The Myth of Israel as a Colonialist Entity

An Instrument of Political Warfare to Delegitimize the Jewish State

While modern Israel was born in the aftermath of the British Mandate for Palestine, which called for a Jewish national home, its roots preceded the arrival of the British to the Middle East. In that sense Britain was not Israel’s mother-country, like France was for Algeria. Indeed, the Jews were already re-establishing their presence independently in their land well before the British and French dismantled the Ottoman Empire.

As time went on, it became clear that the British Empire was not the handmaiden of Israel’s re-birth, but rather its main obstacle. The accusation that Israel has colonialist roots because of its connection to the British Mandate is ironic, since most of the Arab states owe their origins to the entry and domination of the European powers.

The argument that Israel is a colonialist entity is often marshaled to undermine the Jewish state’s very legitimacy. It lays at the head of Edward Said’s polemical treatment of the Arab-Israel conflict, entitled The Question of Palestine, which was published in 1992. The theme has certainly permeated Western academia, almost uncritically. For decades, it has been employed against Israel in one international forum after another.

For example, in 1973, the UN General Assembly gave initial momentum to this idea when it condemned the “unholy alliance between Portuguese colonialism, South African racism, Zionism, and Israeli imperialism.” Two years later the Organization of African Unity adopted a resolution at its meeting of heads of state saying that “the racist regime in occupied Palestine and the racist regime in Zimbabwe and South Africa have a common imperialist origin.”

That association of Israel with colonialist regimes set the stage in 1975 for the most insidious resolution ever adopted in the General Assembly against Israel, which stated that Zionism was a form of racism. It helped cement the Afro-Asian bloc behind the resolution and provided momentum for the beginnings of the movement to delegitimize Israel. Even when, in 1991, the General Assembly finally overturned the resolution, comparisons between Zionism and colonialism persisted, arguably becoming even more strident.

The Palestinian Authority’s Ministry of Information published a book in 2012 entitled Terminology in Media, Culture and Politics which stresses that Palestinians should use the term “colonialism” as part of their verbal arsenal in dealing with Israel. The book warns that using the political lexicon of Israel “turns the essence of the Zionist endeavor from a racist, colonialist endeavor into an endeavor of self-definition and independence for the Jewish people.”1

The Palestinian Authority text specifically instructs its Palestinian readers never to use the name of “Israel” by itself, but rather the term “Israeli colonialism.” In short, the charge of Israel being a “colonialist state” has evolved in recent years into an instrument of political warfare to be used by Palestinians who seek to employ language that they hope will undercut the legitimacy of the Jewish state.

Unlike the charges of apartheid and racism, the tag “colonialist” cannot be refuted simply by looking around modern Israel, where courts, hospitals, and universities serve both Arabs and Jews. It is a historical charge about how Israel came to exist: in effect, it amounts to the claim that Israel was established as an outpost of another distant power imposing itself by grafting an “alien” Jewish population on the territory and its native inhabitants.

In an essay he originally wrote in 1966, before the Six-Day War, that was later published as a book in 1973 entitled Israel: A Colonial-Settler State?, the French-Marxist historian Maxime Rodinson drew analogies between the Jews in Israel and the French settlers in Algeria as well as the whites in South Africa.2 But was it a legitimate argument to say that the Jews who returned to their ancient homeland were as alien in their territory as the Europeans who were transplanted and came to settle in Africa and Asia in order to serve the interests of the French British Empires?

What Was the Role of the European Colonial Powers in Israel’s Establishment?

The fact is that while modern Israel was born in the aftermath of the British Mandate for Palestine, which called for a Jewish national home, its roots preceded the arrival of the British to the Middle East. In that sense Britain was not Israel’s mother-country, like France was for Algeria. Indeed, the Jews were already re-establishing their presence independently in their land well before the British and French dismantled the Ottoman Empire. For example, the Jewish people had already recovered their majority in Jerusalem by 1863.3

Decades later, Britain and the rest of the League of Nations considered Jewish rights in Palestine beyond their power to bestow because those rights were already there to be accepted. Thus in the mandate document, the League of Nations gave recognition to “the historical connection of the Jewish people with Palestine.” In other words, it recognized a pre-existing right. It did not create that right. It also called for “reconstituting” the Jewish people’s national home. And the rights recognized by the League of Nations were preserved by its successor organization, the United Nations, which in Article 80 of its charter acknowledged all rights of states and peoples that existed before 1945.

