The Balfour Declaration

On November 2, 1917, the Foreign Minister of the British Government, Lord Arthur Balfour, sent the following letter to Lord Rothschild, a major British Jewish leader:

Foreign Office,
November 2nd, 1917.

Dear Lord Rothschild,
I have much pleasure in conveying to you, on behalf of His Majesty’s Government, the following declaration of sympathy with Jewish Zionist aspirations which has been submitted to, and approved by, the Cabinet:

“His Majesty’s Government view with favour the establishment in Palestine of a national home for the Jewish people, and will use their best endeavours to facilitate the achievement of this object, it being clearly understood that nothing shall be done which may prejudice the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine, or the rights and political status enjoyed by Jews in any other country”.

I should be grateful if you would bring this declaration to the knowledge of the Zionist Federation.

Yours sincerely
Arthur James Balfour

The Balfour Declaration was the first open, official declaration of Great Power support for the Zionist cause since the founding of the movement in 1897. While the Declaration was vague in its wording with phrases like ‘views with favour’ and ‘facilitate’, Zionists and Zionist sympathizers around the world cheered at the news of the Declaration. Many compared it to the Declaration of Persian King Cyrus, allowing the Jews in Babylonian exile to return to their homeland, thousands of years before. As Britain became the master of the country shortly afterward, the likelihood of the Zionist dream becoming a reality became stronger by the day. It was truly a cause for celebration for supporters of Zionism.

Why Did the British Do It?

“If there had been no Zionists, the British would have had to invent them” – Mayer Vereté

Like most major political decisions, the motives for the Balfour Declaration were complex. Any attempt to isolate any one reason for it does not do justice to the myriad interests and personae involved in supporting, drafting and passing the decision by cabinet vote. Appealing as a simple answer is, it would still be wrong.

One thing scholars know for sure, though – the Balfour Declaration was almost entirely a British Government initiative. It was they, not the Zionists, who proposed it, endorsed it and made the big push to allow it. While Zionists did go along with the initiative and were involved in the negotiations, it was the British who drove the bus.

The main reason the Zionists avoided the issue of public political support at the time was simple: World War One was raging. It was unclear for many years who would win, and there were substantial Jewish communities on both sides of the trenches. Besides, the ruler of the land of Israel at the time, the Ottoman Empire, was an enemy of Britain. To advocate or try to gain open support from any one side would endanger the communities on the other and cause disaffection with Zionism among those communities.

All of which brings us back to the British. There were two primary motives for the Balfour Declaration: religious/moral and coldly political. The main endorsers of the Declaration – Prime Minister David Lloyd George and Foreign Minister Arthur Balfour were both deeply religious and fond of the Jews. They believed that the world, and especially Europe, had done the Jews a great disservice by denying them the right to their country and oppressing them for so long. The Declaration allowing Jews to build a National Home in their old country was seen by them as an act of restorative justice.

The political motivation for the declaration stemmed from two focal points – one of which had to do directly with the Jews. The first focal point was the desire to seize the land of Israel to serve as a strategic ‘buffer zone’ protecting the Suez Canal, which was the British Empire’s lifeline to India and her East Asian empire. Taking the land of Israel ostensibly for the sake of the Jewish people helped mask the cold strategic motive.

The second focal point was propaganda. Britain was desperate to get America in the war and keep Russia in it. British politicians believed that the Jews had a great deal more influence on both countries than they in reality, so they believed the Balfour Declaration would spur both Jewish communities to support the Allies.

The Mandate

The Balfour Declaration was authorized by the League of Nations, the precursor to the UN, in the San Remo Conference of 1920 and the Sevres agreement of 1923. This granted the Balfour Declaration the status of a binding international legal contract, and helped ensure the growth of the Jewish community in the land of Israel (called the British Mandate for Palestine) from a small community of under 60,000 in 1917 to a robust National Home of over 600,000 in 1947.

