SIGNAL Note 52: Israel and the Shifting Arab World


In accordance with President Xi Jinping’s vision for well-ordered international relations, China maintains friendly relations with every country in the Middle East, a region at the intersection of Africa, Europe, and Asia. Given its central geostrategic location, the Middle East will necessarily be included in any comprehensive plan to enhance economic connectivity across the three continents. China recognizes the geo-economic importance of this economic corridor 1, one of six of the Belt and Road Initiative. While strong diplomatic ties are important to the success of the BRI, stability in the region of Middle East is also a must. For example, the Maritime Silk Road passes through the Gulf of Aden, where piracy is rampant. The BRI’s proposed high-speed rail projects are intended to pass through Turkish Kurdistan- a politically fragile area due to the presence of Kurdish statist forces in neighboring Syria and Iraq 2. To address such issues and aid in efforts against piracy, China has adopted a number of security measures, including establishing a base in Djibouti.

In addition to the importance of its geographic position, the Middle East holds significant economic importance to China. Close to half of China’s oil imports are from the region 3. Furthermore, Middle East countries present a variety of opportunities for investment. In 2017, China and Saudi Arabia signed a number of agreements valued at nearly $70 billion. 4 Such investment is part of a broader economic trend: last year, China pumped more than $92 billion into the region. With 31.9% of all foreign direct investment going to the Middle East in 2017, China’s economic commitment to the region is nearly double that of the second largest investor in the region – the UAE 5.

The Middle East, however, is changing and the seeds of a new order have begun to emerge. Unified against perceived Iranian and Qatari efforts to foment instability in Syria, an alliance led by Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and the UAE has become more receptive to elements of liberalization. In recognition of common security goals, Saudi Arabia and the UAE have begun to follow Egypt’s and Jordan’s lead in exploring cooperation with Israel. Conversely, the Kurdish question has caused a rapidly de-westernizing Turkey to align itself more closely with Iran in Syria. These developments are fundamentally changing the political paradigm of the Middle East. Within these tectonic changes lies opportunity.

Israel is a consistent bastion of stability in the region. The quartet of Egypt, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE seek the level of security intelligence and technological innovation for which Israel is well known. This is causing these countries to consider rejecting traditional taboos and explore cooperation with Israel.

As Beijing observes the evolving dynamics of the Middle East, it sees immense opportunity. China can benefit from the changing regional alliances while at the same time contributing to stability in the region. By adapting to the rapidly shifting landscape of the Middle East, the BRI presents a significant medium to promote stability in the context of President Xi Jinping’s vision of a community with a shared future. Cultivating an understanding of the nature of the shifting dynamics in this volatile region is the key to success.

The Arab World is Changing

China’s economic outreach efforts such as the BRI and the 16+1 Initiative with Central and Eastern Europe, offers potential opportunities within the specific bilateral agreements under the guidance of broader regional frameworks. It is becoming increasingly clear that the Middle East could benefit from this approach. The Arab World has never been monolithic, but now Arab states are speaking with ever more individual voices. Their strategic realignment is in large part due to regional conflicts that have taken place since the start of the Arab Spring. Like most regional powers, the States of the Middle East will need to learn to navigate the bipolar regional dynamic that is forming.

A visible indicator of this regional shift is Arab states’ severance of diplomatic ties with Qatar in July 2017. In what has been called “the worst diplomatic crisis to hit Gulf Arab states in decades,” a Quartet of Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt, and the UAE expelled Qataris from within their borders. They went on to close their diplomatic missions in Doha, and enact an economic boycott on Qatar 6. Emirates Airlines closed all flights to the country, and the Quartet blocked Qatari media agency Al Jazeera from broadcasting within their borders. The states cited Qatar’s alignment with Iran through the covert backing of terrorism and continued efforts to undermine stability in the Middle East. This includes their support for the Muslim Brotherhood, a multinational organization which has threatened domestic order (highlighted by Egypt’s tumultuous year in 2012-2013 under deposed ruler Mohammed Morsi) and is considered a terrorist group 7.