Rather than seeing the Jewish people acquiring their status with respect to the territory that was to become Israel because of Britain, the historian Elizabeth Monroe once observed that it was the British who “climbed on the shoulders of the Zionists in order to get British Palestine.”4 What she meant was that Britain might not have received the territory of the Palestine Mandate, which could have become French or part of an international zone, had Britain not backed Jewish national revival, which was an independent force and not a colonial invention. As time went on, it became clear that the British Empire was not the handmaiden of Israel’s re-birth, but rather its main obstacle. Moreover, in the years that followed the issuance of the Balfour Declaration confirming Jewish rights to a national home in Palestine, the British systematically scaled back many of the initial rights of the Jewish people which previously had been recognized, putting the Jews in an increasingly conflictual relationship with London.

This change was exemplified first in 1922, with the British decision to remove the territory of Transjordan from the area of Palestine that had been allocated for the Jewish national home. It continued to the 1939 White Paper, which significantly curtailed Jewish immigration into Palestine. Ultimately, the British faced an armed rebellion of the Jewish population of British Mandatory Palestine, first led by Etzel and Lehi and then later joined by the Haganah, which would become the basis for the Israel Defense Forces, after Israel’s independence.

The Colonialist Origins of the Arab State System

The accusation that Israel has colonialist roots because of its connection to the British Mandate is ironic, since most of the Arab states owe their origins to the entry and domination of the European powers. Prior to World War I, the Arab states of Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, and Jordan did not exist, but were only districts of the Ottoman Empire, under different names. They became states as a result of European intervention, with the British putting the Hashemite family in power in two of these countries, Iraq (until 1958) and Jordan.

Saudi Arabia and the smaller Gulf states, meanwhile, emerged from treaties that their leaders signed with British India, which sought to exclude Britain’s rivals from acquiring any strategic position in the Persian Gulf, and later access to its oil resources. By means of those treaties, the British recognized the legitimacy of local Arab families to rule what became states like Kuwait, Bahrain, and Qatar.5 A similar British treaty with the al-Saud family in 1915 set the stage for the eventual emergence of Saudi Arabia in 1932.

Moreover, during Israel’s War of Independence, Arab armies benefited directly from European arms and training – and even manpower. As the Arab states became independent, Britain reached special treaties with them, which guaranteed its forces access to a system of bases in Iraq and Egypt, while serving as the basis for supplying weapons and advisors to Arab armies. The Arab Legion initially fought in Jerusalem with British officers, while the skies of Egyptian Sinai were protected from the Israeli Air Force by the Royal Air Force. Indeed, Israeli and British aircraft clashed in 1949.

William Roger Louis, one of the foremost historians of British imperial strategy, uncovered an extremely revealing document from the British Foreign Office that puts into perspective Israel’s relationship with the European colonial powers at its birth. In his 1984 book, The British Empire in the Middle East, 1945-1951, he describes a meeting on July 21, 1949, of senior British officials at the end of Israel’s War of Independence.

Thus, Sir John Troutbeck, head of the British Middle East Office, said, “We were in a position to control the Arab governments but not Israel.” He then expressed fear that “the Israelis might drag the Arab States into a neutral bloc and even attempt to turn us out of Egypt.” The original Foreign Office document also expressed concern that the British would lose their airbases in Iraq. In 1956, Israel briefly made common cause with Britain and France against Nasser’s Egypt, but this could not alter the fact that, for the imperial powers, Israel was an obstacle, not an outpost.

