Introduction to Jewish Religion

The roots of the Jewish religion are ancient ones that have grown and developed over thousands of years. Its tomes of literature and conceptual ideals have filled whole libraries. Each and every stage of its development and outlook have been discussed and debated by Jews and non-Jews for centuries. In this introduction, we will discuss the primary pillars of the Jewish religion.

Monotheism

If there is one thing all believing Jews can agree on – it is that there is only one God. This God has a number of names, each highlighting one of His attributes, but the names all refer to the same God. According to Judaism, God is beyond this world, all powerful and all knowing. He alone created the world and serves as its ruler. As the Jewish prophet Isaiah (8th century BCE) said in his book (Chapter 45, Verse 7) “I form the light, and create darkness, I make peace, and create evil, I the LORD do all these things”.

Indeed, idolatry, or more specifically the prohibition against believing in or worshipping multiple Gods is considered one of Judaism’s gravest sins. There are many stories where Jews offered their life rather than be forced to bow down to idols. This prohibition is so severe that Jews are forbidden by religious law to make any pictures or sculptures of humans or animals.

Law

Judaism is a religion which is based primarily on ritual observance and law. This law covers all aspects of life – from social and political relations to ethics, prayer and food. Adherence to these laws is one of the cornerstones of Jewish life – it is the framework within which all Jewish life takes place.
The written foundation of the law is the Torah, or the Pentateuch. The Torah is divided into five books – Bereishit, Shemot, Vayikra, Bamidbar and Devarim (in English: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy). According to tradition, the books were written by Moses, the greatest prophet who ever lived according to Judaism. These books contain the core laws and instructions which were given by God to his prophet Moses in the 13th century BCE, as well as the history of the Jewish people from the creation of the world until the 13th century BCE

Although not holding as high a status as the Torah, the other two sections of the Jewish Bible (Neviim and Ketuvim, or Prophets and Scriptures) also carry religious weight when it comes to the law. The second section of the Jewish Bible, the Prophets’ books, contains the history and teachings of the Jews and their prophets during the First Temple period (1200-586 BC) and the beginning of the Second Temple period (6th-5th century BC). The third section, the scriptures, contains assorted historical and ethical writings of prominent Jews from both the First and Second Temple periods. These texts, while not as binding as the Torah, also serve as the basis for Jewish rules and teachings.

Expounding on this foundation lies the Oral Torah. A combination of ancient oral tradition and textual interpretation, the Oral Torah is the tool by which the written Torah is kept flexible and adaptable to each new generation, thus ensuring that Judaism remains a “living faith”. This Oral Torah was handed down from generation to generation from teacher to student, as well as added to through textual interpretation.

While Jews avoided recording the Oral Torah for many generations, Rabbi Yehuda Nassi, a great religious authority (2nd-3rd century CE), decided to record the teachings, laws and rules of interpretation of the Oral Torah to prevent it from being forgotten. This record is known as the Mishna. These teachings and laws were subsequently developed in a centuries-long discourse that was put to writing in two collections of books both known as the Talmud.

There was the Talmud written in Israel known as the Talmud Yerushalmi (literally: the Jerusalem Talmud) and the Talmud written in Babylon (modern day Iraq) known as the Bavli. The Babylonian Talmud is generally considered among Jews to have greater authority due to its greater length and breadth and better editing. The Babylonian Talmud is the written binding text of Oral law principles and legislation. Subsequent generations of religious authorities, known as the Geonim, Rishonim and Acharonim (In Hebrew: Higher Ones, First Ones, Later Ones) continue to develop and perfect the Oral Torah to this day.

A People Apart; A Light Unto the Nations

One of the ideas that are spread throughout the Torah but also in the other holy written books of Judaism is the idea that the Jews are a standard bearer for humanity. The Torah summarizes these ideas quite nicely in the book of Exodus (Chapter 19, Verse 6): “You [Israel – A.W.] will be for me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation, these are the words you are to speak to the Israelites”. Many subsequent Jewish writings speak of Judaism’s unique mission among the peoples of the world.

Jews disagree on what exactly this mission is and how to carry it out. Some see this mission as acting towards social justice and ending human suffering – thus carrying out the ideal of Tikkun Olam (literally: repairing the world). Others see this mission as establishing a separate, ideal society of God worship from which the rest of the world can draw inspiration. Many others believe that this mission will be fulfilled in the messianic era and that until then the Jews must concentrate on survival.

The idea of the mission of the Jews and the image they project to the rest of the world deeply informs Jewish conduct. This is especially the case since the mission involves spreading the faith and good name of God. To act disgracefully projects badly not only on individual Jews but on God himself, resulting in a desecration of His name. Such an infraction is one of the worst infractions of Jewish law one can commit. Conversely, an act which gives a positive impression on non-Jews is considered a sanctification of His name.

Spirituality

Although it is not part of the obligations of Judaism, connection with the world of the spirit has always been present to one degree or another in Judaism in most of its forms. Sometimes this spirituality was minimal; an abstract connection to God and nothing more. In other cases, the spiritual connection was far deeper, more detailed and more profound.

