SIGNAL Note 65: SIGNAL Celebrates the Work of Renowned Educator, Prof. Emeritus Meron Medzini

People-to-people relations are a core component of Xi Jinping Thought. The Chinese leadership has been responsible for crafting many policies that include or are centered around this formidable principle, such as the Belt and Road Initiative. As countries integrate economically and interact politically, having the cultural and personal understanding that comes from a direct individual contact, the road to improved economic, business, and strategic ties. A central method for strengthening people-to-people relations is via bilateral academic exchange.An excellent example of the very positive impact of this kind of exchange in strengthening ties between two countries is the story of the illustrious Professor Medzini.

At 87 years old, Professor Emeritus Meron Medzini is still a force to be reckoned with. A SIGNAL Distinguished Fellow, Prof. Medzini, recently completed his 6th and final Academic Seminar in China, where he lectured more than 1000 students, faculty and community members in several cities across the country.

Prof. Medzini has been an integral part of SIGNAL’s academic work in China since 2012, when he was introduced to the dynamic China-Israel space at SIGNAL’s Israel Studies Conference in Shanghai. That event was held in cooperation with Fudan University and Shanghai International Studies University and celebrated 20 years of formal diplomatic ties between the Middle Kingdom and the Jewish State. Fascinated by the opening of Israel Studies as an academic track, carried out through cooperation between SIGNAL and universities across China, Prof. Medzini spent upwards of a month at a time in China each year presenting Israel to thousands of students and educators. Professor Medzini enjoyed teaching Chinese students, and even more, they enjoyed learning from him. His first-hand knowledge of Israel’s incredible history provided students and faculty with a visceral understanding of the events that shaped the Jewish state. He has had an incredible career that informed his sophisticated understanding of China.

Prof. Medzini’s, who would become Israel’s 4th prime minister, affinity for the Far East began in his younger years, he earned his Ph.D. from Harvard in 1964 with a dissertation focused on Franco-Japanese relations. Immediately afterward he began his teaching career at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, an institution he lectured at for more than 40 years, eventually earning emeritus status. During part of his teaching tenure, Prof. Medzini also served as the Director of the Government Press Office in the Prime Minister’s Office under the administrations of David Ben Gurion, Levi Eshkol, Golda Meir and Yitzhak Rabin. He recalled the most exciting moment of his career – and life – during this time. In 1967, he visited the Western Wall with a group of foreign correspondents just minutes after it had been liberated by the Israel Defense Forces in the 6-Day War. While working for Keren HaYesod one of the fundraising arms of the Jewish Agency for Israel, his interest in Jewish communities around the globe was both sparked and nurtured. This passion led him to his current research on Israeli communities across East Asia, and he has visited Thailand, China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Singapore in his pursuit of learning more about them. He has received various honors and awards, including the Order of the Rising Sun by the Japanese government, 2 outstanding teacher awards at Hebrew University, and the Prime Minister’s Award for his biographies on Golda Meir. His works on Golda were particularly meaningful for him. He effectively grew up in Golda Meir’s kitchen, as his mother was a friend of hers from childhood, having met in second grade. As a result, he knew her his entire life, and has said she was like a member of his family.

In his 6 Academic Seminar trips with SIGNAL, Prof. Medzini has lectured at 25 universities, several research centers and think tanks, and has attended two conferences in China. He has spent hundreds of hours teaching thousands of students, faculty and professionals. He has lectured on various subjects, including Israeli foreign affairs, the history of the Arab-Israeli conflict, Jewish communities in Asia, Israeli-American relations, and Israel and the Belt and Road Initiative, among others.

During his last trip, Prof. Medzini visited 20 universities and think tanks across China. He lectured in Beijing, Chengdu, Chongqing, Xi’an, Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. In Beijing, he spoke at the China Institute of International Studies, where he discussed Chinese policy in the Middle East and the new directions in which it is heading. He then lectured at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, covering recent developments regarding China and Israel, and specifically the U.S. intervention in the Haifa Port deal – a topic requested by CASS’s Deputy President, Prof. Da Wei. While in Beijing, he also spoke on China and the Middle East at Renmin University, China-Israel economics and the BRI at Beijing Foreign Studies University and on Jewish communities in Asia at Beijing Language and Culture University. He also engaged in deep discussions in less formal settings, including one in the home of the former Austrian minister to Peking, where he and the Director of the Center for Middle East Studies at the China Institute of International Studies discussed possible scenarios for the future of the Middle East.