Denying Jewish Historical Roots in the Land

Nevertheless, in recent years, the effort to portray Israel as a colonialist entity has expanded. For many Palestinian spokesmen, in particular, it became important to deny the historical ties of the Jewish people to their land and to portray them as recent colonialist arrivals to the region – in contrast to the Palestinians, who were portrayed as the authentic native population.

This effort reached an audacious peak when Yasser Arafat denied that the Temple had ever existed in Jerusalem at the end of the July 2000 Camp David Summit with President Clinton. Many of his deputies – from Saeb Erekat to Mahmoud Abbas – have since picked up the same theme. Speaking on November 12, 2008, at a UN General Assembly “Dialogue of Religions and Cultures,” the Palestinian prime minister, Salam Fayyad, addressed the historical connections of Islam and Christianity to Jerusalem, but noticeably did not say a single word about Judaism’s ties to the Holy City.

In a similar vein, Arafat used to tell Western audiences that the Palestinians are descendants of the Jebusites, with ancient roots in the land. But in Palestinian society, one establishes one’s status by claiming to be a relative latecomer, whose ancestors were from the Arabian families that accompanied the Second Caliph Umar bin al-Khattab when he conquered and colonized Byzantine Palestine in the seventh century.

No less than Mahmoud Abbas, Arafat’s successor, has admitted that the Christian presence in the Holy Land preceded the arrival of the ancestors of the present Palestinian leadership. Thus in criticizing Hamas for attacking Christian institutions, Abbas declared in 2007: “One of our oldest churches in Palestine, which stood long before our arrival [in the region], was looted and set on fire [emphasis added].” Thus, the argument that the Palestinians are descendants of the ancient inhabitants of what is today modern Israel was even rejected by Abbas himself.6

The Jewish People as Indigenous

Even at the time of the Arab conquests, the Jews were still a plurality – and, perhaps along with the Samaritans, a majority – in the land, six hundred years after the Romans destroyed their ancient Temple and dismantled the Second Jewish Commonwealth. This emerges from Professor Moshe Gil’s monumental 800-page A History of Palestine: 634-1099.7 There is a common misconception that following the Great Revolt against the Roman Empire in 70 CE, and especially after the Bar Kochba Revolt in 135 CE, the Jews were exiled and their presence was negligible.

Gil’s work clearly refutes this misunderstanding of Jewish history. He not only quotes Christian and other sources establishing that a substantial Jewish population remained, his research leads him to conclude that “The Jewish population residing in the country consisted of the direct descendants of the generations of Jews who had lived there since the days of Joshua bin Nun, in other words for 2,000 years.”8

The Jewish population in Palestine began to diminish in response to severe laws established by its new Islamic rulers who imposed special taxes like the jizya (poll tax placed on non-Muslim individuals) and the kharaj (land tax) that made land ownership impossible. But much of the physical destruction of significant numbers of the remnant of the Jewish community occurred, according to Gil, as a result of the First Crusade in 1099 and the European occupation of Palestine in the decades that followed.

Nevertheless, the attachment of the Jewish people to their historic homeland continued and they made every effort to return over the centuries. After the defeat of the Crusader Kingdom, three hundred rabbis from Britain and France immigrated to Palestine in 1211. The pace of Jewish immigration from Spain and Italy increased to such an extent that Pope Martin V (1363-1431) forbade ship owners and sea captains from transporting Jews to the Holy Land in 1428.

With the Spanish Inquisition in 1492, a whole wave of Jewish immigration followed to the Ottoman Empire, in general, and to Palestine, in particular, after the Ottomans conquered it in 1517. There was a revival of Jewish life in Safed and Tiberias in the sixteenth century, symbolized by the grant given to Don Joseph Nasi by Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent to settle Jews in Tiberias and in surrounding villages in 1561. A study of the Ottoman census figures found that there were thousands of Jews living in the villages of the Galilee in the early sixteenth century, while by 1567, Jews constituted the majority of the population of Safed. There were still a few families that could trace their origins to the Second Temple period.9

By the early nineteenth century, new waves of Jewish immigrants returned to their land, often motivated by strong messianic beliefs rather than by any colonialist theories. There was a shared belief among many Jews in the diaspora that the Hebrew year 5600 (1840) was to be the date of Israel’s redemption. It is not surprising to find that according to several reports, the Jewish community in Palestine doubled between the years 1808 and 1840.10

In a transparent publicity stunt in February 2010, foreign activists went to the West Bank village of Bilʼin and convinced Palestinian demonstrators to paint themselves blue so that they would look like the colonized people from the popular science-fiction film Avatar, thereby reinforcing the Palestinian narrative before the mass media that the Israeli-Palestinian conflict was between an indigenous Arab people and recent Jewish arrivals.

