Understanding How Culture and History Impact China’s International Relations: The Case of the South China Sea

Is China an up-and-coming aggressor determined to govern the global order? That seems to be the conventional view among some Western pundits and politicians. From snubbing former U.S. President Obama upon his arrival at last year’s G20 summit, to not participating in the arbitration of the South China Sea territorial dispute, China appears intent on throwing its weight around as it rises to prominence on the international stage.

While it’s true that the People’s Republic of China jealously protects its national interests, the conventional view is problematic because it lacks the broad historical-cultural perspective that is necessary for evaluating Chinese behavior. As Israel continues to strengthen its connection to the Middle Kingdom, it’s important that Israel’s leaders know how to assess Chinese behavior independently of the Western conventional wisdom. The 2016 South China Sea ruling is helpful for illustrating what the Western perspective misses.

In July, 2016, an international tribunal at the Permanent Court of Arbitration ruled against Chinese claims to “historic rights” in the South China Sea and in favor of the Philippines. After the decision, The Economist articulated the conventional wisdom as follows, “The judgment could… in the long run, force China to choose what sort of country it wants to be—one that supports rules-based global regimes, or one that challenges them in pursuit of great-power status.”

The problem with this formulation is that it projects a Western cultural perspective onto the Chinese. From the Chinese perspective there is no black and white dichotomy, either this or that. For the Chinese, things can be grey, complicated and in many cases contradictory. What’s more, living with contradictions is completely acceptable.

This Chinese capacity to live without absolute clarity or decisive solutions, the product of a long history that has chastened any ambition to master reality, likewise informs Chinese foreign policy. Instead of either supporting a rules-based global regime or challenging it, the Chinese are intent on protecting their “historic rights” and, as such, their domestic stability and security, while learning on the fly how to adapt to the international system. However, the legalistic approach adopted by the international community in resolving the South China Sea dispute not only failed to actually solve the problem ─ the approach didn’t change anything on the ground ─ it is liable, in conditions of extremity, to destabilize the country.

So why are “historic rights” so important to China? In referring to their “historic rights,” the Chinese are not simply arguing over lines on a map. The national leadership is defending what it perceives to be a fundamental national interest that is rooted in thousands of years of Chinese history, namely, the need to secure China’s border areas. What’s more, the present regime’s legitimacy depends, in large part, upon its capacity to protect this interest.

Before discussing the extensive Chinese experience with foreign invasions, it is first necessary to grasp how viscerally connected the Chinese are to their long history. The historical memory of Western countries is notoriously short, and it seems to be shrinking with the rise of the ‘millennials. As a result, the role that historical memory can play in viewing current events is often lost on Western observers. If, however, there is a country that should be able to identify with the Chinese connection to their history, it’s Israel.

Consider television programming. Turn on the T.V. at any one time in China and between 25%-30% of the sixty channels will be dedicated to the Beijing opera, the warring states period (475-221 BCE) and Kung Fu. Or education. Beginning at a very young age children in Chinese schools are taught the history of the Chinese dynasties, from the Xia dynasty in 2000 BCE through all of the subsequent dynasties: Shang, Zhao, Qin, Han, Jin, Sui, Tang, Song, Yuan, Ming, Qing, and until the present People’s Republic of China.

It’s true that the first leader of communist China, Mao Zedong, attempted to make China anew. But aside from the fact that in many ways Mao preserved traditional Chinese forms of governing, the great Singaporean statesman, Lee Kuan Yew, put Mao’s aspirations in perspective, “Mao wanted to erase the old China and paint a new one. But Mao was painting on an old Chinese picture imbedded in mosaic; the rains would come, Mao’s paint would be washed off, and the mosaic would reappear. Mao had only one lifetime and did not have the time or power to erase over 4,000 years of Chinese history, tradition, culture, and literature. Even if all the books were burnt, the proverbs and sayings would survive in the folk memory of the people.”

The Chinese view of outsiders is likewise based on thousands of years of history: outsiders are a threat. Throughout their history, the Chinese have worked to shore up their border areas against threats from the non-Chinese “barbarians,” the term traditionally used to identify non-ethnic Chinese. The most famous illustration of this principle is, of course, the Great Wall in the north.

