The Shekel

The shekel served as the name of the currency of the People of Israel in ancient times dating back even before they were called Jews. When the state of Israel was formed, the founders of the nation termed the currency shekel as homage to the Jewish People’s ancient currency. The shekel was used in a variety of ways in throughout history.

The Half Shekel

In the first temple period (1000-586 BCE) a shekel referred to a specific measure of weight. The word shekel itself comes from the Hebrew linguistic root ‘to weigh’. The Torah (Jewish Bible) commands that all men above the age of twenty must contribute a half a shekel to the building of the Jewish Temple.

A shekel minted in the Great Jewish Revolt against Rome (66-70 AD)

A shekel minted in the Great Jewish Revolt against Rome (66-70 AD)

The Jewish Temple was not the same as the present day synagogue of Jewish communities around the world – i.e., a local place of prayer and nothing more. While it stood, the Temple was the most important religious building of the Jewish people. The Temple was the center for Jews from all corners of the country to come on three festivals – Pessah, Shavu’ot and Sukkot. For 2000 years since it was destroyed, Jews all over the world have prayed for God to rebuild the Temple and restore His presence within it. No other Jewish religious site has any comparable significance.

During the First Temple Period, the half-shekel was a specific weight of precious metal which all Jews in the land of Israel sent to the Jewish temple coffers. When the second Temple was established in 516 BC, the word shekel no longer referred to a measure of weight. Rather, the shekel was a coin, one of a number of different currencies used in the ancient world for monetary exchange.

During the second Temple period (516 BC – 70 AD) every adult Jew was obligated by religious law to donate a half a shekel coin to the temple whether they lived in the land of Israel or not. Some Jews contributed the half shekel through their local community while others provided it individually. At the time, Jews lived in the land of Israel as well as in wealthy cities outside the country such as Rome and Alexandria. Because of this, a large amount of money was contributed to the Jewish Temple.

After the second Temple was destroyed in 70 AD, Jewish communities continued to give a certain amount of money to the Jewish poor in memory of the half shekel offered to the Temple. This was a natural transition as the Bible repeatedly emphasizes the importance of the Divine commandment to give to the poor and the destitute.

Money was given around the holiday of Purim in the middle of the Jewish month of Adar. To this day, observant Jews throughout the world contribute a half-shekel to charity during the month of Adar.

The Zionist “Shekel”

image003The Zionist movement was established in 1897. As a sign of the Zionist connection to the ancient Jewish currency, movement leaders decided that the certificate for paying membership dues will be called a “shekel”.  In exchange for paying annual dues, a “shekel” holder earned the right to vote and be elected to Zionist congresses. The number of Zionist representatives from each country in Zionist congresses was decided based on the relative number of shekel holders. When the state of Israel was established, the Zionist shekel was discontinued.

The Israeli Shekel

Israeli ShekelWhen the state of Israel was established in 1948 it inherited the legal tender of the British Mandate, the Palestinian Pound. Israel changed the name of the national currency to the Israeli Lira. Many Israelis, especially from the 1960s onward, complained about the foreign name given to the national currency. They argued to re-name the currency the shekel. In 1969, a law was enacted giving the Treasury Minister the right to re-name the currency.  He did not do so until 1980. In 1985, as part of an economic stabilization plan, the shekel was merged into a new currency known as the New Shekel. Today, the official Israeli currency is the New Israeli Shekel or NIS for short.

There are 20, 50, 100 and 200 shekel bills and 1, 2, 5 and 10 shekel coins. The shekel coins are silver. Lesser coins are called an agora; 100 agorot = 1 shekel. There are 10 agorot and 50 agorot coins, both of which are bronze-casted.

For further reading:

Gallery of Israeli money
The Zionist Shekel
On the Half Shekel
Shekels coined in the Great Revolt

中文
Published: 19-03-2012

谢克尔

作为古代以色列人民使用的货币 – 谢克尔- 可以追溯到以色列人民被称为犹太人之前。当以色列国成立之时,国家的创始人把谢克尔尊称为犹太人民的古老货币。在以色列的整个历史当中,谢克尔也曾被广为使用。

半个谢克尔

在第一圣殿时期(公元前1000年至公元前586年),谢克尔是用来衡量具体重量的。谢克尔这个词来源于希伯来语词根“重量”。托拉(犹太律法)规定年龄在20岁以上的男人必须捐出一半重量的谢克尔用于修建犹太圣殿。

Old Shekel犹太圣殿与现代分布在全世界各地的犹太会堂(当地祈祷的地方而没有更多的含义)不同,一旦圣殿建立起来,犹太圣殿即是犹太人最重要的宗教场所。对于全世界各地的犹太人而言,圣殿是他们的中心用来共同庆祝三个重大节日 – 逾越节,七七节和住棚节。从圣殿被破坏到现在已有2000年,全世界的犹太人祈祷上帝使得犹太人能够重建圣殿并在圣殿里供奉上帝。没有任何犹太宗教场所能与之重要意义相匹敌。

在第一圣殿时期,半个谢克尔是一种特定重量的贵金属,这些贵金属是以色列土地上的犹太人民为修建圣殿而用的。当第二圣殿建立于公元前516年的时候,谢克尔不再是用来衡量重量。取而代之的是,谢克尔用于在古代不同货币间交换的一种钱币。

在第二圣殿建造时期(公元前516年至公元70年),宗教法律要求无论是否居住在以色列本土的每一个成年犹太人都要捐出一半的谢克尔钱币用于修建圣殿。一些犹太人通过他们当地的社区捐献一半的谢克尔而另一些犹太人则通过个人方式捐赠。在当时,犹太人居住在以色列本土或者其他如罗马和亚历山大等富裕的城市。正因为如此,大量的金钱贡献于建造犹太圣殿。

在公元70年第二圣殿遭到破坏后,犹太社区继续捐献一定量的金钱给犹太穷人,而这些金钱原本是用于建造圣殿的。这是一个自然的转变,因为在犹太法典里反复强调要帮助穷困的人这条神赐戒律的重要性

捐赠发生在犹太历阿达尔月中的节日普珥节。为了这一天,来自全世界遵守法令的犹太人为慈善而捐赠他们一半的谢克尔。

锡安主义者(犹太复国主义者)的“谢克尔”

image003锡安主义运动开始于1897年。作为锡安主义者连接到古代犹太货币的标志,运动的领导人决定缴纳会费的证书将被称为“谢克尔”。作为支付会费的交换,“谢克尔”的持有人获得锡安主义者代表大会的投票权和被选举权。在锡安主义者代表大会中锡安主义者的代表的数量取决于“谢克尔”持有者的相对数量。当以色列国成立时,锡安主义者的谢克尔就被停止使用。

 
 
 
 

以色列谢克尔

israelishekel当1948年以色列国成立,它继承了英国授权的法定货币 -巴勒斯坦镑。以色列更名国家货币为以色列里拉。许多以色列人,特别是从20世纪60年代起,抱怨本国货币有一个外国名字。他们主张重新命名货币。1969年,法律给予国库部长重新命名货币的权力。1985年,谢克尔作为经济稳定计划的一部分,被合并成一个新的货币被称为新谢克尔。今天,以色列的官方货币是以色列新谢克尔或简称NIS 。

新谢克尔发行20,50,100和200的纸币和1,2,5和10的硬币。新谢克尔是银制的。少量货币被称为阿古拉;100阿古拉=1谢克尔。
发行铜造的10阿古拉和50阿古拉的硬币

更多资料:

以色列货币画廊

锡安主义者的谢克尔

关于半个谢克尔

大起义中铸造谢克尔

翻译:Julia
English
Published: 19-03-2012