What are Pentateuch, Torah, Mishnah and Talmud? What is their relation?

The source of Jewish religious law is called the Torah (literally, teaching or law). There are two parts to the Torah: the written Torah and the Oral Torah. The written Torah, which was given by God to Moses in the 13th century BCE to Israel, is recorded in five books (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy). These books are also called the Pentateuch (which means five books) by Christians. The other sections of the Jewish Bible (also known as the Old Testament), the Prophets and Scriptures, also contain important teachings, but they don’t have the same authority as the Torah.

The Oral Torah is the expansion of the Divine law given in the written Torah through ancient tradition, textual interpretation and supplementary legislation (this legislation does not have the same force as the laws in the Torah). The teachings and instructions of the Oral Torah were written down in the 2nd century BCE to prevent it from forgotten. These collected writings are called the Mishna (derived from the Hebrew word for ‘teaching’ or ‘memorizing’).

In the centuries to come, Jewish religious authorities interpreted and expanded on the Mishna. Eventually these discussions and teachings were also collected in a series of volumes known as the Talmud (derived from the Hebrew word ‘to learn’). Together, the Mishna and the Talmud serve as the authoritative corpus of Jewish Oral Torah. Jewish religious authorities continue to expand, adapt and refine its teachings and laws to this day

中文

《摩西五经》、《托拉》、《密西拿》和《塔木德》是什么?他们之间有什么关系?

犹太宗教律法的来源叫做《托拉》(字面意义是教学或律法)。托拉有两个部分即《书面托拉》和《口述托拉》。《书面托拉》是上帝在公元前13世纪交给摩西的,主要记录在五本经书中(即《创世记》、《出埃及记》、《利未记》、《民数记》和《申命记》)。基督徒也称这些经书为《摩西五经》(即五本经书)。《犹太圣经》(也叫做《旧约》)的其它一些章节,《先知书》和《圣经》也包含了一些重要的教义,但没有《托拉》那样的权威性。

《口述托拉》是通过古老传统,文字解释和补充立法对《书面托拉》的神圣律法进行的延伸(这些立法并不具备和《托拉》一样的权力)。《口述托拉》的教义和指示成文于公元2世纪,主要是为了防止遗忘。这些著作统称《密西拿》(这个词来自希伯来语,意为“教义”或“纪念”)。

之后的几个世纪里,犹太宗教权威对密西拿进行了解释和含义衍生。最后这些论点和教义也被统一收录到称为《塔木德》(希伯来语的意思是“学习”)的系列书卷中。《密西拿》和《塔木德》一起成为犹太口述塔拉的权威文集。犹太宗教权威人士直到今天还在不断扩展,调整和提炼这些教义和律法。

English