A year on, and Qatari resistance to the quartet’s demands has only deepened this rift within the Arab World. Qatar’s response to the boycott has been to double down on its relationship with Iran. Last December, an Al Jazeera article spun the crisis as an opportunity to help “open new trade routes and increase bilateral trade from Iran, Turkey, and Pakistan to Qatar.” 8 The article reported that trade between Qatar and Iran increased by 177% in the last five months of 2017. In 2018, the Iran-Turkey-Qatar axis has only solidified further, with the signing of a trilateral transportation pact and various trade agreements 9. The most sensationalist response from the other side was in late June when Saudi Arabia announced plans to construct a canal that would render Qatar an island nation 10.

The divide connotes grave consequences for alliance networks within the Arab World. Chief amongst these is the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) a framework between Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE which endeavored to increase member states’ economic connectivity and serve as a platform for joint initiatives in areas such as security and transportation 11. While experts are split as to whether or not the conflict will signify the official death of the GCC, the oil organization’s strategic efficacy has certainly diminished greatly. GCC states, who are all members of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), no longer convene independently before biannual OPEC summits to discuss strategy. As one senior source explained to Reuters, “We used to have a WhatsApp group for all ministers and delegates from the Gulf. It used to be a very busy chat-room. Now it’s dead.” 12 This strategic fracture might negatively affect China’s oil imports from the Middle East, as prices have more than doubled since the first month of 2017 13. Thus, as China’s dependency on foreign oil is expected to continue rising 14, this issue, in addition to security concerns in Syria and Iraq, might force it to reevaluate its import sources. As long as these instabilities exist, the BRI’s ability to create a lasting positive economic impact in the Middle East will be jeopardized.

Warming up to Israel

As the Quartet and its allies seek to combat the destabilizing influence of the Iranian axis and instill security into the region, they are beginning to become more receptive to an undeniable truth: Israel shares their security aspirations, and has the military, economic, and technological strength to enact a lasting positive impact on the region. The path for formal Arab relations with Israel has already been paved by Egypt and Jordan. Since the brokering of a peace deal in 1979, Israel and Egypt have enjoyed an official diplomatic, economic, and security relationship. In the ‘80s and ‘90s, ties were strengthened with the signing of a number of joint agricultural and economic initiatives 15. In 2004, Israel and Egypt established Qualifying Industrial Zones (QIZs), in which Egyptian factories manufacture products with Israeli materials. Now, over 700 Egyptian QIZ companies have exported nearly $1 billion and employed over an estimated 280,000 people. While Egypt has been more reluctant to establish people-to-people relationships between the two countries, Israel has consistently worked on outreach in this regard: for example, it has been one of the largest sources of tourism for Egypt since 1980 16. King Abdullah of Jordan, which has engaged in diplomatic relations with Israel since 1994, reaffirmed the ties between the three nations in 2017, proclaiming that “Egypt and Jordan have a special relationship with Israel.” 17

Under the surface, the seeds for broader cooperation with Israel have begun to sprout. Historically, Saudi Arabia has been in an awkwardly unspoken alliance with Israel due to both countries’ relations with the US. However, spurred by mutual dissatisfaction with the Iran agreement, Egypt has sent delegates to meet with Israel directly to discuss security cooperation 18. Since his succession to the throne in 2017, Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman (MBS) has not shied away from Israel, affirming that “Israel’s never attacked us,” and that the two countries “share a common enemy.” 19 The UAE is in a similar position; the country sought under-the-table military aircraft/technology deals with Israel as early as during the Clinton administration. An unidentified senior Emirati official once bluntly affirmed MBS’ suggestive comments, “I can envision us being in the trenches with Israel fighting against Iran.” Furthermore, it is reported that MBS has privately expressed willingness to establish full relations with the Jewish State and that both MBS and UAE Crown Prince Mohammad bin Zayed share Israel’s discontent with the current Palestinian leadership 20.

Opportunities of the Future Dynamic

For the BRI to succeed in the Middle East, it is generally agreed that regional security is critical.

