Israel’s Northern City Of Tzfat

The Israeli city of Tzfat (Safed in English), located in the northern part of Israel, holds a special place in Jewish history. Tzfat’s unique importance for the Jewish people grew out of a brief period lasting less than a century long. During this time, the city enjoyed a veritable explosion of religious energy and creativity, leaving an indelible mark on Judaism throughout the world.

From Ancient History to the 16th century

Tzfat existed as a small townlet from 930 BCE-586 BCE, also known in history as the First and Second Temple Periods. Tzfat was also a town of Jewish priests during the time of the “Mishnah” and “Talmud” from 70-200 CE. Tzfat, however, did not achieve a level of pre-eminence until the Crusaders conquered the land of Israel in the 11th-12th centuries CE. The Crusaders established castles and fortresses throughout the country, both to protect against military attack, and to establish internal security and encourage trade and agriculture in important areas. One of the places where the Crusaders decided to establish a fortress was Tzfat. This city provided the Crusaders with an important position of control over the Huleh and Kinneret regions of northern Israel.

The establishment of the Crusader’s fortress near the town of Tzfat helped Tzfat’s sizable Jewish community flourish. The presence of a prominent Jewish community within the city during the 12th-15th centuries CE led to the establishment of a large institute for Jewish learning, known in Hebrew as a “yeshiva”.

The Golden Era of Tzfat

Tzfat reached its true peek in Jewish history in the 16th century. This achievement was due to a combination of factors, the first of which being The arrival of Jews who had recently been expelled from Spain and Portugal made an important contribution to the culture and learning that took place in Tzfat. These Jews arrived with a wealth of knowledge and resources that helped the city reach a true Golden. Another main factor that contributed to the city’s successes was the Ottoman conquest of the land of Israel in 1517. As a result, 16th century Tzfat experienced critical developments in the field of Jewish religious law, as well as the establishment of one of the most important schools for Jewish mysticism or in Hebrew, “Kabbalah”.

However it is important to note that Tzfat flourished primarily due to trade – specifically between the city of Damascus, located in Syria, but also between Tzfat and other nearby countries. The most important and influential trading material was wool. To their good fortune, Spanish Jews brought with them wool-making skills which greatly helpled improve the city’s economic welfare, especially within Tzfat’s Jewish community. Many of the great sages who resided in Tzfat at the time made their living from trade and manufacture. Additionally, the first printing press in the Middle East was brought to Tzfat.

Influential Jewish Figures in Tzfat in the 16th century

Rabbi Joseph Karo (1488-1575) – known in Hebrew as both “Maran”, meaning our teacher, and “Hamechaber” meaning the author. Rav Karo wrote a definitive commentary called the “Beit Yosef”, or House of Joseph, on a previous code of religious law entitled the “Arba Turim”, or four columns which was originally written by Rav Yaakov son of Rav Asher. Eventually, R. Karo condensed his commentary into a definitive code of religious law called the “Shulchan Aruch”, or set table. This code was widely and swiftly accepted throughout the Spanish Jewish communities.

Unlike in the Spanish Jewish communities and among religious authorities, the “Shulchan Aruch” was not originally accepted by the Jews of Northern and Eastern Europe. It was only after Rabbi Moses Isserlis of Poland (1520-1572) added a commentary to the “Shulchan Aruch” that incorporated the views of Northern and Eastern European Jewish religious authorities, did the “Shulchan Aruch” gain authoritative acceptability of all Jews.

Rabbi Isaac Luria (1534-1572) – also known as “Ha’Ari Hakadosh”, or the Holy Ari (Ari being an abbreviation of Rav Luria’s name and titles). The Ari’s primary contribution was the development of a unique and highly influential Jewish mystical doctrine and the creation of the most influential schools of “Kabbalah” in the Jewish world.

According to the Ari, and in contrast with previous Jewish mystics, the world was not solely created as a direct outcome of God’s infinite light, but rather as a combined effort of creation and God’s withdrawal from the world (known as “tzimtzum” or minimizing). This withdrawal of God’s light was done in order to allow the world space to develop and exist. However, God’s withdrawal also left damaged elements (“broken vessels”) in its wake, which are responsible for the evil and chaos within the world. The philosophy propounds that it is incumbent upon human beings to help repair these broken vessels through self-perfection, good deeds, and mystical introspection.

Rabbi Shlomo Alkabetz (1505-1584) – was a “Kabbalist” (Jewish mystic) and a renowned Jewish poet. Alkabet’s poem, “Come My Beloved”, was written to honor the holy day of rest which occurs every Friday sundown to Saturday sundown, known to the Jewish people as “Shabbat”. Alkabet’s poem welcomes in the “Shabbat” as a metaphorical bride. This poem has now been universally adopted by Jewish communities, and it is sung to a variety of tunes on Friday nights in synagogues today throughout the world.

Rabbi Israel Najara (1555-1628) – is another highly influential Jewish poet. Rav Najara’s Jewish poetry includes a unique combination of holiness, mysticism and secular life which allowed his songs to penetrate Jewish communities all over the world. Another important element in Rav Najara’s work was his fusion of Jewish folk tunes with religious poetry. This provided less educated Jews the opportunity to encounter higher level of religious rhetoric and thought in an accessible way.

From the 17th century until today

Towards the end of the 16th century The Golden Age of Tzfat came to a swift conclusion. Although the Jewish community has continued to experience ups and downs, it never again achieved the level of greatness and religious creativity that it saw in the 16th century. Today, Tzfat is a city that lives off of its past, as it remains a mystical place, still imbued with the energies that pervaded it during its time of glory.

