Zionism – An Introduction

The land of Israel, nestled between Lebanon and Egypt, is the ancient homeland of the Jews. From 1200 to 586 BC, it served as their country. At the center of Israel lay Jerusalem, the capital city, also known as Zion. It was here in Israel that much of the Bible, the Jewish holy scripture and one of the most influential books in the world, was written. It was here that the famous prophets of the age – Isaiah, Jeremiah, Elijah – spoke to the Jewish people and beseeched them to mend their ways. It was here that the temple to the Jewish God was built. In 586 BC, the Babylonian empire destroyed all of Jerusalem including the temple and expelled most of the Jews there. Fortunately, the expulsion was of a short duration. Seventy years later, the Persian empire conquered the Babylonian one. In 538 AD, the ruler of the empire, Cyrus, granted the Jews permission to return to their homeland and rebuild their temple.

Thus began the “Second Temple” period. During this time, the country was occupied by a number of empires – the Persian (538-333 BC), the Greek (333-142 BC) and finally the Roman (63 BC – 70 AD). Most of the time, these empires let the Jews practice their religion freely without harassment. An exception to this rule happened when the Greek ruler Antiochus IV, tried to force the Jews to abandon their religion by legally banning critical Jewish religious commandments in 167 BC. This led to a revolt, known as the Maccabean revolt, in which the Jews gained political independence from the Greeks. This period known as the Hasmonean period (164 – 63 BC), which ended with the Roman conquest in 63 BC.

The Jews flourished in the second Temple era. At first, they were a small group, restricted to the area around Jerusalem near the center of the country. However, slowly but surely the Jewish population expanded and covered most of the country. It was at this time that Hebrew was converted from ancient Hebrew script to Aramaic script; this script is still used today, especially in Modern Israel. It was in this time that the “Oral Torah”, the interpretation and expansion of the Bible, was developed. Jewish literature flourished in this age, and the temple of this era was grander than ever before. Jews from all over the world, who had not settled in Israel, came to make pilgrimage to it and contributed to its upkeep. It was truly a magnet for Jewish life.

All this came to an end with the destruction of the second Temple at the hands of the Romans. Roman rule was very oppressive, including the repeated desecration of the Temple and general misrule, including outright theft and murder of Jews by the Romans. In 67 AD, things became unbearable, and the Jews revolted against the Romans (67 – 70 AD). Although initially successful, the Jews were crushed by the Roman armies, and Jerusalem itself was entirely destroyed. About 70 years later, the Jews made another attempt to revolt against the Romans, known as the Bar Kokhva revolt (132-135 AD). Once again, the Jews were crushed, and the devastation the Romans caused eclipsed that of the first revolt.

Shocked by this, Jewish leaders decided to abstain from any more revolts or active attempts to regain independence and rebuild the temple. Clearly, it was up to God to decide when they could return. Any attempt to do this prematurely would lead to a repeat of the Bar Kokhva debacle. Redemption would come from above, and the Jews’ task was to keep the memory alive and continue to pray to God to bring them back to Israel and rebuild the temple.

Ever since then, Jews have longed for a return to the land of Israel and the restoration of their ancient country. Although most of the Jews were dispersed throughout the world, they always wished to regain political and religious independence in their ancient homeland. All maintained this desire to return through prayer, ritual and belief. It was similar to a petitioner constantly bombarding the government (in this case God), hoping his request will be granted.

We will list only a few of the “petitions” here. Every year at the holiday of Passover, at the end of the traditional meal known as the seder, Jews would sing “Next Year in Jerusalem”. Part of the ”shemoneh esreh”, the daily obligatory prayer, includes requests from God to return the Jews to Israel and restore it to its former glory. This attachment was so strong that Jews often nicknamed their cities of residence after cities in Israel. For instance, Vilna, a major Jewish center in Lithuania, was named “Jerusalem of Lithuania” after the former capital of Israel.

