Hanukkah

Jewish Calendar Date: 25th of Kislev to 2nd of Tevet

In the 2nd century BC, the land of Israel was ruled by the Seleucid Empire; the Seleucid Empire controlled most of the territory conquered by Alexander the Great two centuries earlier. Initially, the Seleucid Empire was tolerant of the Jewish religion. The Seleucid ruler Antiochus III even granted the Jews a written set of legal rights; the legal edict ensured that the Jews could live according to the ways of their forefathers without persecution.

Bust of Antiochus IV at the Altes Museum in Berlin.

Bust of Antiochus IV at the Altes Museum in Berlin

However, in 168-7 BC the Seleucid ruler, Antiochus IV ‘Epiphanies’ ((This means ‘God Manifest’ in Greek)), litigated oppressive measures to expunge his empire of Judaism ((This was an unusual decision since the Greeks were generally pluralistic and tolerant of other religions. Scholars continue to debate why Antiochus IV decided to do what he did. See here for a more detailed account of the historical background and here for the different reasons given for the religious persecutions.

Antiochus IV banned the most essential practices in Jewish tradition – Jewish circumcision and observance of the Jewish Sabbath. He decreed that animals considered profane under Jewish law be sacrificed in the sacred Jewish Temple in honor of Zeus. Through this decree of killing animals in the Temple, Antiochus intended to destroy the will, tradition and culture of the Jews thereby destroying them as a people. This aim was further advanced by the Antiochus’ order to burn all copies of the Jewish Bible.

Jewish tradition and law took into consideration that Jews were compelled to live outside their homeland, the land of Israel.  Thus Jewish law teaches that Jews are obligated to respect local laws and rulers. Jews would follow the laws of the land and contribute to the local societies. They ask only that the host nation allow them to practice their tradition in peace.

Circumcision, observation of Shabbat and the Jewish Temple Ritual are central tenets of Jewish holy life and are not subject to secular interference. Antiochus IV crossed the threshold from secular to sacred thereby threatening the spiritual and physical existence of the Jews.

In response to this existential threat, Jewish inhabitants rose up in rebellion against Antiochus IV’s malevolent decrees. The Maccabee family held the vanguard of the rebel cause. The Maccabees were a family of priests led by Matityahu. Matityahu had five sons: Judah, Jonathan, Simeon, Elazar and Jochanan. In four successive military victories, the Maccabees expelled most of the Greek contingent from the region of Jerusalem and regained control of the Jewish Temple in 164 BC. In 140 BC, the Maccabees gained full political independence for the Jews. The Maccabees ruled the Jews and the land of Israel during in what is referred to as the Hasmonean period (163-140 BC) ((“Hasmonean” is a term used by later sources to refer to the Maccabees such as the Talmud.)).

>After regaining control of the Jewish Temple, the Maccabees ritually purified the Temple that had been profaned by Antiochus. Once purified the temple was again the center for Jewish worship. Jews throughout the ancient world declared a permanent eight-day holiday in honor of the re-consecration of the Jewish Temple and the victory over the Greeks. The holiday is held at the end of the Jewish month of Kislev, the date of Temple’s rededication. The holiday’s name – “Hanukkah” or dedication in Hebrew – is in reference to this rededication.

A later tradition associated the sacred candelabrum, or “Menorah” that illuminated the inside of the Temple with the Temple’s purification. According to the tradition, when the Maccabees liberated the Temple, there was only enough holy oil to last one day. Yet miraculously the oil lasted eight days. As a result of this tradition, the holiday is closely associated with lights and oil.

Customs

menorahThe primary symbol of Hanukkah is the menorah, a candelabrum with nine branches ((This is to differentiate the household menorah from the Temple menorah, which only has seven candle holders.))- eight to hold the main candles, representing the days of the holiday, and a ninth to hold an assisting candle or “shamash” used to light the other eight.  Every night one candle is added to the left of the previous candle until the eighth day when the menorah is full.  The candles are lit from the right side to left side of the candelabrum with the “shamash“. Jews traditionally place menorahs in windows or porches so that all can see the commemoration of the Jewish victory and the miracle of the oil lamp. In Hebrew this act is called “pirsummei nissa” or a proclamation of the miracle.

In addition to lighting candles, Jews traditionally sing the hymn “Ma’oz Tzur”. Ma’oz Tzur is a poem from the 13th century CE, which recalls the trials and tribulations of the Jews from their slavery in Egypt until their victory over the Greeks. Here is a recording of the song along with the Hebrew lyrics.

Hanukah is a festival with no work prohibitions such as Rosh Hashana or Sukkot. As a celebration of the victorious return of Jewish tradition when all seemed lost, Hanukah is a time of enjoyment; parents give their children money, sweets and presents. Many festivals and events take place during this time. In Israel, visits to archaeological sites of Macabbean battles are common.

Foods

Hanukah is a holiday known for fried food. The oiled used to fry the food is symbolic of the oil used to light the Temple menorah. One such food is called a latke, a kind of fried potato patty. Another popular food on Hanukah is the jelly doughnut or “sufganiya” in Hebrew, a doughy confection sprinkled with sugar and filled with jelly, chocolate or caramel.

Salutations

It is customary to greet Jews with “Hanukah Sameach” or “Happy Hanukah” during this holiday.