From there, he traveled to Chengdu, where he completed three lectures on Israel, China and the BRI, a popular topic. He traveled to (relatively) nearby city of Chongqing for additional lectures, including one in which he spoke about current events in Israel, including recent rocket fire towards Tel Aviv as well as activities in the Golan Heights.

The next leg of his trip took him to Xi’an, where he was accompanied by SIGNAL’s China-based colleague, Helen Guan. He spoke at Northwestern University on Israeli communities in East and Southeast Asia, a topic of particular interest to him, and one that he noted was a new subject to nearly everyone who attended the lecture. At Shanxi Normal University, he spoke on issues of leadership in Israel, a wide-ranging topic in which he was able to speak about his experiences working with several prime ministers, as well as about Zionism, anti-Semitism and the need for a Jewish state. At the conclusion of his talk there, he was presented with a Chinese translation of Golda Meir’s My Life.

In Guangzhou, Prof. Medzini was hosted by the Israeli consulate and spoke at a number of events there. He spoke again on Israel-China relations, as well as future cooperation between the two countries and the similarities between the Jewish and Chinese civilizations and their histories. He lectured on China-Israel relations, Jewish communities in Asia, Israel and the BRI, Chinese relations in the Middle East and Israel’s Asia policy. Briefings were attended by anywhere from a dozen people to more than 400.

Prof. Medzini has described his academic seminars with SIGNAL as being “highly rewarding, interesting, and an enriching experience for one who loves to teach.”

Aside from these seminars, Medzini has also made many contributions to SIGNAL. He co-wrote, with Carice, an essay on Sino-Israeli relations in 2015 for China’s Israel Blue Book. He spent the summer of 2014 teaching a course at Renmin University and conducting research at the Center for Middle East and Africa Studies, a think tank in Beijing co-established with SIGNAL. He co-wrote a paper with CMEAS’s Chinese director, Prof. Shoujun Cui, and Dr. Jonathan Teitelbaum entitled “Can China-Taiwan ‘Cross-Straits’ relations serve as a model for Israeli-Palestinian Cooperation? A Proposal.” Medzini has been a Senior SIGNAL Fellow since 2014, and a Distinguished Fellow since 2019.
As a “living history of the state of Israel,” as Carice once put it, Prof. Medzini’s expertise and experience are unparalleled. With a sophisticated understanding of China and a breadth and depth of knowledge with regard to Chinese history, Prof. Medzini is unique in his ability to make comparisons between the Middle Kingdom and the Jewish State.

Another added that he was a “good example of Israeli spirit,” especially as an octogenarian “still serving his people.”

SIGNAL looks forward to continued cooperation with Prof. Medzini in Israel.

Timeline of Prof. Meron Medzini’s Contributions to SIGNAL

2012: Represented SIGNAL at the Conference on Building the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road and Advancing International Industrial Cooperation
2013: Lectured at Sichuan International Studies University, Henan University, Shanghai International Studies University, Jiao Tong University, Shihezi University
2014: Taught summer course at Renmin University; Completed research at the Center for Middle East and North Africa Studies
2015: Lectured at Sun Yat Sen University, Northwest University, Shanghai International Studies University, China Foreign Affairs University, Beijing Language and Culture University and Beijing Foreign Studies University; Separately, co-authored an essay on Sino-Israeli Relations with Carice Witte for China’s Israel Blue Book
2016: Attended China Center for Contemporary World Studies Conference and the International Academic Conference on the Silk Road History & Culture; Lectured at Yunan University, Sun Yat Sen University, Henan University, Northwest University; Authored a SIGNAL Perspective on 25 years of China-Israel relations.
2017: Lectured at Heilongjiang University, Beijing Language and Culture University, Beijing Foreign Studies University, Henan University, Sichuan University, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Xian University.
2019: Lectured at Chinese Institute of International Strategic Studies , China Institute of International Studies, the International Confucius Institute, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, University of International Relations, Global Affairs Research Center at the Xinhua News Agency, Beijing Foreign Studies University, Beijing Language and Culture University, Renmin University, Southern Jiaotong University, Shanghai International Studies University, Chongqing University, Northwestern Polytechnical University, Northwest University, Shaanxi Normal University, Huang Pu Academy, Intellisia Institute, Jinan University, Shenzhen University, Chinese University of Hong Kong; Authored a SIGNAL Note on the BRI and the Arab-Israeli Conflict.