Small groups of Jews even took the next step and returned physically, either individually or in groups. Returning to Israel often involved great risks, including the crossing of many borders, which at the time was quite hazardous and costly. Among the Jews who returned were some of Judaism’s greatest religious authorities, such as Nachmanides, Rabbi Joseph Karo, Rabbi Shlomo Luria and students of the Gaon of Vilna.

Nevertheless, most Jews remained outside of the country, in lands ruled by Christians or Muslims during the Middle Ages. Deprived of most rights, forced to wear humiliating clothing and often denied the right to work in respectable professions, Jews clung to the hope of Divine redemption. Even in the most difficult periods, when Jews were slaughtered wholesale or expelled from whole countries, they clung to the hope that God would eventually save them.

All this changed in the 18th-19th centuries, first in Christian Europe and then among Jews in Muslim lands. Jews, formerly second-class citizens with few rights, were given emancipation – the right to become full citizens in their respective countries. This placed Jews with a difficult dilemma, one which they deal with to this day – how to become full, integrated citizens without completely assimilating? Many tried to do both declaring themselves “German (or French &c) citizens of the Mosaic faith”. Thus they tried to balance their religious faith and traditions with being loyal citizens. While some left the faith completely, most Jews tried to maintain this balance between tradition and citizenship in one form or another. The Jews hoped that the era of discrimination was over and that they could now stand with pride as full members of their respective countries.

They were in for a rude surprise. Although Jews were legally emancipated, social discrimination of all kinds was rampant. Jews were still barred from many jobs and social groups. In the Russian empire, Jews were restricted in where they could live or work, and were often unjustly blamed for all the empire’s problems. In Germany, the cultural center of Europe, the term ”anti-semitism” (meaning hatred of Jews) was first coined (in 1879) by a hater of Jews. In France, the trial and expulsion of Alfred Dreyfuss, a Jew and a military officer, in 1894 for espionage (he was innocent) was accompanied by agitators yelling “death to the Jews!.” Worse still, racism – or the idea that European races are inherently superior to other peoples gained traction. Jews, who were considered part of the inferior “Semitic races” were one of the first targets of this hatred. Try though they might, the Jews’ countries of residence would not fully accept them.

This rude awakening led an increasing number of Jews to advocate a solution for the problem of the Jewish people in the 1880s. Integration was not working. Instead, the Jews should cease to be helpless minorities at the whim of other countries. Other peoples – such as Greece (1832), Italy (1870) – fought for and achieved political independence. Why should the Jews be any different? Surely it is time that the Jews “emancipated” themselves and became a sovereign nation, with its own language and culture. There was no better place to do this than in the Jews’ ancient homeland – Israel. Thus, Zionism was born.

Zionism is an ideology which rejected the passive longing for Zion, according to which God would do all the work. It advocated replacing it with actively reconstituting the Land of Israel as a political and cultural center for the Jewish people. Different streams of Zionism differed as to the how and the why. Some saw the solution as purely political, others saw the issue as a cultural issue, a matter for socialist solutions, or a catalyst for religious revival. Still others, especially those who lived in Muslim countries, were Zionists out of a simple and abiding love for the Jewish homeland. All, however, shared a conviction that the key to the Jewish people’s survival and flourishing in the modern world, filled with hatred and difficulties galore, hinged on the rebuilding of the ancient homeland.

Zionism is more than a political ideology. It was and is, in the words of scholar David Vital, a “revolution”. It is a movement of Jewish national revival, with its cornerstones being the Hebrew language, the Land of Israel and the Jewish people. It has brought about the revival of a “dead language”, the establishment of an independent state, and the re-forging of an ancient nation.