Yet, ascertaining the truth has never been the objective of those trying to paint Israel with a colonialist brush. The restoration of the Jewish population to what became Israel was a historical process that began centuries before the British arrived. The purveyors of this narrative have been determined simply to conclude that the Jews came as an alien force to British Mandatory Palestine, to advance European imperial interests, rather than see them as a people recovering their historical homeland, where they had deep, indigenous roots.

  1. Itamar Marcus and Nan Jacques Zilberdik, “Official PA Terminology Guide: Instead of ‘Terror’ Say ‘Resistance’,” Palestinian Media Watch, June 19, 2012.
  2. w. Maxine Rodiason, Israel: A Colonial Settlers State? (New York: Pathfinder, 1973). See also, Rashid Khalidi, “The Colonial Foundations of Israel,” Journal of Palestine Studies, Vol. 3, No. 4, Summer 1974.
  3. British Consular Report 1865, “Report on Commerce of Jerusalem during the Year 1863,” Foreign Office Records, FO 195/808, British National Archives. See also Dore Gold, The Fight for Jerusalem: Radical Islam, the West, and the Future of the Holy City (Washington: Regnery, 2007) p. 290.
  4. Elizabeth Monroe, Britain’s Moment in the Middle East (London: Chatto and Wyman, 1963), p. 38.
  5. Under these treaties, the Arab Gulf states surrendered their external sovereignty to the British government. The first such agreement was signed with the al-Khalifa of Bahrain on December 22, 1880. See Document 141, “Agreement Between Great Britain and the Shaykh of Bahrayn,” J. C. Hurewitz, The Middle East and North Africa in World Politics: A Documentary Record, Volume 1, 1535-1914 (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1975), p. 432.
  6. “Abbas Speech: This Is a Struggle between the National Project and the Emirate of Darkness,” MEMRI, Special Dispatch, June 22, 2007.
  7. Professor Moshe Gil, A History of Palestine: 634-1099 (Cambridge University Press, 1992).
  8. Gil, p. 2.
  9. In 1567-8 there were 14,376 residents in Safed, of which 5,451 were Muslims and 8,925 were Jews. See Harold Rhode, The Administration and Population of the Sancak of Safed in the Sixteenth Century, submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy in the Faculty of Political Science, Columbia University, 1979, p. 171. In the villages of the Galilee, as well as in Jerusalem, there were Jews known as Must’arabim, who lived in these areas prior to the influx of Jews from Spain and Portugal and were understood by rabbinic leaders to be descendants of the Jewish community from the time of the destruction of the Temple. See Minna Rozen, “The Position of the Musta’rabs in the Inter-Community Relationships in Eretz Israel from the End of the 15th Century,” Catherda, (October 1980) Hebrew.
  10. Arie Morgenstern, Hastening Redemption Messianism and the Resettlement of the Land of Israel (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006), p. 51.
Author:Dore Gold
中文
Published: 25-05-2015

以色列的殖民主义神话

非法化犹太国家的政治战争武器

虽然以色列建国发生在英国托管巴勒斯坦之后,而英国也号召建立犹太民族家园,但以色列建国的根源早在英国人到达中东之前就已经存在。在此意义上,英国并不像法国之于阿尔及利亚那样是以色列的母国。实际上,犹太人早在英法瓦解奥斯曼帝国之前就已经开始重新在他们的土地上独立建立家园。