中文
Published: 25-08-2011

《贝尔福宣言》

1917年11月2日,英国外交大臣亚瑟·贝尔福勋爵(Lord Arthur Balfour)致信英国重要的犹太领导人罗斯柴尔德勋爵(Lord Rothschild),内容如下:

外交部

1917年11月2日

亲爱的罗斯柴尔德勋爵:

我非常荣幸能代表英王陛下政府向您传达,下面有关同情犹太复国主义者的宣言已经呈交内阁,并已获得内阁的支持。

“英王陛下政府赞同在巴勒斯坦为犹太人建立一个民族家园,并将尽力帮助实现这一目标。但必须清楚,这一目标的实施不可以损害巴勒斯坦非犹太人的公民权和宗教权,也不可以损害其他国家的犹太人所享有的各项权利和政治地位。”

若您能把此宣言的内容转达给犹太复国主义者联盟,我将不甚感激。

亚瑟·J·贝尔福谨启

自1897年犹太复国运动兴起以来,这是首次一个强权国家宣布支持犹太复国主义者的事业。尽管《贝尔福宣言》的内容含糊,但也足以使复国主义者及其支持者们倍感兴奋。许多人甚至把它比作几千年前波斯国王塞乌斯制定的法令(Edict of Persian King Cyrus);根据赛乌斯的法令,那些流亡巴比伦的犹太人可以重返故园。在随后的岁月里,英国统治这个国家,增强了复国主义者之梦想的可能性。对于犹太复国运动的支持者来说,这是一项真正的解放事业。

英国缘何提出《贝尔福宣言》?

维瑞特市长(Mayer Vereté)说,“如果没有复国主义者,英国也会制造复国主义者。”

与绝大多数重要的政治决策一样,《贝尔福宣言》产生的动机十分复杂。尽管如此,学者们也非常清楚,《贝尔福宣言》几乎完全是英国政府一手炮制;也就是说,提出并签署《贝尔福宣言》的是英国政府,而不是复国主义者。

当时,复国主义者回避公开的政治支持,其主要原因在于一次世界大战。多年来,交战双方难分胜负,而交战双方都存在犹太人共同体。再则,当时统治以色列地区的是奥斯曼帝国,也是英国的敌人。如果主张或试图获得一方的公开支持,都有可能危害另一方犹太人共同体的利益,引起那些共同体对复国主义运动的不满。

英国提出《贝尔福宣言》主要有两个意图,其一是出于宗教或道德方面的考虑;其二是为了实现其冷酷的政治目的。英国首相乔治(David Lloyd George)和外长贝尔福都是这一宣言的主要支持者,他们怀有浓厚的宗教情结,对犹太人也极有好感。他们相信,这个世界、尤其是欧洲长期压迫犹太人,剥夺犹太人的民族权,给犹太人造成了巨大的痛苦和伤害;因此他们认为,允许犹太人建立一个民族国家,也就是在帮助他们重获正义。

《贝尔福宣言》的政治动机源于两点。首先,英国企图控制以色列地区,把它作为保护苏伊士运河的一个战略“缓冲带”。苏伊士运河是英帝国进出印度和东亚帝国(the East Asia empire)的生命线。英国争取以色列地区明为犹太民族,实为掩饰一个冷漠的战略意图。

其次,《贝尔福宣言》的提出意在争取外国的支持。英国迫切希望美国参战,迫切希望美国能够支持苏联继续作战。英国的政客们深信犹太人对美苏两国的巨大影响,坚信《贝尔福宣言》必将刺激美苏两国的犹太共同体支持协约国。

委任托管权

通过1920年的圣雷蒙会议(the San Remo Conference)和1923年的赛夫勒协定(the Sevres agreement),国际联盟(联合国的前身)批准实施《贝尔福宣言》,使之成为具有国际约束力的合法契约,从而确保了以色列地区(英属巴勒斯坦托管地)犹太共同体的发展:该地区1917年的犹太人口不过六万,1947年壮大到六十万多万

English
Published: 25-08-2011