Nonetheless, invaders sometimes succeeded. During the 13th century all of China was conquered by the Mongols, while the Manchus did the same in the 17th century. This sense of a threat lurking beyond China’s borders was then heightened by the “Century of Humiliation” in which China was chopped up and divided among Western imperialist powers in the 19th century as well as Russia and Japan in the 20th century. Today, border disputes with Russia and India remain.

All that said, it is also very important to note that Chinese foreign policy has never been driven by an imperial impulse to conquer territory and export Chinese culture around the world, even when it had the power to do so. Historically, it simply has not been part of the Chinese cultural DNA. For example, in the first half of the 15th century the Ming Dynasty possessed an armada with hundreds of massive ships far larger and more advanced than the boats Columbus used to sail to America – the size of which wouldn’t be seen again until the First World War – but the Chinese did not embark upon a pattern of conquest. Instead, and in a move that perhaps only the Chinese could make, the Ming destroyed the navy and turned inwards. This absence of any universalizing tendency in Chinese culture makes it difficult to understand China from a Western perspective. Even in its secular, post-Christian phase, the West still speaks the language of “universal human rights.”

It is in this greater context that China’s concern with “historic rights” in the South China Sea should be viewed. The South China Sea is China’s border and backyard, with much of the country’s food and oil passing through the area. Disrupting those sea lanes would threaten China’s food and energy security and, as such, constitute an existential threat. The Chinese people accordingly expect their government to preserve the safety of fishermen and transport ships in the area. However, when the dispute in the South China Sea was openly litigated, with the international community threatening to impose a solution on China from the outside, this played on China’s historical memory, especially the still raw memory of China’s “humiliation”. Grounded in this historical-cultural memory, the South China Sea became a site fraught with China’s deeply rooted national fears and pride.

Moreover, while the international community saw a legal and political problem, the Chinese were faced with another existential issue: if the government were to prove unequal to the task of protecting Chinese sovereignty, the legitimacy of the regime would be undermined. It should be noted that after the July ruling against China, nationalist protests broke out across the country. Far from encouraging these actions, the government quickly suppressed them. Beijing is acutely aware that the strong nationalist sentiment that it sometimes promotes can also destabilize the country.

That being said, the Chinese also have a clear interest in keeping the global economy growing. The implicit social contract between the leadership and the people not only depends upon the cultural expectation that China’s leaders will protect Chinese sovereignty, it also depends upon China’s continued economic growth. Therefore, and as China’s leaders have repeatedly emphasized, stability in the South China Sea is also in China’s interest.

Was there an alternative to going to The Hague in 2013? History teaches that quiet, behind-the-scenes dialogue is most effective when working with the Chinese.

To illustrate the effectiveness of quiet dialogue in working with the Chinese, consider the case of Hong Kong. At the beginning of the 1982 negotiations between England and China over the future of Hong Kong, British PM Margaret Thatcher took a strict “legal” view of the dispute. She argued that from Britain’s perspective, Hong Kong was British thanks to three international agreements. While her claim was technically correct, Thatcher conveniently ignored the fact that those agreements were originally imposed on China in the 19th century under the threat of force.

Unsurprisingly, then-PM Deng Xiaoping categorically rejected Thatcher’s position. Unless he wished to be remembered like Li Hongzhang, the 19th century Chinese diplomat who had signed unequal treaties with foreign powers and whose memory is now linked in the Chinese imagination to the country’s “humiliation,” Deng couldn’t do otherwise. Instead, Deng signaled his desire to begin discussions with Great Britain. The British agreed and Beijing was willing to compromise. But that could only happen so long as the dispute was discussed quietly and face-to-face. One can only imagine what would have happened if the British had remained wed to the “rule of law” as initially proposed by Thatcher.

The effectiveness of quiet dialogue in working with the Chinese was also illustrated by Kissinger’s behind-the-scenes outreach to China in the early 1970’s, fascinatingly detailed in his book, On China.

For the first time in 5000 years, the Chinese have both the ability and the interest to participate in the international arena. Historically, they had the ability without the interest, while in the recent past they had the interest without the ability. Today China finally possesses both, but it is still learning a Western-based international system that is very different from Chinese culture.

Ultimately, the international community needs to decide want it wants from China. Does it want to blindly apply the rule of law and other norms of international governance and let the chips fall where they may, or does it want to approach China in a way that takes into consideration Chinese culture and sensibilities and is thus more likely to foster global stability?
While the future trajectory of China’s “peaceful rise” very well may depend on how the international community answers this question, the future of Israel’s relations with the Middle Kingdom can only benefit from Israel’s leaders learning to see China as China sees itself.