中文
Published: 25-09-2011

以色列北部城市查法特

以色列查法特市(英文写作Safed)位于以色列北部地区,在犹太人的历史上占有特殊的地位。对于犹太人来说,查法特曾经持续发展约一个世纪之久,独一无二,意义重大。在此期间,查法特这座城市在宗教能量和创造性方面达到顶峰,在世界各地的犹太教留下了不可磨灭的烙印。

从远古到16世纪

公元前930年-公元前586年,也就是第一圣殿和第二圣殿时期,查法特市只是一座小镇。公元70年-公元200年,在《密西拿》和《塔木德》记载的时期,查法特是犹太祭司聚集的城镇,当时,直到公元11-12世纪十字军东征征服了以色列地之后,这里才开始全面繁荣起来。十字军到处修建城堡和战略要塞,一方面起到军事防御的作用,另一方面也起到稳定内部,并在重要的地区鼓励贸易和农业的发展的作用。十字军决定修建要塞的地点之一就有查法特。这里是十字军的一个战略要地,能够很好地控制以色列北部的呼勒地区(Huleh)和基内雷特地区(Kinneret)。

十字军在查法特附近建立了要塞,犹太社区一下子遍地开花,迅猛发展。12-15世纪,查法特市里出现了一个非常有名的犹太社区,后来建立了最大的犹太人神学院,在希伯来语里称为“yeshiva“。

查法特的黄金时代

16世纪,查法特在犹太人历史上真正达到了顶峰。这样的成就是各种因素结合而成的。首先是当时那些被西班牙和葡萄牙驱逐的犹太人来到这里,对查法特的文化和教育做出了重大的贡献。这些犹太人知识渊博,资源丰富,他们让查法特这种城市进入真正的黄金时代。另一个主要因素是1517年奥斯曼帝国征服了以色列地,因此,16世纪的查法特在犹太人宗教律法方面取得关键性的发展,犹太神秘学最重要的流派卡巴拉,也就是希伯来语中所指的“Kabbalah“ 也是在此期间创立的。

不过,查法特一开始是因为贸易而繁荣的-尤其是与叙利亚的大马士革之间的贸易,以及查法特与其它邻国之间的贸易。最重要,最有影响力的交易物就是羊毛。来自西班牙的犹太人带来了他们先进的羊毛纺织技术,极大地提升了这个城市的经济利益,尤其是在查法特犹太人社区里的经济利益。当时很多住在查法特的圣人都是靠贸易和制造业为生。此外,中东地区第一台印刷机也被带到了查法特。

16世纪查法特最具影响力的犹太人

约瑟夫·卡罗拉比(1488-1575)-在希伯来语他被叫做叫“Maran”,意思是老师,他也被称为 “hamechaber”,也就是作家。卡罗拉比写过一篇非常受欢迎的传记叫做《Beit Yosef》或《约瑟夫学院》,内容是关于以前那些名为《Arba Turim》或《四大专栏》的宗教律法,这些律法最早是由阿什拉比(Rav Asher)的儿子雅各布拉比(Rav Yaakov)所著。后来,卡罗拉比将其评注总结汇编成一本极受欢迎的宗教律法书《Shulchan Aruch》,也叫做《成文法典》。这些律法书很快便得到整个西班牙裔犹太社区的认可。

与西班牙裔犹太社区和其它宗教权威不同的是,北欧和东欧的犹太人一开始并不接受《Shulchan Aruch》。直到来自波兰的摩斯·以色里斯拉比(Moses Isserlis) 为《Shulchan Aruch》增加了一些批注,纳入了北欧和东欧犹太宗教权威的观点之后,《Shulchan Aruch》的权威性才真正获得了所有犹太人的认可。

伊萨·卢利亚拉比(1534-1572)-他也被称为“Ha’Ari Hakadosh”或者是圣人阿里(阿里是卢利亚拉比姓名和职务的缩写)。他最重要的贡献是制订了一套独一无二,极具影响力的犹太神秘学教义,并创建了犹太人世界最有影响力的卡巴拉神秘学。

根据卢比亚拉比的理论,与之前的犹太神秘学相反,他认为,世界并不是上帝无限光芒直接创建的结果,而是创造和上帝退出这个世界共同努力的结果 (称为tzimtzum或尽量减少)。上帝收回光是为了给世界留下存在和发展的空间。但是,上帝的退出也留下了毁灭性的因素“破碎的器皿”,是它们创造力世界的邪恶和混乱。这种理念认为,人类有责任通过自省、善行和神秘的内省来修复那些碎片。

(1505-1584),是一名卡巴拉大师(犹太神秘学流派),也是著名的犹太私人。他写过著名的诗歌《来吧我的爱人》,歌颂每周星期五日落到星期六日落之间的圣休息日,犹太人称为“安息日”。这首诗深受犹太人的喜爱,现在,世界各地每个星期五的夜晚,这首诗歌会以各种曲调到处传唱。

以色列·纳胡拉拉比(1555-1628)-另一位极具影响力的犹太诗人。纳胡拉拉比写的犹太诗歌独一无二,集圣洁、神秘学、世俗生活于一体,所以他的诗歌在全世界各地的犹太人社区广为传唱。纳胡拉拉比的另一成就就是将犹太民间曲调和宗教诗词融合在一起。这样一来,那些没有接受过太多教育的犹太人就有机会通过一种简单的方式接触到高层次的宗教修辞和思想。

从17世纪直到今天

16世纪末开始,查法特的黄金时代迅速凋零走到尽头。虽然犹太社区继续历经坎坷,起起落落,但这座城市的宗教创造力再也没有恢复到16世纪时的鼎盛状态。直至今日,查法特只是一座历久不衰的城市,仍旧是一个神秘的地方,依然充满着那种弥漫在其光辉岁月里的力量。

English
Published: 25-09-2011