The Israeli Space Agency

Israel is one of a handful of countries in the world to have its own successful space program. The Israeli Space Agency which heads the Israeli space program cooperates with other space programs, including NASA, the French space agency. With both military and commercial purposes, the Israeli space program specializes in making micro-satellites that use a relatively small payload (around 250 Kg) for high-level communications and imaging purposes.

Origins

The launching of the OFEK-7 Satellite.

The launching of the OFEK-7 Satellite.

The Israeli space program began in mid-1980s as a security program meant to provide Israel with its own intelligence satellite capability. The entire OFEK satellite series was meant for specifically this purpose – to provide Israel with satellite imagery and information.

In the mid-90s, the Israeli government and the space companies in its ownership began to branch out the space program to include civilian satellites for geological imagery and mapping out of territories. These include:

The VENUS project – Done in cooperation with France, the VENUS project’s goal is the development and launching of 260kg micro-satellites capable of multi-focus imaging of Earth. These satellites are typical of Israeli projects, which combine complex and high-level systems while reducing the weight and expense of the satellite payload fourfold.

EROS satellites – Commercial imaging satellites for multi-purpose monitoring of the Earth. EROS A was launched in 2000 and EROS B in 2006. Both satellites are owned by ImageSat International N.V.

AMOS satellites – Commercial communications satellites meant for TV, internet and general data transmission. So far, three AMOS satellites have been launched, giving increasingly better coverage for clients in the Middle East, Europe and the Eastern United States. Two additional AMOS satellites are being prepared for launch, AMOS 4 – to link between East Asia and the Middle East, and AMOS 5 which will cover Africa.

The Israeli space program is a combined effort of military and commercial companies, including the Israeli Defense force. The main companies involved in the design of satellites and their components are the Military industrial companies of the Israeli Aircraft Industries and Rafael, and their subsidiaries. Commercial companies such as ImageSat International N.V. are responsible for the surveillance and provision of services from commercial satellites.

In addition to these companies, Tel Aviv University and the Technion Technological Institute both have advanced programs for the study of space and design of satellite technology. Students and professors in both institutions have contributed to the success of the Israeli space program.

中文
Published: 28-08-2011

以色列太空署

以色列是世界上少数几个成功发射卫星的国家之一。负责以色列太空计划的是以色列太空署,他们也与其机构合作,如美国国家航空航天局,法国太空署。以色列太空计划既有军事目的,也有商用目的,主要是通过相对较小的荷载(约250公斤)实现高级通讯和成像目的。

起源

The launching of the OFEK-7 Satellite.

The launching of the OFEK-7 Satellite.

以色列太空计划始于20世纪80年代,当时是一个秘密项目,主要是为以色列提供情报。尤其是奥菲克系列卫星更是以此为目标-为以色列提供影像和信息。

90年代,以色列政府及其下属的航天企业从事的太空计划开始出现分支,开始发射民用卫星用来收集地理图像以及进行国土测绘制图。这些卫星包括

维纳斯计划-维纳斯计划与法国合作开展,目标是开发和发射重量为260公斤的微型卫星,能够多角度地对地球成像。这些卫星具有典型的以色列特色,它们将复杂和高级系统结合起来的同时,将重量和卫星的有效荷载减少至原来的 四倍。
地球资源观测卫星(EROS)—地球资源观测卫星是商业成像卫星,根据不同目的多方面监测地球。EROS-A于2000年发射,EROS-B在2006年发射,两颗卫星都属于ImageSat International N.V(图像卫星国际有限公司)
阿莫斯卫星(AMOS)—阿莫斯卫星是为电视、网络和一般数据传送服务的商业通讯卫星,到目前为止已经发射3颗阿莫斯卫星,为中东、欧洲和美国东部地区的用户提供更好的信号覆盖。另外两颗阿莫斯卫星正在等候发射,其中阿莫斯4号会连接东亚和中东的信号,阿莫斯5号的信号将覆盖非洲。

以色列卫星制造和研发相关机构

以色列太空计划是由包括以色列国防军在内的军工企业和商业公司共同努力,负责卫星及其零部件设计的公司主要有一些军工企业如以色列飞机工业公司、拉斐尔公司及其下属企业。商业公司如ImageSat International N.V.则负责通过商业卫星进行监测并提供服务

除了这些公司外,特拉维夫大学和以色列理工大学也都为空间卫星技术和卫星设计技术提供了先进方案。两所院校的学生和教授都为以色列太空计划的成功做出了贡献。

Published: 28-08-2011