Published: 21-06-2011

犹太复国主义——简介

位于黎巴嫩和埃及之间的这片土地以色列,是犹太人古老的故乡。公元前1200年至公元前586年,这里曾是他们的国家。首都耶路撒冷又称锡安山,位于以色列的中心。神圣的犹太经典,世界上最具影响力的书籍之一——圣经的大部分内容正是在这里,在以色列被著成的。正是在这里,那个时代著名的先知——以赛亚,耶利米,以利亚——恳请犹太人民改过自新,回归正途。也正是在这里,犹太人为他们的神建起了圣殿。公元前586年,巴比伦王国摧毁了包括第一圣殿在内的整个耶路撒冷并驱逐了那里大部分的犹太人。幸运的是,这次驱逐持续的时间不长。70年后,波斯帝国征服了巴比伦王国。公元538年,帝国的统治者居鲁士授予了犹太人重返家园并重建圣殿的许可。

就这样,“第二圣殿”时期开始了。在这一时期国家曾被几代帝国所占据——波斯帝国(公元前538年至公元前333年),希腊(公元前333年至公元前142年)以及最终的罗马帝国(公元前63年至公元70年)。多数时候这些帝国对犹太人自由地从事宗教活动不予干涉,然而也存在例外:公元前167年,希腊统治者安条克四世试图依法取缔关键的犹太宗教戒律从而强迫犹太人放弃他们的宗教信仰。这一举动导致了一次起义,史称马卡比起义,由此犹太人获得了政治上的独立。这一时期史称哈斯蒙尼王朝(公元前164年至公元前63年),在公元前63年被罗马征服而告终。

犹太民族在第二圣殿时期逐渐壮大起来。起初,他们只是一个小群体,活动地区也限制于耶路撒冷周围和国家中部地区。然而犹太人口缓慢而稳步地扩大并随后覆盖了整个国家。正是在这一时期希伯来文由古希伯来语文字转变为阿拉姆语文字,这种文字沿用至今,尤其是在现代以色列。也正是在此时,对圣经的解释和扩充,即“口口相传的摩西五经”发展起来。犹太文学在这个时期蓬勃发展,而此时的圣殿也比以往任何时候都要宏伟壮丽。没有在以色列定居的犹太人从世界各地来到圣殿朝圣,并致力于对它的维护。对犹太人来说圣殿真的有如磁石一般的吸引力。

这一切都随着罗马人毁灭第二圣殿而结束。罗马统治十分残暴,罗马人再三地亵渎圣殿,全面的施行暴政并对犹太人进行的公开盗窃和杀害。公元67年,犹太人忍无可忍,起义反抗罗马帝国(公元67年至70年)。尽管在最开始取得了胜利,但最终犹太人被罗马军队击溃了,耶路撒冷也被完全摧毁。大约70年后,犹太人再次试图起义反抗罗马帝国,史称巴尔柯赫巴起义(公元132年至135年)。犹太人又一次被击溃,罗马帝国对其造成的毁灭之严重甚至使得第一次起义也黯然失色。受此打击,犹太领袖决定不再起义,并放弃任何为重新获得独立或重建圣殿的尝试。显然,该由上帝来决定他们何时能够重返故乡。任何草率的行为都可能导致巴尔柯赫巴惨败的重演。救赎将来自上天,而犹太人的职责就是铭记历史并继续向上帝祈祷,求他带他们回到以色列并重建圣殿。

此后,犹太人一直渴望着能够返回以色列并重建他们古老的国家。尽管大部分犹太人流散到了世界各地,但他们在故土重获政治和宗教的独立的愿望从未泯灭。人们通过祈祷,仪式和信仰坚持着这种渴求。这就像是一个请愿者不停地向政府(在这里是上帝)发出请愿,希望他的请求能够被准许。

我们在此列出几篇“请愿书”。每年的逾越节,在传统逾越节家宴结束的时候,犹太人都会唱起一首名为“明年在耶路撒冷”的歌。每日必行的祈祷“十八条”的包括向上帝恳求让犹太人回到以色列,并恢复她往日的荣耀。这种念旧情感如此强烈以至于犹太人常常根据以色列的城市名给他们现在所住的城市起昵称。例如,维尔纽斯,立陶宛一个主要的犹太人中心,因以色列曾经的首都而被称为“立陶宛的耶路撒冷”。
一小部分犹太人,或独自或成群地采取了进一步行动,即地理上的回归。回到以色列通常伴随着巨大的风险,其中包括穿越许多当时十分危险的边境。在回归的人中有一些是犹太教中伟大的宗教人物,例如那赫玛尼戴斯,拉比约瑟夫•卡洛,拉比索罗蒙•鲁利亚以及维尔纽斯犹太教典学者的学生们。