Author:Shoshana Kranish
Published: 31-10-2019

SIGNAL Note 65:致敬杰出教育家麦隆·米德兹尼教授

构建人类命运共同体是习近平思想的核心内容,中国领导人始终坚持围绕这一重要原则制定相关政策,“一带一路”倡议的提出便是如此。随着政治和经济全球化的不断发展,各国通过不断的相互交流与合作,加强了文化互信以及相互理解,国与国之间的经济、商业以及战略合作关系也得到了改善。开展双边学术交流活动是加强人文交流的重要途径,这种学术交流活动在加强两国关系上具有非常积极的影响,著名的米德兹尼教授便是一个很好的例子。

现年87岁的荣誉退休教授麦隆·米德兹尼在学术界依然具有很大的影响力。作为中以学术交流促进协会(Sino-Israel Global Network & Academic Leadership ,简称SIGNAL)的杰出成员,米德兹尼教授今年五月完成了他在中国的第六次也是最后一次学术研讨会。他在中国的多个城市为超过1000名学生、教师以及研究人员做过讲座。

2012年,为庆祝中国和以色列正式建交20周年,中以学术交流促进协会与复旦大学、上海外国语大学在上海合作举办了SIGNAL以色列研究研讨会议。正是在这次会议上,米德兹尼教授加入了中国的中以研究学术圈。从那时起,他便一直是中以学术交流促进协会在中国进行学术交流工作的重要组成人员。米德兹尼教授对以色列研究这一新开放的学术领域有浓厚的兴趣,通过中以学术交流促进协会与中国多所高校之间的合作,他每年都会来中国花一个多月的时间向上千名学生和学者介绍以色列。米德兹尼教授非常喜欢与中国学生进行交流与分享,学生们也非常喜欢向他学习。因为他对以色列的历史有亲身体会,在讲述塑造以色列这个犹太国家的重大事件时,他总是能激发学生和教师们对这些历史事件发自内心的理解。

米德兹尼教授职业生涯非常丰富和精彩。他对中国有极为深刻的理解。他对远东地区的热爱始于年轻之时。1964年他以一篇研究法日关系的论文获得哈佛大学的博士学位。接着他便开始了在耶路撒冷希伯来大学40多年的教学生涯,最终获得“荣誉退休教授”的称号。在教学期间,米德兹尼教授还兼任本古里安、埃斯科尔、梅厄、拉宾各界总理的政府新闻办公室主任。每当回想到这段工作经历,米德兹尼教授都认为这是他职业生涯和生命中最激动人心的岁月。1967年“六日战争”中,以色列国防军解放耶路撒冷圣地西墙几分钟后,米德兹尼教授便与一群外国记者一起来到这里。在为以色列联合呼吁组织(Keren Hayesod – United Israel Appeal,简称KH-UIA,一个为以色列犹太事务所筹备资金的组织)工作期间,他对世界各地的犹太社区产生了浓厚的兴趣。这种热情推动他对东亚的以色列社区进行进一步的研究,之后他还访问了泰国、中国大陆、中国台湾、中国香港和新加坡等地,希望能够对这些地方有更多的了解。他曾获得多个荣誉和奖项,包括日本政府授予的旭日章、希伯来大学颁发的两项杰出教师奖,同时他为果尔达·梅厄夫人撰写的传记也获得了以色列政府总理奖,这部传记对于他来说也意义非凡。米德兹尼教授对梅厄夫人的一生都十分了解,因为他母亲与梅厄夫人从小相识并共事多年,所以他可以说从小在梅厄夫人身边长大,在他看来梅厄夫人就像自己的家人一样。
在参加中以学术交流促进协会的六次学术研讨会期间,米德兹尼教授先后在中国的25所大学、多个研究中心以及智库进行演讲,并且出席了两次大型会议。他花了数百小时为成千上万的学生、教师以及专业人士做讲座。他讲过各种各样的主题,包括以色列外交事务、阿以冲突的历史、亚洲的犹太社区、以美关系、以色列和“一带一路”倡议等。

在2019年五月最近一次访问期间,米德兹尼教授共访问了中国20所大学和智库,在北京、成都、重庆、西安、广州、深圳和香港等地都举办了讲座。在北京,他到中国国际问题研究院进行座谈,与该院多位中东问题专家讨论了中国在中东地区的政策及新的发展方向。随后,他又前往中国社会科学院做讲座,讲述了中国和以色列的近期发展情况,还特别谈到了由中国社会科学院世界经济与政治研究所副所长所提出的有关美国干预海法港口协议的问题。在北京期间,他还到中国人民大学为学生讲述中国和中东问题,去北京外国语大学讨论中以经济和“一带一路”倡议,在北京语言大学谈亚洲的犹太社区。同时他也参与了一些在非正式场合中进行的深度讨论,其中包括在前奥地利驻华大使的家里与中国国际问题研究院中东研究中心的主任共同讨论中东未来可能的发展和走向。