There are two key schools of spirituality that reverberate today: Kabbala and Chasidut, and the two are connected to each other. The roots of both have to do with an ancient tradition of individually special Jews who led more strictly religious lives. In the first Temple period, this task was largely restricted to prophets. From the second temple period onward, there were always small groups of Jews, known as Chassidim (literally: devout people), who lived strict, more isolated lives to come closer to their creator. These groups developed ideas of communicating with God and reaching the spiritual world that lies beyond the physical one.

The school which succeeded in reaching the broader populace and maintaining its appeal was the Kabbalah (literally: receiving) mystical school of the 12th-13th centuries in Spain and southern France. The central book of this school is the Book of the Zohar, published in the 13th century. Attributed to the 2nd century religious sage R. Shimon Bar Yochai, the Book of the Zohar served as the foundation for the schools of Jewish mysticism that developed later on. The most famous of these mystical schools was the Lurianic school of Kabbala (named after Rabbi Isaac Luria (1534-1572), developed in the city of Tzfat in the land of Israel in the 16th century.

Briefly, Kabbalah dedicated itself to connecting to the spiritual world and the Divine through religious experiences and careful study. Students of Kabbalah spent their time finding the Divine in every aspect of life and nature – including nature, holy texts and even the shape of Hebrew letters. Kabbalah scholars argued for a close connection between the earthly world and the spiritual world and that any action – good or bad – affects the spiritual world as well.

If Kabbalah aimed at bringing humans to the Divine, Chassidut aimed to bring the Divine to humans. Started in the 18th century by the Baal Shem Tov (“Master of the Divine Name”, Rabbi Israel Ben Eliezer, 1698-1760), Chasiddut stressed the idea that ordinary Jews can connect with God. If Kabbalah students argued that only years of study and isolation can bring one to God, Chassidut argued that any Jew can do so. By praying fervently, fulfilling religious commandments with happiness, enjoying nature and the world around oneself, one can achieve deveikut (adherence to or a connection with God). Thus any Jew, even an uneducated one, can connect to God.

中文
Published: 21-06-2011

犹太教简介

犹太宗教的起源是那些经过几千年成长发展的古老宗教。其文学巨著和那些与概念理念有关的书籍可谓汗牛充栋。几千年来,对其发展的每一个阶段和前景,犹太人和非犹太人都在不停地讨论和辩驳。本篇我们要探讨的是犹太宗教的基本核心。

一神论

如果说有一样东西是所有犹太信徒都一致相信的,那就是只有一位上帝。这位上帝有很多名号,每个名号彰显了他的一种属性,但是所有这些名称指的是同一个上帝。犹太教认为,上帝是超越于这个世界之外的,是全能的,无所不知。他独自创造了这个世界,并成为这个世界的主宰。犹太先知以塞亚(Isaiah)在他的《以赛亚书》(第45章第7节)写到:“我造光,又造暗;我施平安,又降灾祸;造作这一切的是我─耶和华”

事实上,偶像崇拜,或更具体一点来说,多神信仰或崇拜是犹太教最严重的罪行之一,是禁令。很多故事都讲到犹太人宁可放弃生命也不会被迫跪拜偶像。这项禁令是很严厉的,宗教律法禁止犹太人制作人类或动物的任何图片或雕塑。

律法

犹太教是一种主要基于礼仪遵守和律法的宗教。犹太教的律法覆盖了生活的方方面面-从社会关系,政治关系到道德规范,祈祷与食物。遵循这些律法是犹太人生活的之一-犹太人的生活全在这个框架之内。

成文律法的基础叫《托拉律法》(Toarh),或者称为《摩西五经》。《托拉》分成了五本经书-Bereishit,,Shemot,Vayikra,Bamidbar和Devarim(即英文中的Genesis-《创世记》,Exodus-《出埃及记》,Leviticus-《利未记》,Numbers-《民数记》和Deuteronomy-《申命记》)。传统上认为这些经书乃犹太教有史以来最伟大的先知摩西所著。《摩西五经》包括了公元前13世纪时上帝传授给先知摩西的主要律法和指导思想。

犹太圣经的另外两大经书(Neviim和Ketuvim,即《先知书》和《智慧书》),虽然地位没有《托拉》那么高,但在涉及到律法的时候,也占据了重要的宗教地位。犹太圣经的第二部分《先知书》讲述了第一圣殿时期(公元前1200年-公元前586年)和第二圣殿时期初期(公元前6世纪-公元前5世纪)的犹太教的历史、教义和先知的情况。在第三章即《智慧书》则包含了第一圣殿时期和第二圣殿时期犹太人杰出人士撰写的历史著作和道德著作之汇编。这些文书虽然不具备像《托拉》那样的约束力,但也是犹太教规则和教义的基础。

《口传托拉》是基本教义得以详细阐述的依靠。《口传托拉》是古代口述传统与经文解释相结合的产物,是方便书面《托拉》在向新一代传授时得以保持灵活性,方便他们接受的工具,从而确保犹太教是一种“活生生的信仰”。这种口传托拉都是一代一代地传承,由师傅亲传给弟子,并增添对经文的解释。