随着时间的流逝,事实变得更加清楚,大英帝国并不是以色列重生的“接生婆”,而是其主要障碍。因为以色列与英国托管之间的关系而说以色列有殖民根源,这种指控是有讽刺意味的,因为大部分阿拉伯国家的建国才是源于欧洲列强的介入和统治。

经常有人用以色列是殖民主义实体的观点来削弱这个犹太国家的合法地位。这一观点在爱德华·萨义德发表于1992年的《巴勒斯坦问题》一书的开头即有体现,该书对阿拉伯—以色列冲突的描述引发广泛争论。这一观点几乎全盘渗透于西方学术界中。几十年来,这种观点在一个又一个国际论坛中被反复提及,用来反对以色列。

比如,1973年,联合国大会谴责了“葡萄牙殖民主义、南非种族主义、犹太复国主义和以色列帝国主义的邪恶联盟”,给了这种观点最初的推动力。两年后,非洲统一组织在国家元首会议上通过了一项决议称:“在被占领巴勒斯坦地区的种族主义政权和津巴布韦和南非的种族主义政权有共同的帝国主义根源。”

这种将以色列和殖民主义政权相联系的观点,为1975年联合国大会通过针对以色列最阴险的决议创造了条件,该决议称犹太复国主义是种族主义的一种形式。这也帮助巩固了此决议背后的亚非联盟,为非法化以色列运动的开始提供了动力。即使到1991年联合国大会最终推翻这项决议时,犹太复国主义和种族主义之间的对比仍然存在,甚至可以说更加刺耳。

2012年,巴勒斯坦民族权力机构新闻部出版了名为《媒体、文化和政治术语》一书,强调巴勒斯坦人在与以色列打交道时应该使用“殖民主义”作为口头武器。该书警告说使用以色列这一政治术语“会把犹太复国主义的本质从种族主义、殖民主义转化为犹太民族的自我定义和独立自主” 1

巴勒斯坦民族权力机构官方文本特别要求其巴勒斯坦读者永不使用“以色列”,而是使用“以色列殖民主义”这一名称。简而言之,近年来对以色列是“殖民主义国家”的指控已经演变为巴勒斯坦人使用的政治武器,用他们希望使用的语言削弱以色列的合法性。

与种族隔离和种族主义的指控不同,“殖民主义”指控无法通过环顾现代以色列——这里的法院、医院和大学都是既为阿拉伯人也为犹太人服务的——而予以简单的反驳。这是一个对于以色列如何形成的历史指控,实际上,它相当于声称以色列是另外一个遥远大国通过在这片领土和当地居民中“嫁接”一个“外来”的犹太民族而建立的前哨阵地。

1966年六日战争之前,法国马克思主义历史学家马克西姆·罗丁森写了一篇文章,名为:《以色列:一个殖民国家》,后于1973年发表成书,文中他把以色列的犹太人与阿尔及利亚的法国移民以及南非白人相提并论2 。但犹太人返回的是他们古老的家园,而欧洲人是为了英法帝国的利益而移居非洲和亚洲,认为他们都是领土上的外来者的论点是否合理?

欧洲殖民主义国家对以色列建国有什么作用?

事实上虽然现代以色列建国发生在英国托管巴勒斯坦之后,而且英国也号召建立犹太民族家园,但是以色列建国的根源早在英国到达中东之前就已存在。在此意义上,英国并不是以色列的母国,不是法国和阿尔及利亚那样的关系。实际上犹太人早在英国和法国瓦解奥斯曼帝国之前就已经在独立重建家园。比如,犹太人到1863年就已经恢复在耶路撒冷占人口大多数。3

几十年后,英国和其他国际联盟国家认为以色列人在巴勒斯坦的权利超出其授权范围,因为这些权利早已被接收。因此在托管文件中,国际联盟对“犹太人与巴勒斯坦之间的历史联系”予以承认。换句话说,它承认了一个“预先存在的权利”,而并没有创造这个权利。这也被称作“重建”犹太人的民族家园。并且这项由国际联盟承认的权利随后也被其继任组织–联合国所保留,联合国宪章第80条承认1945年前存在的所有国家和人民的权利。

