Naomi Shemer

Naomi Shemer (1930-2004) was known as the “national songwriter” for the period following the establishment of the State of Israel in 1948. An incredibly prolific poet, (she wrote, adapted and translated hundreds of songs) her appeal went beyond the small circle of song lovers and touched the broader Israeli public – children and adults, religious and secular alike. Her deep, emotional style continues to reverberate to this day.

naomishemerBorn in 1930 on the kibbutz Kvutzat Kinneret, Shemer demonstrated musical talent at an early age. Later she attended the Tel Aviv Musical Academy. When she returned to the Kibbutz, she began writing songs for her old community, and this sparked her passion for poetry.

Shemer soon joined the newly established IDF, where she was placed in the Nachal brigade, which had a cultural section. While there, Shemer wrote prolifically, with topics discussing everything from personal to the familial to the national. Shemer continued to produce highly popular songs after she left the army, culminating in the wildly popular “Jerusalem of Gold”. Although her popularity declined in the late 1980s because of her one-sided political affiliation, her death in 2004 marked the end of an era.

A Songwriter of Life

It is difficult to classify Naomi Shemer as a songwriter, since she wrote in many different styles for a vast audience. She wrote songs about private life and songs about public media, songs for children and songs for adults. Some songs were happy and light, some were mournful. Yet all touched the hearts of thousands, who understood the songs personal level.

Perhaps most interesting was how even Shemer’s personal songs had a national tinge, as though her personal struggle mirrored the national one. An example of this is her song “It is sad to die in the middle of Tamuz”, meaning in the summer months. Shemer wrote this song at a time when she had to undergo a very dangerous operation and she faced her own mortality. Many saw the song as a song of lamentation for the destruction of the city of Jerusalem which occurred during the summer months.

In her songs, Shemer made copious use of traditional Jewish sources from the Bible and the Talmud to recent times. One of the most popular examples of this is the calm, pastoral tune that Shemer gave to a passage written by Rabbi Nachman of Breslav, a highly Jewish spiritual teacher from the 18th century called “the song of the grass”.

An Unofficial National Anthem

Naomi Shemer’s most famous work is her song on the city of Jerusalem called simply “Jerusalem of Gold”. The song was commissioned by then-mayor of Jerusalem, Teddy Kollek. Shemer’s song praised the city, but bemoaned the fact that the most ancient parts of the city was in the control of the country of Jordan. Because of this, Jews were legally barred from visiting their most holy sites.

As one verse goes:

Alas, the dry wells and fountains,

Forgotten market-day

The sound of horn from Temple’s mountain

No longer calls to pray,

The rocky caves at night are haunted

By sounds of long ago

When we were going to the Jordan

By way of Jericho.

Three weeks later, in June 1967, the Six-Day War broke out between the state of Israel and the combined forces of the Arab states, including Jordan. The War was an overwhelming Israeli victory, and Israeli forces took control of the rest of Jerusalem along with its ancient sites. In celebration of this, Shemer added a new passage, which was aired on the radio as the rest of Jerusalem was being taken:

Back to the wells and to the fountains

Within the ancient walls

The sound of horn from Temple’s mountain

Again so loudly calls,

From rocky caves, this very morning

A thousand suns will glow

And we shall go down to the Jordan

By way of Jericho.

The song was an overnight hit after the Six-Day war, and it aired again and again on the radio, sung by Israel’s most popular singers. “Jerusalem of Gold” became so popular that it is considered Israel’s “unofficial national Anthem” alongside the official national anthem Hatikva.

中文
Published: 30-08-2011

娜奥密•谢莫尔

1948年以色列建国以来,娜奥密·谢莫尔(1930-2004)被誉为“国家级词曲作家”。她是一个多产的诗人,(她创作、改编和翻译了几百首歌曲),她的魅力超越了词曲爱好者的小圈子,还触及更广泛的以色列大众-男女老少,信徒或普通人都喜欢她的作品。她那种意境深远、充满激情的风格直到今天一直经久不衰。

naomishemer谢莫尔1930年出生在以色列北部的Kvutzat Kinneret,基布兹集体农庄,很小的时候就显示了她的音乐天分。后来她考上了特拉维夫音乐学院。回到基布兹农庄后,她开始为自己所在地古老社区写歌,这也激发了她对写诗的热情。

不久,谢莫尔加入了新成立的以色列国防军,她被派往纳罕(Nachal)步兵旅,因为这个旅有一个文艺部门。在此期间,谢莫尔创作了很多诗歌,什么样的主题都有,小到个人情感的抒发,对家人的思恋,大到对国家的热爱。谢莫尔退役后继续创作歌曲,这些歌曲依然大受欢迎,最流行的要数《金城耶路撒冷》。80年代由于她比较片面的政治派别,她受欢迎的程度有所下降。2004年谢莫尔逝世,她的离开标志着一个时代的终结。

人生的词作

因为谢莫尔写的东西风格各异,听众广泛,很难说谢莫尔到底属于那种类型的词曲作。她写过有关个人生活方面的歌曲,也写过与大众媒介有关的东西,她为儿童写歌,也为成人创作。有些歌曲轻盈欢快,有些歌曲深沉忧伤。但她所有的歌曲都触动了成千上万颗心。

也许最有意思的事情是,谢莫尔那些抒发个人情感的歌曲却经常带有国家的色彩,仿佛她自己的奋斗正好映照了国家的奋斗历史。例如,她在一首歌词中写道“死在塔摩斯月中旬令人悲伤”,当时正是夏季时分,谢莫尔不得不接受一次非常危险的手术,她自己面临着死亡的威胁。很多人将这首歌当作纪念也是在夏季被毁的耶路撒冷。

在谢莫尔的歌曲中,她经常援引圣经和塔木德里面与犹太传统有关的东西。例如,谢莫尔将18世纪犹太人最受欢迎的精神导师,哈希迪教派的纳什曼拉比写的一段话谱上曲子,变成一首宁静祥和的田园牧歌,也成为她最受欢迎的歌曲之一。

English
Published: 30-08-2011