While no ideal long-term solution would prescribe rigid bipolarism that is susceptible to descend into direct confrontation, the increasingly improving relations between Israel and some of its neighbors -like Saudi Arabia and the UAE- nevertheless connotes a silver lining. The emerging paradigm provides a potential new framework for regional collaboration that could be leveraged to promote stability and security in the region through economic cooperation.

For the past two decades, Israel has covertly participated in direct intelligence sharing with Saudi Arabia and the UAE 2122. Arab states’ eagerness to cooperate under the table implied that they consider Israel to have the region’s most effective security forces. By cooperating without demanding diplomatic or any public acknowledgment, the Jewish state has demonstrated its clear willingness to rise above political animosity for the betterment of the entire region. However, the apparent antagonism has necessarily prevented fuller intelligence sharing relationships from taking root. As the diplomatic barriers between Israel and the Arab World begin to erode, one could expect more efficient intelligence coordination for regional counterterrorism and stability initiatives.

The Middle East’s crises are so acute that the international community has largely been unable to plan for the challenges that lie in the near future. For example, climate change has rendered 13 countries in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) “water scarce”. Furthermore, the amount of freshwater per capita is expected to fall over 40% by 2050 23. This issue is poised to catalyze the displacement of millions and contribute to further political instability. Through its technological innovation, Israel has not only circumvented these climatological obstacles; it now has an excess water supply. In 2016, 55% of Israel’s domestic water was from desalination plants, and this figure is growing annually 24. 86% of Israel’s wastewater is recycled. As the Arab World’s water resources continue to diminish, Israeli technology might become a valuable antidote to a widespread humanitarian crisis in the region.

The impending water crisis also has grave implications for agriculture in the region. 30-35% of Arab countries’ food supply is already imported, and that figure is set to rise alongside population growth and water scarcity 25. It is of no help that MENA countries have an average irrigation efficiency of roughly 51% 26. Again, Israel is a stark outlier to this regional trend, as it boasts one of the world’s highest agricultural efficiency ratings, largely due to its pioneering water conservation techniques 27. Israel has already signed successful agriculture and agro-technology partnerships with nations including China, and this, along with specific knowledge of arid-land techniques, indicates that Israel will be the lifeline for Middle Eastern countries in need.

Conclusion: China’s Potential Role

The Middle East is changing. Through economic cooperation, Israel and the Arab world are becoming increasingly interconnected and interdependent. For example, Israel and Jordan are cooperating on the construction of a new bridge across the Jordan River that will link both Nations’ industrial zones; and Israel recently signed a $15bn deal to export 64BCMs of gas to Egypt over the next ten years. China’s ability to help foster cooperation between Israel and the Arab World through investment cannot be understated. Chinese investment could aid in stimulating the increased capacity necessary for Israel to become a land bridge for trade between Europe and Jordan and the Gulf states- boosting economic connectivity while supplementing traditional trade routes between East and West. 28

China has the opportunity to further enhance stability and security in the region by adopting a multilateral cooperation framework with Israel and Arab states – for example, green-house technology to help a country meet food security needs in Egypt. In doing so, China would be facilitating development cooperation, helping to redress the pessimistic narrative which has characterized the Middle East for generations, replacing it with opportunities for an advanced local coalition to introduce stability and deliver on the global economic potential which it has always possessed.