历史学家伊丽莎白·门罗曾评论说:与其说是因为英国才使犹太人在后来成为以色列的这片领土上建国,还不如说是英国“为了得到英属巴勒斯坦而站在犹太复国主义的肩膀上。”4 她的意思是说要不是支持犹太民族复兴(当时是一支独立力量,而非殖民者建立的虚构),英国也许不会得到巴勒斯坦托管领土,这些土地可能成为法国殖民地或者国际区的一部分。随着时间的流逝,事实变得越来越清楚,大英帝国并不是以色列重生的“接生婆”,而是其主要障碍。此外,在承认犹太人在巴勒斯坦建立民族家园权利的《贝尔福宣言》发表后几年中,英国逐渐对许多之前承认的犹太人初始权利予以缩减,这也使得犹太人与英国之间的关系日趋紧张。

这种改变首先体现在1922年,当时英国决定把外约旦从已经划分给犹太民族家园的巴勒斯坦地区去除。这一改变一直持续到1939年英国政府发表白皮书,大幅限制移民到巴勒斯坦的犹太人数。最后,英国遭到了英国委任统治的巴勒斯坦地区犹太人的武装反抗,领导武装反抗的军事组织起先是埃策尔和莱希,后来哈加纳也加入进来,这些武装力量也成为日后以色列独立后国防军的基础。

阿拉伯国家体系的殖民根源

因为以色列与英国托管之间的关系而指控以色列有殖民根源,这是很有讽刺意味的,因为大多数阿拉伯国家的建立都与欧洲国家的介入和统治有关。在第一次世界大战之前,并不存在伊拉克、叙利亚、黎巴嫩和约旦这些阿拉伯国家,这些国家当时只是奥斯曼帝国的一些地区,所用的名称也不一样。他们因为欧洲的干预而成为国家,英国人让哈西姆家族掌管其中的两个国家,即伊拉克(直到1958年)和约旦。

同时,沙特阿拉伯和小一些的海湾国家因他们的领导人与英属印度之间签订的条约而得以成立,这些条约的目的是为了防止英国的对手占据波斯湾地区的战略地位,并随后获得该地区的石油资源。通过这些条约,英国承认由当地阿拉伯家族统治科威特、巴林和卡塔尔等国家的合法性。5 1915年英国与沙特王室签订的类似条约为沙特阿拉伯1932年的最终建立奠定了基础。

此外,在以色列独立战争期间,阿拉伯军队直接受益于欧洲的武器和军事训练-甚至人力方面。阿拉伯国家独立之后,英国与他们达成了特殊条约,保证其军队在伊拉克和埃及建立军事基地,同时也为阿拉伯军队提供武器和顾问。阿拉伯军团最初与英国军官在耶路撒冷并肩战斗,同时埃及西奈半岛领空由英国皇家空军保护应对以色列空军。事实上,以色列和英国飞机在1949年曾发生过冲突事件。

研究大英帝国战略最重要的历史学家之一威廉·罗杰·路易斯曾披露了一份极其重要的英国外交部文件,揭示了以色列建国时期与欧洲殖民国家之间的关系。1984年在他名为《大英帝国在中东,1945-1951》一书中,描述了以色列独立战争结束时,在1949年7月21日举行的英国高级官员会议。

当时会议上,英国中东办公室主任约翰·特劳特贝克曾说:“我们当时控制了阿拉伯政府,但控制不了以色列。”然后他表达了这样的担忧:“以色列有可能使阿拉伯国家组成一个中立联盟,并且甚至试图将我们赶出埃及。”外交部原始文件也表达了对英国有可能失去伊拉克空军基地的担忧。1956年,以色列曾简短地与英国和法国共同反对纳赛尔统治的埃及,但这并不能改变这样的事实:对于这些帝国主义国家,以色列当时是障碍而不是前哨。

