The Mernephtah Stele

The Merneptah Stele is a victory inscription dedicated to a successful military campaign by Merneptah I (ruled 1213-1203 BCE), an Egyptian Pharaoh and son of Ramses II (ruled 1279 BCE – 1213 BCE; Ramses is the Pharaoh most commonly identified with the Exodus story in the Torah). The stele was discovered by the famed British Egyptologist Petrie in 1896.

steleThe stele describes the military victories of Merneptah in Lybia and in the land of Israel, then known as Canaan. Alongside a number of rebelling city states, the stele mentions a victory over an ethnic group or people known as “Israel”, who according to the stele was “laid waste, he has no seed.” This statement is of course an exaggeration, typical of the statements of ancient kings who turned partial victories and even stalemates into complete successes.

The Merneptah stele is the first extra-Biblical written record of the existence of an ethnic group known as “Israel”, and as such is of great importance for the study of the historical roots of the Jewish people during a critical period of their national formation. It can be seen today in the Cairo Museum in Egypt.

For a recent attempt at a scholarly reconstruction of the events described in the Merneptah stele, see the following article by Prof. Israel Knohl of Hebrew University:

http://www.azure.org.il/article.php?id=543

中文
Published: 25-09-2011

麦伦普塔赫石

麦伦塔赫石碑是用来记载法老麦伦普塔赫一世(统治时间是公元前1213-1203),他是埃及法老拉美西斯二世的儿子(统治时间公元前1279-1213)的军事活动的胜利情况。拉美西斯是《塔拉》里面的《出埃及记》经常被提及的埃及法老。

stele石碑记录在了法老麦普塔赫在利比亚和以色列地取得的军事胜利,后来这块地方被称为迦南。除了许多叛乱的城市,石碑还提到了一个叫做“以色列”的民族团体所取得的胜利,按石碑中记载“土地荒芜,颗粒全无”。当然石碑上的记载有些夸张,当时古代的帝王经常将部分胜利描绘成大获全胜。

麦伦普塔赫石碑.是最早记录“以色列”这个民族的典外书面文献记录,对于研究犹太民族在其建国关键时期的历史根源来说是至关重要的。如今可以在埃及开罗博物馆看到这块石碑。

关于最近麦伦普塔赫石碑上记载的学术重建活动,请参考希伯来大学以色列˙诺尔教授(Israel Knohl)的文章

http://www.azure.org.il/article.php?id=543

English
Published: 25-09-2011