  1. http://china-trade-research.hktdc.com/business-news/article/The-Belt-and-Road-Initiative/The-Belt-and-Road-Initiative/obor/en/1/1X000000/1X0A36B7.htm
  2. http://www.maritimesilkroad.org.hk/en/quickFacts/mapsOfMaritimeSilkRoad
  3. http://www.worldstopexports.com/top-15-crude-oil-suppliers-to-china/
  4. https://thediplomat.com/2017/08/closer-ties-china-and-saudi-arabia-sign-70-billion-in-new-deals/
  5. https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/20170724-china-is-largest-foreign-investor-in-middle-east/
  6. https://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/05/middleeast/saudi-bahrain-egypt-uae-qatar-terror/index.html
  7. https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2017/07/muslim-brotherhood-qatar/532380/
  8. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/12/turkey-iran-pakistan-big-trade-boost-qatar-171203175422055.html
  9. https://financialtribune.com/articles/economy-business-and-markets/84152/iran-qatar-boosting-economic-cooperation
  10. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-06-20/saudi-moves-forward-with-plan-to-turn-qatar-into-island
  11. https://lobelog.com/can-the-gcc-survive-the-qatar-crisis/
  12. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-opec-gulf-qatar/opec-chatroom-dead-as-qatar-crisis-hurts-gulf-oil-cooperation-idUSKBN1DN0TU
  13. http://www.macrotrends.net/1369/crude-oil-price-history-chart
  14. https://www.rfa.org/english/commentaries/energy_watch/chinas-oil-import-dependence-climbs-as-output-falls-12042017102429.html
  15. Haisam Hassanein – personal communication
  16. Haisam Hassanein – personal communication
  17. https://www.timesofisrael.com/jordan-egypt-have-special-relationship-with-israel-says-jordanian-king/
  18. https://www.rt.com/op-ed/saudi-israel-us-iran-155/
  19. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/06/18/donald-trumps-new-world-order
  20. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/06/18/donald-trumps-new-world-order
  21. https://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/CIA-chief-Pompeo-Saudis-more-willing-to-share-intelligence-with-Israel-515860
  22. https://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-and-uae-have-maintained-close-covert-ties-since-1990s-magazine-claims/
  23. http://www.mei.edu/content/article/climate-change-middle-east-faces-water-crisis
  24. https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/israel-proves-the-desalination-era-is-here/
  25. http://www.mei.edu/content/article/climate-change-middle-east-faces-water-crisis
  26. http://www.mei.edu/content/article/climate-change-middle-east-faces-water-crisis
  27. https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/rankings/Agriculture_productivity/
  28. https://besacenter.org/perspectives-papers/385-chaziza-the-red-med-railway-new-opportunities-for-china-israel-and-the-middle-east/
Author:Zachary Glass
Published: 25-10-2018

SIGNAL Note 52: 以色列和转变的阿拉伯世界


遵循习近平主席提出的国际关系有序发展的愿景,中国与地处亚非欧三洲交汇处的中东地区的各个国家都保持着友好关系。鉴于其地缘战略中心位置,中东必然会被纳入任何旨在加强三大洲经济联系的全面计划中。中国认识到了这条经济走廊的地缘经济重要性(1),它是“一带一路”倡议中的六大经济走廊之一。尽管稳固的外交关系对“一带一路”倡议的成功至关重要,但中东地区的稳定也是非常必要的。例如,海上丝绸之路经过亚丁湾,而这里海盗猖獗。“一带一路”提出的高铁项目的目的是通过土耳其库尔德斯坦(该地区由于在邻国叙利亚和伊拉克存在库尔德集权力量在政治上比较脆弱) (2)。为解决这些问题和帮助打击海盗,中国采取了一系列安全措施,包括在吉布提建立基地。

除了地理位置的重要性之外,中东对中国的经济也具有重要意义。中国近一半的石油进口来自该地区(3),此外,中东国家提供了多种投资机会。2017年,中国和沙特阿拉伯签署了几项价值近700亿美元的协议。这也代表了经济发展的大趋势:去年,中国向该地区注入逾920亿美元投资。2017年,所有外国直接投资中有31.9%流向中东,中国对该地区的经济投入几乎是该地区第二大投资国阿联酋(5)的两倍。

然而,中东正在发生变化,新秩序的种子已经开始萌芽。沙特阿拉伯、埃及和阿联酋领导的联盟,反对伊朗和卡塔尔煽动叙利亚带来不稳定,他们更愿意接受自由化元素。为了实现共同的安全目标,沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋开始效仿埃及和约旦,探索与以色列的合作。相反,库尔德问题导致土耳其迅速去西方化,以便在叙利亚与伊朗更紧密地结盟。这些事态发展正在从根本上改变中东的政治模式,同时在这些结构性变化中也蕴藏着机遇。

以色列是该地区始终稳定的堡垒。埃及、约旦、沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋这四个国家寻求的是以色列众所周知的安全情报和技术创新水平。这些国家开始考虑抛弃传统禁忌,寻求与以色列进行合作。