否认犹太人在巴勒斯坦土地上的历史根源

然而,最近几年,把以色列描绘成殖民主义实体的努力愈演愈烈。很多巴勒斯坦发言人尤为如此,他们重点否认犹太人与这片土地的历史联系,并把他们描绘成这一地区的殖民主义新移民,而相比之下,巴勒斯坦人则是真正的本地居民。

这种努力在2000年7月亚西尔·阿拉法特与美国总统克林顿举行的戴维营峰会上达到顶峰,他否认圣殿曾在耶路撒冷存在过。自此,许多阿拉法特的代表,从萨布·埃雷卡特到马哈茂德·阿巴斯都曾提起同样的话题。2008年11月12日,巴勒斯坦总理萨拉姆·法耶兹在联合国 “宗教和文化对话” 大会上发表讲话时提到伊斯兰教和基督教与耶路撒冷之间的历史性联系,但却对犹太教与圣城之间的关系只字未提。

同样地,阿拉法特常告诉西方观众巴勒斯坦人是这片土地上古老耶布斯人的后代。但在巴勒斯坦社会,人们通常通过宣称自己是相对较晚的后来者来建立自己的地位,这些后来者的祖先是7世纪时跟随第二任哈里发欧麦尔·伊本·哈塔卜征服并殖民化拜占庭帝国统治的巴勒斯坦而来到这里的阿拉伯家族。

然而阿拉法特的继任者马哈茂德·阿巴斯不仅承认基督教在圣城的出现要早于目前巴勒斯坦领导人的祖先的到来。而且,阿巴斯在2007年批评哈马斯攻击基督教机构时宣称:“早在我们的祖先到来之前,巴勒斯坦最早的教堂就已经在这里了(这一地区),但是后来被洗劫焚毁了(作者强调)。”因此,即使是阿巴斯自己都否认巴勒斯坦人是现在以色列土地上古老居民的后裔。6

土著犹太人

即使在罗马人毁掉古老圣殿并解散第二犹太联邦600年之后的阿拉伯征服时期,犹太人数量都占人口相对多数,而且如果加上撒玛利亚人,犹太人口就占了大多数。这体现在摩西·吉尔教授著名的800页的《巴勒斯坦历史:634-1099》7一书中。有一个常见的误解是说在公元70年的反对罗马帝国的大起义之后,尤其是在公元135年巴尔柯赫巴起义之后,犹太人被迫流亡,留下来的人数少得可怜。

吉尔的书清楚地反驳了这种关于犹太历史的误解。他不但引用基督教和其他资料说明有大量犹太人留了下来,而且其研究最后得出结论:“留在巴勒斯坦的犹太人包括从嫩的儿子约书亚时期就居住于此的犹太人的直接后裔,换句话说,这些犹太人的历史达2000多年。”8

因为巴勒斯坦新的伊斯兰教统治者出台的严厉法律,并且开征jizya(对非穆斯林人征收的人头税)以及kharaj(土地税),使得犹太人不能拥有土地所有权,犹太居民才开始慢慢减少。但是按照吉尔的研究,在1099年第一次十字军东征以及之后几十年欧洲占领巴勒斯坦地区之后,大量遗留下来的犹太社区才遭到损毁。

然而,犹太人与他们的故园之间的联系继续存在,他们在随后的几个世纪一直努力想要返回故园。在打败十字军王国后,300名英国和法国的犹太拉比于1211年移居巴勒斯坦。而从西班牙和意大利移民巴勒斯坦的犹太人数剧烈增加,以至于教皇马丁五世(1363-1431)1428年下令禁止船主和船长们运送犹太人到圣地。

随着1492年西班牙驱逐犹太人,在1517年奥斯曼帝国征服巴勒斯坦之后,大量犹太人移民浪潮涌向奥斯曼帝国—具体来讲是巴勒斯坦。16世纪策费特和太巴列还出现了犹太人生活复兴,其标志为1561年奥斯曼土耳其苏丹苏莱曼大帝对堂·约瑟夫·纳西的大封赏,允许犹太人在太巴列及附近村庄居住。对奥斯曼帝国人口普查数据的一项研究表明,16世纪初成千上万的犹太人生活在加利利的村庄,而到1567年,犹太人占策费特地区居民人数的大多数。还有一些家族历史可以追溯到第二圣殿时期。9