中文
Published: 27-02-2012

光明节

犹太历日期:基色娄月25日到提别月2日

公元前2世纪,以色列被塞琉古帝国所统治。塞琉古统治的大部分领土是2个世纪之前由亚历山大大帝征服的领地。最初,塞琉帝国对犹太教还很宽容。塞琉帝国的统治者安提奥克斯三世还赐予犹太人一整套成文的合法权利;这些法令确保犹太人能根据祖先的习俗进行生活而不被迫害。

Bust of Antiochus IV at the Altes Museum in Berlin.

Bust of Antiochus IV at the Altes Museum in Berlin.

然而,公元前168-7年,塞琉帝国统治者安提奥克斯四世“Epiphanies” ((这在希腊语中表示‘神迹’的意思。))采取压迫性手段在他的帝国内消除犹太教 ((这是一个不寻常的决定,因为希腊人通常是多元论者并且对其他宗教也很宽容。学者们还在继续为安提奥克斯的决定进行讨论。点击一下链接查看详细的历史背景。
或者点击以下链接查看宗教迫害的其他不同原因。

安提奥克斯四世禁止犹太教最重要的仪式–犹太教割礼和安息日仪式。他颁布法令,在犹太法律中被视为亵渎神灵的动物要在神圣的犹太寺庙里作为祭品祭。
拜宙斯。通过这项在寺庙中宰杀动物的法令,安提奥克斯想要毁掉犹太教的意志、传统和文化。此后安提奥克斯下令焚烧所有犹太教圣经,更达到了他的目的。

犹太教传统和法律考虑到犹太人被迫到祖国以色列之外的领土生活。因此,犹太法律教导人民有义务遵守当地的法律法规。犹太人会遵守居住地的法律并为当地社区做出贡献。他们只希望居住地政府能允许他们和平地追求犹太教的传统习俗。

割礼,安息日仪式和犹太教寺庙仪式都是犹太人神圣生命的重要教义,且不受世俗干扰。安提奥克斯四世跨越了世俗与神圣之间的门槛,威胁到犹太人的精神以及肉体的生存。

为了对这威胁到自己生存的法令做出回应,犹太居民奋起反击,反抗安提奥克斯四世的暴虐行为。马加比家族作为这次反抗的先锋。马加比家族是由Matityahu领导的一个牧师家族。Matityahu有五个儿子,分别是犹大、乔纳森、西米恩、以利亚撒和乔川南。在连续四次取得军事胜利之后,马加比家族把大部分希腊军队赶出了耶路撒冷,并于公元前164年重新获得犹太寺庙的控制权。公元前140年,马加比为犹太人争取到了完全的政治独立。此后马加比家族统治了犹太人和以色列。这段时期被称为哈斯摩时期(公元前163-140年) ((“哈斯摩”在后来的一些起源书籍中用来指代马加比家族,例如塔木德。))。

重新获得犹太寺庙的控制权之后,马加比家族举行仪式净化被安提奥克斯玷污的寺庙。再次得到净化的寺庙成了犹太教徒的朝拜中心。古代世界的所有犹太人因此宣布一个永久的八天节日,纪念犹太寺庙重获神圣性并庆祝打败希腊人。这个节日定在犹太日历基色娄月月底,这个日期也是寺庙再次开放,为犹太教做出贡献的日子。这个节日的名字–“光明节”或是希伯来语中的贡献,就与寺庙的重新贡献有关。

此后出现了一项与神圣的烛台,或者“Menorah”有关的传统,它点亮了整个寺庙,体现了寺庙的纯净。根据这个传统,当马加比家族解放这个寺庙的时候,烛台里的圣油所剩不多,只能维持一天的时间。但奇迹出现了,这点油维持了八天之久。因为这个传统,光明节就与光和油紧密联系。

风俗

menorah光明节主要的标志就是烛台,这种枝状大烛台有九 ((这是为了区分家用烛台和寺庙用的烛台,寺庙用的只有七个放蜡烛的分支。))个分支-其中八个支撑主要的蜡烛,代表这个节日的天数,第九个分支支撑另外一只辅助性的蜡烛,或称为“沙马什”,用来点亮其他八支蜡烛。每天晚上,都会在每支蜡烛的左边添上一支蜡烛,直到第八天烛台上的蜡烛都填满了。这些蜡烛要用“沙马什”这支蜡烛从右往左点燃。犹太人根据传统都会把烛台放在窗边或是门廊里,这样大家都能看到对于犹太人的胜利和油灯的奇迹的纪念。在希伯来,这种行为被称为“pirsummei nissa”或者奇迹的宣告。

除了点蜡烛之外,犹太人传统上也会唱赞歌“Ma’oz Tzur”。这首歌是13世纪的一首诗歌,回忆了犹太人在埃及被奴隶的时候所受的苦难和判决直到他们战胜埃及人才最终得救。这里是这首歌配有歌词的录音。

光明节这一天不禁止工作,像犹太新年住棚节一样。当所有传统危在旦夕的时侯,光明节作为庆祝犹太传统的胜利回归,这一天人们尽享欢乐;父母会给孩子零花钱,糖果和礼物。很多节庆和活动都在这期间举行。在以色列,参观马加比战场遗址的活动很受欢迎。

食物

光明节是一个以油炸食物出名的节日。用于煎炸食物的油就是点亮寺庙烛台的油的象征。有一种食物叫latke,是一种土豆煎饼。另外还有一种很受欢迎的食物在希伯来语中成为“sufganiya”,也就是一种果冻甜甜圈,由面粉发酵做成圈状,撒上糖,并填上果冻、巧克力或者焦糖作为馅料。

祝语

在光明节这天有一个习俗就是犹太人之间互道“Hanukah Sameach”或者“光明节快乐”。

English
Published: 27-02-2012