离开北京后,他前往成都,完成了三场关于以色列、中国、以及“一带一路”倡议等一系列热门话题的讲座。随后,他又前往邻近城市重庆做讲座,谈到最近发生在以色列的一系列事件,包括最近特拉维夫的火箭袭击以及戈兰高地的活动等。

随后,在中以学术交流促进协会中国办事处关媛的陪同下,米德兹尼教授来到西安。 他在西北大学举办了有关东亚和东南亚地区犹太社区的讲座,这是他十分感兴趣且熟悉的话题,对所有参加演讲的人来说也是一个新话题。在陕西师范大学,他谈到以色列的领导权问题,这是一个涉及面很广的话题,他讲述了自己与多位总理共事的经历,同时也谈到了犹太复国主义、反犹主义和建立犹太国家的必要性等等。演讲结束时,他收到了由陕西师范大学赠送的果尔达·梅厄夫人的传记《我的一生》中译本作为礼物。

随后,在广州以色列领事馆的接待和安排下,米德兹尼教授在广州举行的一系列活动上做了讲座。他再次谈到中以关系以及两个国家之间的合作、犹太文明和中国文明以及他们的历史之间的相似性等问题,还有中以关系、亚洲的犹太社区、以色列和“一带一路”倡议、中国和中东关系以及以色列的亚洲政策等话题,与会人士由十几人到几百人不等。

米德兹尼教授这样描述他在中以学术交流促进协会所做的学术研讨会:“对于一个热爱教学的人来说,这是非常有价值、有趣并且丰富的经历。”

除了这些学术研讨会,米德兹尼教授还为中以学术交流促进协会做了大量其他重要工作。2015年,他与中以学术交流促进协会执行总裁魏凯丽女士(Carice Witte)共同为中国的《以色列蓝皮书:以色列发展报告》撰写了一篇有关中以关系的文章。2014年夏天,他到中国人民大学开设暑期课程,同时在人民大学国际关系学院与中以学术交流促进协会共同成立的智库中东和非洲研究中心(CMEAS)进行研究。他与中东和非洲研究中心中方主任崔守军教授及乔纳森·泰特尔鲍姆博士(Jonathan Teitelbaum)共同撰写了题为《两岸关系能否成为巴以合作的典范》的文章。米德兹尼教授自2014年起一直担任中以学术交流促进协会的高级研究员,自2019年以来便一直是杰出研究员。
中以学术交流促进协会执行总裁魏凯丽女士(Carice Witte)评价米德兹尼教授为“以色列的活历史”,他的专业知识和经验无人可及。米德兹尼教授非常了解中国,同时他也对中国的历史有着广博而深刻的认识,其对中国与犹太国家相似性的比较能力是独一无二的。

还有人补充说,米德兹尼教授是“以色列精神的典范”,尤其是他作为一个八旬老人“仍在为他的人民服务”。

中以学术交流促进协会期待与米德兹尼教授在以色列继续多方面的合作。

米德兹尼教授为中以学术交流促进协会(SIGNAL)所做的工作年表:

2012年,代表SIGNAL出席“建设21世纪海上丝绸之路,推进国际产业合作”会议。
2013年,先后在四川外国语大学、河南大学、上海外国语大学、交通大学、石河子大学举办讲座。
2014年,在中国人民大学开设暑期课程;在中东和北非研究中心进行学术研究。
2015年,在中山大学、西北大学、上海外国语大学、外交学院、北京语言大学,北京外国语大学做讲座;另外,与中以学术交流促进协会(SIGNAL)执行总裁魏凯丽女士(Carice Witte)为中国的《以色列蓝皮书》共同撰写了一篇关于中以关系的文章。
2016年,参加中国当代世界研究中心会议和丝绸之路历史文化国际学术会议;在云南大学、石河子大学、河南大学、西北大学做讲座;为《SIGNAL视角》撰写《中以关系二十五载》一文。
2017年,在黑龙江大学,北京语言大学、北京外国语大学、河南大学、四川大学、中国电子科技大学和西北大学举办讲座。
2019年,在中国国际战略学会、中国国际问题研究院、孔子学院、中国社会科学院、国际关系学院、新华社全球事务研究中心、北京外国语大学、北京语言大学、中国人民大学、西南交通大学、上海外国语大学、重庆大学、西北工业大学、西北大学、陕西师范大学、黄埔学院、海图国智、暨南大学、深圳大学、香港中文大学做讲座; 为《SIGNAL关注》撰写关于“一带一路”倡议和阿以冲突的文章。

翻译:中以学术交流促进协会 关媛
审校:西北工业大学 蒲瑶