Israel’s Fight Against Desertification

[The following is an excerpt from a UN report on Israel’s efforts to combat desertification]

Overview

Some 95% of Israel is dry sub-humid, semi-arid, arid or hyper-arid, with 60% of the country’s land area is covered by the Negev Desert. Thus Israelis almost entirely comprised of drylands accompanied by the ever-present threats of soil degradation and desertification.

Israel has taken a number of countermeasures during the past several years that strengthen its efforts to address the desertification processes. Most of these activities were part of planning, environmental, and development strategies or policies for the sustainable use of natural resources. The majority were not specifically directed towards implementing a comprehensive national strategy to combat desertification. Nonetheless, they frequently make a significant contribution to Israel’s ongoing efforts to reduce erosion, increase the productivity of lands in the semi-arid drylands, ensure agricultural yields in general, and promote afforestation efforts throughout the country.

The following are some of the major programs which have been implemented in each of the country’s dryland types:

Arid and hyper-arid drylands: flood control, water harvesting, effluent treatment and reuse of treated wastewater for crop irrigation and landscaping; management of natural vegetation and applied agricultural crops including techniques such as drought and saline resistant crops and greenhouse agriculture.

ƒ Semi-arid drylands: control of free-ranging livestock herds and afforestation to prevent soil erosion, restoration of aquifer recharge, and development of fish farming with saline groundwater as well as establishment of orchards irrigated by treated wastewater transported from densely populated parts of the country.

Dry sub-humid drylands: remediation of salinized agricultural lands and management of water resources to prevent pollution and promote conservation.

Dryland productively has largely been achieved through substantial investment in scientific research – in soil, climate, agriculture, forestry and ecological sciences. To a great extent, Israeli’s program for combating desertification is based on sustainable agricultural development through centralized national water management that includes: transportation of water from regions of relative water abundance to regions of water shortage; storage during years of abundance for use in years of drought; reuse of treated wastewater for agriculture, cultivation of crops adapted to different water qualities and to the specific local climate and soil conditions. Afforestation of semi-arid lands is another central element in the national strategy. These have been supplemented by water conservation measures based on the implementation of subsurface drip irrigation and fertigation technologies as well as technologies to reduce water loss by evaporation to prevent salt accumulation on the surface and in the root zone of crops.

In light of the fact that less than 50% of the rainwater in the Negev permeates into the underground water table and most flows down gullies into the sea, new methods have been developed for flood prevention as well as water harvesting and conservation. Dams and reservoirs have been constructed to capture runoff water, arrest the velocity and quantities of floodwater, replenish underground aquifers and create tourism and recreation sites.

To overcome the effect of minimal rainfall and extreme temperature variation in the desert, a wide variety of innovative agro-technology systems have been developed. Runoff and rainfall catchment basins have enabled the development of agroforestry in areas with insufficient rainfall. By reducing the evaporation, new subsurface drip irrigation technologies improve the efficiencies and productivity of conventional drip irrigation. Savannization techniques utilize runoff harvest, contour furrows and afforestation to increase productivity and reverse desertification.

Recycled wastewater, which is unusable for irrigating agricultural crops, is utilized to irrigate groves and parks in semi-arid areas, while brackish water is used for salt-tolerant crops and trees in recreation areas. Additional research efforts have led to the identification of crops and technologies that allow agricultural production with water containing up to 4000 ppm salts, thus opening up new horizons for saline water-based agriculture in the desert.

For more detailed information, click on the link below:

http://www.un.org/esa/agenda21/natlinfo/countr/israel/desertification.pdf

中文
Published: 12-12-2011

以色列与沙漠化的斗争

【下文节选自联合国关于以色列努力治理沙化的报告】

综述

以色列大约95%的土地属于亚湿润干旱,半干旱,干旱或超干旱地区,盖夫沙漠覆盖了60%的国土面积。以色列几乎全是干旱地区,随时随地都受到土壤退化和沙漠化的威胁。

多年来,以色列采取了大量对策,努力解决荒漠化进度。多数活动都与可持续利用自然资源的规划,环保及开发策略有关。大部分并没有具体针对实施全国综合性战略进行荒漠化斗争。尽管如此,以色列依旧经常大量投入,不断努力减少土地侵蚀,提高半干旱土地的产量,确保农业产出,并在全国大力推广植树造林工程。

以下是以色列已经在各种类型的旱地里实施的主要工程:

干旱与极度干旱的旱地:防洪、蓄水、污水处理并将处理后的污水再次利用,进行农作物浇灌和景观美化;管理自然植被和应用的农作物,包括与干旱作物、耐盐碱作物与温室农业有关的技术。

半干旱地带:控制过度放牧,植树造林,预防土壤侵蚀,恢复蓄水层补给,利用地下咸水养鱼,发展果园,利用全国人口密集地带输送过来的废水进行灌溉。

缺水及亚湿润干旱区:进行盐碱化农业耕地整治,管理水资源,防止污染,加强保护。大量投资科研已能提高干旱地区的产量-对土壤,气候,农业,林业和生态科技进行研究。在很大程度上,以色列防沙化工作的基础是通过集中管理全国的水资源,实现农业的可持续发展:将水资源从相对丰富的地区调往缺水的地区,雨水丰富年份储水,干旱年份使用,废水处理后再用于农业生产,种植适应各种水质,不同气候和土壤条件的农作物。半在干旱地区植树造林是以色列国策的又一核心要素。通过实施地下滴灌技术以及通过蒸发预防作物表明的根部地区的盐分积累减少水分损失的技术,采取保水措施,对以上问题进行补充。

由于内盖夫沙漠地区不到50%的雨水渗入地下水层,并流入大海,现在已经采取新的措施进行防洪蓄水工作。修建堤坝和水库收集径流水,截停洪水,补充蓄水层,打造旅游休闲场所。

为了克服沙漠地区降水量不足和极端天气变化的影响,以色列研发了各式各样新型农业系统。径流雨水收集盆可以帮助发展降水不足地区的造林工程。通过减少蒸发量,新型地下滴灌技术可以提高传统滴灌系统的效力和产能。稀树草原化技术利用径流蓄水,水平沟种植和植树造林来提高生产力,扭转沙化现象。

处理后的废水,如果不能用来灌溉农作物,可以用来灌溉半干旱地区的沟渠和园林,而苦碱水可以用来灌溉耐盐碱作物和树木。其它研究开发的农作物识别技术,可利用4000ppmpm盐分的水进行农业生产 ,开创了沙漠地区咸水农业生产新局面。

若需了解更多信息,请点击以下链接:

http://www.un.org/esa/agenda21/natlinfo/countr/israel/desertification.pdf

English
Published: 21-07-2015