19世纪初,新的犹太移民浪潮返回巴勒斯坦,通常出于强烈的救世主信仰而不是殖民主义理论。散居在外的犹太人中有一个共同的信仰,即希伯来历5600年(公元1840年)将是以色列的救赎日。根据一些报告,在1808年到1840年间巴勒斯坦的犹太人数增加了一倍,对此我们不必感到惊奇。

2010年2月在一场能被人一眼看透的宣传闹剧中,一些外国活动分子来到西岸一个叫做比林的村庄说服巴勒斯坦示威者把自己涂成蓝色,这样他们看起来像科幻电影《阿凡达》中的殖民地人民一样,借此在大众传媒面前强化巴以冲突的巴勒斯坦叙事版本,宣扬巴以冲突实质是当地阿拉伯原住居民与新来的犹太人之间的冲突。

然而,查明真相从来也不是那些想要把以色列刷上殖民主义标记的人们的目标。犹太人口在后来成为以色列的这块土地上的恢复是一个历史性的过程,早在英国人到来之前就已经开始。那些传播这种殖民主义叙事版本的人仅仅想要说明犹太人是作为外来力量来到英国委任统治下的巴勒斯坦,目的是为了推动欧洲帝国主义的利益,而不是把他们当做是找回具有深厚久远根源的历史故园的人。10

  1. 伊塔马尔·马库斯和南·雅克·兹尔波迪克:《巴勒斯坦官方术语指南:“抵抗运动”而非“恐怖活动”》,《巴勒斯坦媒体观察》,2012年6月19日。
  2. 玛克辛·劳蒂森:《以色列:一个殖民者国家?》(纽约:探路者,1973)。拉西德·哈立迪:《以色列的殖民主义基础》,巴勒斯坦研究杂志,第3卷,1974年夏季第4期。
  3. 1865年英国领事报告,《1863年耶路撒冷商业报告》,外交部报告,FO 195/808,英国国家档案馆。道尔·古尔德:《耶路撒冷之战:激进伊斯兰,西方和圣城的未来》(华盛顿,莱格尼里出版公司,2007),第290页。
  4. 伊丽莎白·门罗,《英国在中东》(伦敦:查托和威曼出版公司,1963年),第38页。
  5. 根据这些条约,阿拉伯海湾国家将他们的外部主权交给英国政府。第一个此类条约是在1880年12月22日与巴林的阿勒哈利法签订的。参见141号文件,《大英帝国-巴林谢赫协定》,J.C. Hurewitz:《世界政治中的中东和北非记录》,第一卷,1535-1914,(纽黑文:耶鲁大学出版社,1975),第432页。
  6. 阿巴斯讲话稿:《这是国家项目和黑暗酋长国之间的斗争》,MEMRI,专电,2007年6月22日。
  7. 摩西·吉尔教授:《巴勒斯坦历史:634-1099》(剑桥大学出版社,1992)。
  8. 吉尔,第二页。
  9. 1567-1568年,14,376名策费特居民,其中有5,454名穆斯林和8,925名犹太人。请参考哈罗德·罗德《16世纪策费特桑贾克地区的行政和人口》,按照政法学院哲学博士学位要求部分履行,哥伦比亚大学,1979年,第171页。在加利利村以及耶路撒冷,居住有被称作Must’arabim的犹太人(说阿拉伯语的犹太人),他们在西班牙和葡萄牙犹太人大移民之前就一直居住在这些地区,拉比领袖认为他们是圣殿被毁之时犹太人的后裔。参考明娜·罗森:《15世纪末以色列国土中跨社区关系中Musta’rabs犹太人的地位》,Cathedra(1980年10月),希伯来语。
  10. 阿里·莫根施特恩:《加速弥赛亚救赎和以色列的土地安置》(剑桥,剑桥大学出版社,,2006年),第51页。
作者:多尔·古尔德
翻译:关媛
English
Published: 15-06-2015