中国在观察中东不断变化的动态时,看到了巨大的机会。它可以从不断变化的地区联盟中获益,同时为地区稳定做出贡献。通过适应中东迅速变化的形势,“一带一路”倡议提供了重要的媒介,在习近平主席人类命运共同体愿景的背景下,促进地区稳定。培养对这一动荡地区动态变化本质的理解是成功的关键。

阿拉伯世界正在发生改变

中国经济外向发展的努力如“一带一路”和中东欧16国“16+1”合作倡议,在更广泛的区域框架指导下,为具体的双边协议提供了潜在机遇。中东越来越明显可以从这种做法中获益。阿拉伯世界从来都不是统一的,但现在阿拉伯国家正以越来越独立的声音发声。它们的战略调整在很大程度上是由于阿拉伯之春开始以来所发生的区域冲突。同大多数区域大国一样,中东各国需要学会驾驭正在形成的两极区域动态变化。
该地区转变的一个明显迹象是,阿拉伯国家在2017年7月断绝了与卡塔尔的外交关系。沙特阿拉伯、巴林、埃及和阿联酋四国将卡塔尔人驱逐出境,这被称为“数十年来海湾阿拉伯国家遭遇的最严重外交危机”。他们随后关闭了在多哈的外交使团,并对卡塔尔实行经济抵制(6),阿联酋航空公司关闭了所有飞往卡塔尔的航班,中东和平四方集团还阻止卡塔尔媒体半岛电视台在他们国家进行报道。这些国家指责卡塔尔与伊朗结盟,秘密支持恐怖主义并持续破坏中东稳定。这包括他们对穆斯林兄弟会的支持,穆斯林兄弟会是一个跨国组织,曾威胁到埃及的国内秩序(2012-2013年埃及动荡不安,当时由现在已被罢黜的统治者穆罕默德·莫尔西执政),被认为是一个恐怖组织。

一年后,卡塔尔对四方集团要求的抵制只会加深阿拉伯世界内部的分歧。卡塔尔对抵制行动的反应是加倍加强与伊朗的关系。去年12月,半岛电视台的一篇文章称,这场危机是一个机会,可以帮助“开辟新的贸易路线,增加伊朗、土耳其和巴基斯坦与卡塔尔的双边贸易”。(8)文章称,卡塔尔与伊朗的贸易在2017年最后5个月增长了177%。2018年,伊朗-土耳其-卡塔尔轴心国关系进一步稳固, 签署了三边运输协议和各种贸易协定(9)。而另一边最激烈的反应是6月下旬沙特阿拉伯宣布计划建造一条运河,让卡塔尔成为一个岛国(10)。

这种分歧为阿拉伯世界内部联盟带来严重后果。其中最主要的是海湾合作委员会(GCC),它是巴林、科威特、阿曼、卡塔尔、沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋之间的一个框架组织,致力于加强成员国的经济联系,并作为在安全与运输等领域采取联合行动的平台(11)。虽然专家们对这场冲突是否意味着海湾合作委员会的正式解散意见不一,但石油组织的战略效力肯定已大大减弱。海湾合作委员会国家都是石油输出国组织(欧佩克)的成员国,它们不再在欧佩克每两年举行一次的首脑会议之前单独开会讨论战略问题。正如一位资深消息人士向路透社解释的那样:“我们之前有一个WhatsApp群组,专门为来自海湾地区的所有部长和代表服务。它曾经非常繁忙,但现在已经沉寂了。(12)这种战略断裂可能会对中国从中东的石油进口产生负面影响,自2017年一月以来,油价已上涨了一倍多。因此,随着中国对外国石油的依赖预计将继续上升(14),除了叙利亚和伊拉克的安全担忧,这个问题可能迫使中国重新评估其进口来源。只要这些不稳定因素仍然存在,“一带一路”倡议在中东地区创造持久积极经济影响的能力就会受到影响。

