SIGNAL’s ongoing program to build ties between leading experts and think tanks in China and Israel. Through the facilitating regular delegations between the two countries, SIGNAL continues to advance mutual understanding between the countries on areas of common concern.

中文
Published: 21-11-2016

中国社会科学院代表团赴以色列交流访问

作为中华人民共和国国务院直属的顶级智库,中国社会科学院是中国研究国内外问题的最重要机构之一。基于中以两国此前的学术交流,中以学术交流促进协会迎来了中国社会科学院代表团,在他们的行程中安排了与以色列顶级专家和当地机构的交流互动,以增加他们对犹太国家和地区发展动态的了解。中国社会科学院代表团由中国社会科学院西亚非洲所中东研究室的唐志超主任和数位高级研究员带领。

以色列国家安全研究所的座谈会开启了中国社会科学院代表团访问以色列的序幕。此次座谈会的发言人是高级研究员约拉姆·施魏策尔(Yoram Schweitzer)博士和斯罗莫·布罗姆博士(ShlomoBrom)。约拉姆•施魏策尔博士是恐怖主义和小规模冲突研究项目的负责人,斯罗莫•布罗姆博士是巴以关系研究项目的负责人。结束了政治事务座谈会之后,代表团参观了以色列YigalArnon& Co.律师事务所,了解了以色列的商业环境。在YigalArnon& Co,代表团会见了西蒙·温特劳布先生(Simon Weintraub),他共同管理国际合作部和该律师事务所新设立的中国部。应中国社会科学院之请,会议探讨的主题是中以双边关系,尤其是“一带一路”背景下的中以关系,以色列视角下的中国在中东的外交政策及角色、在以色列的金融、科学领域风险投资的特点。

第二天,代表团参加了在耶路撒冷公共事务中心举行的会议。尤里-库柏瓦瑟尔(Yossi Kuperwasser)将军哈罗德•罗德(Harold Rhode)在会议上做了发言,旨在让代表团了解以色列地区事务,哈罗德•罗德(Harold Rhode)是中以学术交流促进协会的高级研究员和门石研究所的高级研究员。应代表团之请,会议探讨的主题是中东当前的发展趋势和伊斯兰国的发展、影响和挑战。

中国社会科学院代表团参与了中以学术交流促进协会正在实行的项目,该项目旨在建立中以两国顶级专家和智库间的联系。通过为两国代表团常规互访提供便利,中以学术交流促进协会持续增进两国在共同关心议题领域的相互理解。

English
Published: 21-11-2016