尽管如此,大多数犹太人仍然生活在国外,在中世纪时被基督教徒和穆斯林所统治的领土上。他们被剥夺了大部分权利,被迫穿着丢脸的服装并常常被拒绝从事受人尊敬的职业,却依然抱定对于神的救赎的希望。即使是在最为艰难的时期,在犹太人经受大规模的屠杀以及被整个国家所驱逐时,对上帝抱有的希望和笃定最终挽救了他们。

这一切在18至19世纪发生了改变,首先是在信仰基督教的欧洲,而后扩展到在穆斯林国家的犹太人。曾经作为“二等公民”几乎没有权利的犹太人,被给予解放,有权利在各自的国家成为正式公民。这使得犹太人处于了两难的境地,直到今天他们还难以抉择——如何不被同化而又成为完全的公民?许多人试图两者兼得并声称自己是“镶嵌了信仰的德国(或法国等)公民”。因此他们在宗教信仰传统与当一个忠诚的公民之间找寻平衡。然而有一些人完全脱离了信仰,但大多数的犹太人以各种方式平衡传统与公民权。那时犹太人希望歧视的时代结束,他们能够骄傲地作为国家的正式成员。

尽管犹太人在法律上享有人身自由和解放,但在社会上却受到各种无法避免的歧视。很多工作和社会团体禁止犹太人参与。在沙俄,犹太人的生活和工作受限于特定的区域,并经常由于各种国内的问题而受到不公正的指责。在欧洲文化中心德国,仇视犹太人的人创造出了“反犹主义”(意为对犹太人的痛恨)一词。在法国,1894年对犹太人军官阿尔弗雷德•德雷弗斯的间谍行为(实际上他是无辜的)的审判和驱逐伴随着煽动者“犹太人的灭亡!”的喊叫。更糟的是种族主义——或者说是欧洲种族天生比其他种族优越的这一说法所具有的魅力。被认为是下等民族“闪族”的犹太人是这种仇恨针对的主要目标之一。尽管犹太人努力地尝试,但这些国家仍然不能完全地接受他们。

在19世纪80年代,越来越多的犹太人意识到,应该为解决犹太人问题提出一个方案。种族融合无望,取而代之的是犹太民族不应再做其他国家荒诞想法之下无助的少数派。另一些民族——如希腊(1832),意大利(1870)——也曾为既得的政治独立而斗争。犹太人为什么不也这样做呢?这无疑到了犹太人解放自我,成为一个独立自主,拥有自己的语言和文化的国家的时候了。没有比在犹太民族的故乡——以色列更适合建国的地方了。由此,犹太复国主义诞生了。

犹太复国主义拒绝相信上帝最终会将一切安排好,拒绝消极地对锡安山存有渴望。取而代之的是,提倡在以色列积极地重建一个犹太民族政治和文化的中心。根据重建的方式和原因犹太复国主义分成了不同流派。有些人认为解决方法是单纯政治上的,其他人认为这是一个文化问题,一个社会主义解决方案,或是宗教信仰复活的催化剂。还有些人,特别是那些生活在穆斯林国家的人,是持有朴素而持久不变的对犹太民族故土之爱的犹太复国主义者。总之所有人都坚信犹太人在充满着仇恨与艰难的现代世界中复生和发展壮大的关键就在于对故土的重建。

犹太复国主义不止是一个政治概念。从过去到现在,用学者大卫•维托的话说,它都是一场“革命”,是以希伯来语,以色列领土和犹太人民为基础的犹太民族复活运动。“已经死去的语言”得到重生,一个独立国家得以建立,一个古老的民族重新铸就。

本章节讲述的是犹太复国主义的故事。

English
Published: 21-06-2011