YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe

From around the 10th century CE onwards, the Jewish world was divided into two major groups. The first group, called the Sefardim or Spaniards, lived mostly in Southern Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. The second group, known as the Ashkenazim or “Germans”, lived in the more Northern sections of Europe, from France and Germany to Poland and Russia.

europeantown

An Eastern European Jewish town.

Eastern Europe was an important cultural center of the Ashkenazi Jews from the 16th century until the Second World War. This region includes what are now the countries of Poland, Ukraine, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Belarus, Romania and Russia.

Anyone who wishes to understand the culture and heritage of most Ashkenazi Jews today must perforce study the history of Eastern European Jewry. The YIVO online encyclopedia provides a scholarly yet accessible panoramic overview of this period in history. According to the YIVO website, the encyclopedia is:

“The only resource of its kind, this encyclopedia provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. This Web site makes accurate, reliable, scholarly information about East European Jewish life accessible to everyone”

To learn more, click on the link below:

http://www.yivoencyclopedia.org/default.aspx

中文
Published: 17-05-2012

美国伊沃犹太研究所(YIVO)百科全书:东欧犹太人

大约从公元10世纪开始,犹太世界形成了两大群体。第一个群体为塞法迪犹太人或西班牙裔犹太人,他们大部分生活在南欧、中东和北非地区;另外一个群体为德系犹太人,居住在欧洲偏北部,从法国、德国到波兰和俄罗斯均有。

europeantown

东欧的一个犹太人城市

从16世纪开始到二战时期,东欧一直是德系犹太人的重要文化中心。这一地区包括现在的波兰、乌克兰、立陶宛、拉脱维亚、爱沙尼亚、白俄罗斯、罗巴尼亚和俄罗斯。

如您希望了解今天大部分德系犹太人的文化传统,就必须要研究东欧犹太人的历史。美国伊沃犹太研究所(YIVO)在线百科全书能够为您提供这一时期的历史全景概览,内容专业学术但易于理解。根据伊沃网站上的描述,该百科全书是:

“独一无二的资源,提供从东欧犹太人最初在该地区定居到现在的最全面历史和文化全貌。我们的网站对东欧犹太人的生活情况描述准确、可靠、具学术性,并且向所有人开放。”

更多信息,请点击以下链接:http://www.yivoencyclopedia.org/default.aspx

翻译:关媛
English
Published: 17-05-2012