Author:Carice Witte and Aryeh Tepper
中文
Published: 11-05-2017

认识中国文化及历史如何影响其国际关系:以中国南海为例

中国是不是正野心勃勃地想要主导国际秩序呢?这似乎是一些西方专家和政客的传统观点。从去年G20峰会上冷落美国前总统奥巴马,到拒绝参与南海争端仲裁案,中国在国际舞台上的作用日渐突出,似乎已开始咄咄逼人了。

虽然中华人民共和国确实在坚决维护国家利益,但西方传统观点是存在问题的,因为它缺乏对评价中国行为十分必要的历史文化观。随着中以关系进一步加强,以色列领导人必须明白如何不受西方传统观点影响,独立评价中国的行为。2016年中国南海仲裁案判决结果很好地说明了西方观点缺失的部分。

2016年7月,常设仲裁法院的国际法庭对菲律宾表示支持,而对中国在南海的“历史权利”做出不利裁决。之后,《经济学家》杂志表达了以下传统观点:“从长远看,该裁决将迫使中国选择它想成为的国家类型——支持建立在规则之上的全球政权,或为追求大国地位而挑战这些政权。”

这种观点的问题在于,它将西方文化观投射到中国文化上。从中国文化观来看,事物不是一分为二、非黑即白,而是有很多灰色地带,充满了复杂和矛盾。再者,我们完全可以接受生活在矛盾之中。

中国这种不绝对、不果决的特点,是它悠久历史的产物,抑制中国的称霸野心,同样也体现在中国外交政策上。中国既不支持也不挑战以规则为基础的全球政权,而是坚决维护自身“历史权利”及国内的稳定和安全,同时学习如何适应国际体系。然而,国际社会在解决中国南海争端问题时所采取的法律措施,不但没有成功解决这一争端(没有改变任何现实情况),在极端情况下,还很容易影响到中国的稳定。

为何“历史权利”对中国如此重要呢?提及“历史权利”,中国人争论的不单是地图上的界线。中国的领导人在维护植根于它数千年历史的根本国家利益,即保卫中国边疆的必要性。此外,在很大程度上,中国当前的政权在很大程度上依靠其维护国家根本利益的能力来体现其正统性。

在讨论中国曾经历的众多外来侵略之前,首先有必要深入探究中国和它悠久历史之间的联系。众所周知,西方国家很容易忘记历史,况且随着千禧年的到来,历史记忆更是不断褪去。因此西方观察家在评论时事时,很容易忽略这种历史记忆。然而,如果说有哪个国家能认同中国和它历史之间的联系,那就是以色列。

我们可以从电视节目来分析。在中国无论哪个时间段打开电视,60个频道里,有25%-30%都在播放京剧、战国时期(公元前475年—公元前221年)和功夫或教育有关的节目。中国学生从小在学校里就学习中国历朝历代的历史,从公元前2000年的夏朝开始,到商、周、秦、汉、金、隋、唐、宋、元、明、清,直到今天的中华人民共和国。

中国共产党第一代领导人毛泽东确实想要建立一个全新的中国。但在很多方面,毛泽东还是保留了很多传统的治理形式。新加坡伟大的政治家李光耀曾对毛泽东的壮志提出自己的观点:“毛想消灭旧中国,建立新中国。但他却是在打着马赛克的旧国画上描绘新图景;雨水一来,他所描绘的图景就会被冲走,马赛克又会重现。毛泽东只有短暂的一生,没有足够的时间和能力去抹除中国四千多年的历史、传统、文化和文学。即使烧掉所有的书,格言谚语仍旧深深印刻在人民的记忆之中。”

中国对外来者的看法同样也是建立在千年历史基础上的:来者不善。纵观中国历史,中国人民艰苦卓绝,保卫边疆,抵御蛮夷威胁。“蛮夷”一词通常指除汉族以外的民族。在这点上,最有名的例子就是北方的长城。

尽管如此,侵略者有时仍会取得成功。13世纪蒙古人征服了全中国,而17世纪满族人也征服了全中国。中国的边境威胁感在19世纪和20世纪进一步加强——在长达“一个世纪的耻辱”中,中国先后被西方列强和日俄瓜分。而如今中国同俄罗斯和印度仍存在边境争端。