若干世纪以来,犹太教曾避免记录口述托拉,但伟大的宗教权威叶胡达•纳西拉比(Rabbi Yehuda Nassi)决定要将口传拉比的教义、律法和规则记录下来,以便它们不会被遗忘。这些记录称为《密西拿(Mishna)。这些教义和律法经过之后若干世纪的传颂,最后演变成为两种叫做《塔木德》(Talmud)的成文经典。

在以色列写的《塔木德》称为Talmud Yerushalmi (字面意思:耶路撒冷的塔木德),在巴比伦(现代的伊拉克)的《塔木德》称为Bavli(巴比伦的塔木德)。巴比伦塔木德是口述律法原则和立法的成文法,具有法律约束力。后来几代的宗教权威人士如Geonim, Rishonim 和Acharonim (希伯来文的意思是:至高者,开创者和后继者)继续研究并完善口述塔木德的内容直至今朝。

《分离的民族》;光照诸国

贯穿《托拉》的理念之一,但在犹太教的其它成文圣书中也有的理念就是犹太人是人类社会的旗手。《托拉》在《出埃及记》(第19章第6节)中对这些理念做出较好的归纳:“你们要归我作祭司的国度,为圣洁的国民。这些话你要告诉以色列人”。之后还有许多犹太作品谈到犹太教在世界人民之间的唯一使命。

犹太教对于这个使命到底是什么以及怎样落实并没有达成一致意见。有的人认为这个使命就是实现社会公平,结束人类苦难-实现“让世界更美好(tikkun olam)”的理想(字面意思为“修理世界”)。其他人认为这个使命就是建立一个独立的理想的社会,世界其它地方的人可以从上帝崇拜中获得灵感。其他很多人相信,这个使命应当在弥赛亚时代实现,到那时候之前,犹太人必须以生存为主。

犹太教的使命和他们要保护世界的形象深深地影响了犹太人的行为举止。尤其是那些涉及到传播信仰和上帝美名的情况。行为不端给单个的犹太人和上帝本身都留下坏印象,亵渎了上帝的名字。这种违规是犹太律法中一个人可能做出的最恶劣的违规之一。与之相反,给非犹太人带来良好印象的行为就是为上帝的成圣。

精神生活

虽然精神生活并不属于犹太教中强制性那一部分,但犹太教中大部分的形式都在这种或那种程度上与精神世界有关联。有时候,这种精神生活是微不足道的,只是与上帝之间的抽象联系,别无其它。在其它情况下,精神联系要更加深入,更加细致,更加深刻。

现在还有影响力的精神性主要有两大流派:卡巴拉(Kabbala)和查斯杜(Chasidut),这两大流派都是相互关联的。两者的起源都跟严格恪守宗教生活的个别特殊犹太人坚持的古老传统有关。在第一圣殿时期,这类修行主要限于先知之间。从第二圣殿时期开始,出现许多被称为哈西德(Chassidim)犹太教小团体(字面意思:虔诚者),他们过着严格的更加与世隔绝的生活,以便更加接近他们的造物主。这些团体推行的理念是与上帝沟通,到达物质世界之外的精神世界。

成功获得更广泛民众支持并保持吸引力的流派是12-13世纪时西班牙和法国南部的卡巴拉神秘学派(字面意思“接受”)。这个流派的核心著作是13世纪出版的《光明篇》(Book of the Zohar)。是以后发展的犹太教神秘学各大流派的基础。这些神秘学流派中最著名的是16世纪在以色列土地上的采法特(Tzfat)发展起来的卡巴拉卢里亚派(Lurianic)【以艾萨克•卢里亚拉比(Rabbi Isaac Luria,1534-1572)的名字命名】。

简单来说,卡巴拉就是通过宗教体验和认证学习努力将自己与精神世界和圣灵联系起来。卡巴拉的弟子花时间在生活与自然的方方面面寻找圣灵-包括自然,圣书甚至是希伯来字母的形状。卡巴拉学者坚决主张世俗世界与精神世界有着紧密联系,任何行为,无论好坏,都会影响精神世界。

如果说卡巴拉的目标是带领人类接近圣灵,则查斯杜是将圣灵带给人类。查斯杜始创于18世纪,由巴尔•谢姆•托夫(Baal Shem Tov ,被以色列•本•以利沙拉比称为“圣名之师”,1698-1760)创立,强调普通的犹太人也能与上帝联系。如果卡巴拉派的弟子主张只有经过多年的学习并与世隔绝才能与上帝沟通,而查斯杜的论点是任何犹太人都可以与上帝沟通。通过诚心祷告,心平气和地履行宗教戒律,与自然和周围的世界和谐相处,每个人都可以达到deveikut(即坚信上帝或与上帝建立联系)。因此,任何犹太人,即便是没有受过教育的人,也能与上帝联系。

English
Published: 21-01-2011