与以色列关系升温

四方及其盟友寻求应对伊朗轴心国的不稳定因素施加影响,为中东地区带来安全,他们更容易接受一个不可否认的事实:以色列和他们有同样的安全愿望,并且拥有强大的军事、经济和技术力量,可以对该地区产生持久的积极影响。埃及和约旦已经为阿拉伯国家与以色列建立正式关系铺平了道路。自1979年促成和平协议以来,以色列和埃及一直享有正式的外交、经济和安全关系。20世纪80年代和90年代,随着一系列农业和经济合作计划的签署,两国关系得到加强。2004年,以色列和埃及建立了合格工业区(QIZs),在那里,埃及的工厂用以色列的材料生产产品。现在,700多家埃及合格工业区公司出口近10亿美元,雇佣28多万人。虽然埃及一直不愿意在两国之间建立人民之间的联系,但以色列在这方面不断在努力:例如,自1980年以来,以色列一直是埃及最大的旅游资源国之一(16)。约旦国王阿卜杜拉自1994年以来一直与以色列保持外交关系。他在2017年重申了这三个国家之间的关系,并宣称“埃及和约旦与以色列有特殊的关系”。(17)

私底下,这些国家与以色列广泛合作的种子已经开始萌芽。从历史上看,由于两国与美国的关系,沙特阿拉伯一直与以色列保持尴尬而含蓄的同盟关系。在对伊朗协议共同不满的刺激下,埃及派出代表直接与以色列会面,讨论安全合作(18)。自2017年继位以来,沙特王储穆罕默德•本•萨勒曼(Mohammad bin Salman)从未回避过以色列,坚称“以色列从未攻击过我们”,两国“有共同的敌人”。(19)阿联酋也处于类似的地位,早在克林顿政府时期,它就在暗中寻求与以色列达成军机/技术协议。一位不愿透露姓名的阿联酋高级官员曾直言不讳地肯定了王储穆罕默德•本•萨勒曼的暗示言论,“我可以想象我们和以色列在同一战壕里对抗伊朗。”此外,据报道,王储私下表示愿意与以色列建立全面关系,他和阿联酋王储穆罕默德•本•扎耶德(Mohammad bin Zayed)也与以色列一样不满现任巴勒斯坦领导人 (20)。

未来充满活力的机遇

“一带一路”倡议要在中东取得成功,区域安全至关重要,这也是一个共识。虽然理想的长期解决方案不会提出死板而容易陷入直接对抗的双极主义,但以色列与一些邻国(如沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋)之间日益改善的关系仍有一线希望。这种新出现的模式为区域合作提供了一个可能的新框架,可以通过经济合作促进该区域的稳定和安全。

过去20年里,以色列秘密参与了与沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋的直接情报共享(21)(22)。阿拉伯国家愿意私下合作,这意味着他们认同以色列拥有该地区最有效的安全部队。愿意在不要求外交或任何公开承认的情况下进行合作,以色列表明它愿意克服政治敌意,以改善整个区域的状况。然而,这种表面上的敌对必然会阻止更充分的情报共享关系生根发芽。随着以色列和阿拉伯世界之间的外交障碍开始逐渐消除,我们可以预期,在地区反恐和保持稳定方面,情报合作将更加有效。

中东的危机如此严重,以至于国际社会在很大程度上无法为将来所面临的挑战做出计划。例如,气候变化使中东和北非的13个国家“水资源短缺”。此外,到2050年人均淡水消耗量预计将下降40%以上(23)。这一问题将加速数百万人的重新安置,并导致政治上进一步的不稳定。通过技术创新,以色列不仅绕过了这些气候障碍,甚至还实现了水供应过剩。2016年,以色列55%的生活用水来自海水淡化厂,这个数字每年都在增长(24)。以色列86%的废水被回收利用。随着阿拉伯世界的水资源不断减少,以色列的技术可能成为该地区广泛的人道主义危机的重要解药。