总之,非常重要的一点是:中国的外交政策从未有侵占别国领土、输出中国文化的思想,即使中国有能力做到这点。从历史上看,这并不属于中国文化。例如,在15世纪上半叶,明朝就已拥有一支规模达数百艘大船的舰队,这些船比哥伦布航行美洲使用的船只要大型且先进得多(直到第一次世界大战才再有如此大型的船只)但中国的目的不在于征服。明朝摧毁了这支舰队,走向封闭,也许只有中国才会这样做。西方人若对中国文化缺乏任何普遍认识,就很难理解中国。即使到了趋于现世的后基督教时代,西方仍在讲“普遍人权”。

我们应该在这样的大背景下,看待中国南海问题上中国关心的“历史权利”。中国南海是中国的边境和后院,是粮食和石油的运输要道。这些海路若被切断,必将威胁到中国的粮食和能源安全,同样也对中国的存亡构成威胁。相应地,中国人民希望政府能保护这片区域渔民和过往船只的安全。然而,当中国南海争端被公开起诉,国际社会从外部强行为中国提出解决方案,实质是对中国构成了威胁,唤起了中国的历史记忆,尤其那段仍让中国人记忆犹新的“耻辱”历史。基于这段历史文化记忆,中国南海问题就充分体现出深深植根于中国人心中的民族恐惧和尊严。

此外,国际社会将此视为法律政治问题,而中国面临的则是另一关乎存亡的问题:若中国政府不能胜任保护中国主权的重任,该政体将不得民心,失去效力。值得注意的是,国际社会在7月做出对中国不利的判决后,民族主义者就在全国各地进行抗议。而中国政府并未鼓励这些行为,而是迅速将其压制下来。中国政府十分清楚,若民族主义情绪过于强烈,有时候也不利于国家的稳定。

话虽如此,中国也希望保持世界经济的发展。领导人与人民之间的隐性社会契约不仅依赖于中国领导人会保护中国主权的期待,还依赖于中国经济的持续发展。因此,正如中国领导人不断强调的一样,中国南海的稳定关乎中国的国家利益。
除了2013年海牙国际法庭判决外,还可用其他方式处理中国南海问题吗?历史证明,在处理中国问题时,冷静的幕后对话是最有效的方式。

利用冷静对话处理中国问题十分有效,香港问题便是一例。在1982年初,中英两国就香港未来进行谈判时,英国首相玛格丽特·撒切尔严格从“法律”角度处理该争端。她从英国的角度争论说从三项国际协议可看出香港属于英国。严格说来,她的观点没错,但是撒切尔忽略了一个事实,即这些协议最初是中国在19世纪迫于英国武力而签订的。

不出所料,中国领导人邓小平直截了当地反驳了撒切尔的观点。19世纪中国外交官李鸿章因同外国列强签订不平等条约,被世人视为“国耻”,遗臭万年。邓小平的做法则完全相反。邓小平表明想同大英帝国协商的愿望,英国同意后,中国政府表示愿意妥协,但前提是中英两国必须面对面、冷静地协商这项争端。人们可以想象,若英国严格遵守撒切尔提出的“法制”,后来会发生什么。

利用冷静对话处理中国问题的效果,同样可以从20世纪70年代初期基辛格秘密访华事件看出。他在《论中国》一书中对这点作了详细说明。

五千年以来,中国现在首次有能力且有兴趣参与国际舞台。从历史来看,中国在能力强大之时,对外界毫无兴趣,而近代,当中国对外界表现出浓厚兴趣时,又缺乏能力。如今,中国总算两者兼备了,但它仍然在学习同中国文化大相径庭的西方国际体制。

最后,国际社会需要决定到底想从中方获得什么。是想要不顾后果,盲目地运用国际法制和其他准则吗?还是想用一种更亲切、更能促进全球稳定的方式接近中国,对中国文化和情感加以考虑,因而更有可能保持全球的稳定呢?

虽然未来中国“和平崛起”的轨迹可能在很大程度上取决于国际社会如何回答这个问题,但只有在以色列领导人以中国看待它自己的方式去了解中国,未来中以关系才会卓有成效。

翻译:中国石油大学(北京)刘敏
审校:关媛

作者:Carice Witte和Aryeh Tepper
English
Published: 11-05-2017