即将到来的水危机也对该地区的农业产生严重影响。30-35%的阿拉伯国家的粮食供应为进口,这个数字将随着人口增长和水资源短缺而上升(25)。中东和北非地区国家的平均灌溉效率约为51%(26),这并没有什么帮助。同样,以色列在这一地区趋势中明显是一个例外,因为它是拥有世界上最高农业效率等级的国家之一,这在很大程度上归功于其开创性的节水技术(27)。以色列已经与包括中国在内的国家成功签署了农业和农业技术伙伴关系,这一点,再加上贫瘠土地管理技术,以色列将成为有这方面需求的中东国家的生命线。
结论:中国的潜在角色

中东正在改变。通过经济合作,以色列和阿拉伯世界正变得日益相互联系和相互依存。例如,以色列和约旦正在合作修建一座横跨约旦河的新桥,连接两国的工业区;以色列最近签署了一项价值150亿美元的协议,将在未来十年向埃及出口640亿立方米天然气。中国通过投资促进以色列和阿拉伯世界之间合作的能力不可低估,这种投资有助于刺激以色列提高必要的能力,使其成为欧洲、约旦和海湾国家之间贸易的陆上桥梁,从而促进经济互联互通,同时补充东西方之间传统的贸易路线。

中国有机会通过与以色列和阿拉伯国家的多边合作框架进一步加强该地区的稳定与安全,例如,通过温室技术帮助某一个国家满足埃及的粮食安全需求。中国这样做是在促进发展合作,帮助纠正中东几代人以来的悲观论调,代之以建立地方联盟的机会,促进稳定并发挥其全球经济潜力。

翻译:关媛

1. http://china-trade-research.hktdc.com/business-news/article/The-Belt-and-Road-Initiative/The-Belt-and-Road-Initiative/obor/en/1/1X000000/1X0A36B7.htm
2. http://www.maritimesilkroad.org.hk/en/quickFacts/mapsOfMaritimeSilkRoad
3. http://www.worldstopexports.com/top-15-crude-oil-suppliers-to-china/
4. https://thediplomat.com/2017/08/closer-ties-china-and-saudi-arabia-sign-70-billion-in-new-deals/
5. https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/20170724-china-is-largest-foreign-investor-in-middle-east/
6. https://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/05/middleeast/saudi-bahrain-egypt-uae-qatar-terror/index.html
7. https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2017/07/muslim-brotherhood-qatar/532380/
8. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/12/turkey-iran-pakistan-big-trade-boost-qatar-171203175422055.html
9. https://financialtribune.com/articles/economy-business-and-markets/84152/iran-qatar-boosting-economic-cooperation
10. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-06-20/saudi-moves-forward-with-plan-to-turn-qatar-into-island
11. https://lobelog.com/can-the-gcc-survive-the-qatar-crisis/
12. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-opec-gulf-qatar/opec-chatroom-dead-as-qatar-crisis-hurts-gulf-oil-cooperation-idUSKBN1DN0TU
13. http://www.macrotrends.net/1369/crude-oil-price-history-chart
14. https://www.rfa.org/english/commentaries/energy_watch/chinas-oil-import-dependence-climbs-as-output-falls-12042017102429.html
15. Haisam Hassanein – personal communication
16. Haisam Hassanein – personal communication
17. https://www.timesofisrael.com/jordan-egypt-have-special-relationship-with-israel-says-jordanian-king/
18. https://www.rt.com/op-ed/saudi-israel-us-iran-155/
19. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/06/18/donald-trumps-new-world-order
20. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/06/18/donald-trumps-new-world-order
21. https://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/CIA-chief-Pompeo-Saudis-more-willing-to-share-intelligence-with-Israel-515860
22. https://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-and-uae-have-maintained-close-covert-ties-since-1990s-magazine-claims/
23. http://www.mei.edu/content/article/climate-change-middle-east-faces-water-crisis
24. https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/israel-proves-the-desalination-era-is-here/
25. http://www.mei.edu/content/article/climate-change-middle-east-faces-water-crisis
26. http://www.mei.edu/content/article/climate-change-middle-east-faces-water-crisis
27. https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/rankings/Agriculture_productivity/
28. https://besacenter.org/perspectives-papers/385-chaziza-the-red-med-railway-new-opportunities-for-china-israel-and-the-middle-east/