Fasting

Communication with God, otherwise known as prayer, in Judaism is primarily through speech, but there are other acts of prayer in Judaism that involve actions and not words. One of the forms of this non-verbal prayer in Judaism is fasting – the self-denial of food and drink, either for the daytime (from dawn until complete sunset) or for a full Jewish holy day (about 25 hours).

Fasting is one of the starkest expressions of Jewish adherence to tradition. The practice of fasting on certain days is sufficiently widespread in Israel that mainstream newspapers often contain advice on how to fast easily the day before a fast takes place.

So Why Do Jews Fast?

A major reason for fasting is mourning for a national disaster – specifically the mourning of the destruction of Jerusalem and the Jewish Temple by the Babylonians in 586 BC and the Romans in 70 AD. There are fully four fast days set aside in the Jewish calendar for historical mourning, each commemorating a part of this event – the beginning of the siege (10th of Teveth), the breaching of the city walls (17th of Tamuz), the destruction of the Temple (9th of Av) and the murder of the Jewish district governor under the Babylonian Empire, which ended all hope for Jewish revival under the Babylonians (3rd of Tishrei).

The second, and no less important reason Jews fast is as an act of prayer. Traditionally, unique Jewish individuals and sometimes whole communities fasted as a prayer to God to stop a future or present danger such as a plague, a drought or the threat of war and massacre. Perhaps the most famous of these ‘public fasts’ is mentioned in the Biblical book of Esther, where the Jews of Shushan, the capital of the Persian Empire, fasted for three days. The fast was meant as a prayer to protect Persian Queen Esther (who was Jewish) when she approached the Persian King to protect the Jews from destruction.

The most important expression of fasting as prayer is on the Day of Atonement (10th of Tishrei). This is the only fast day mandated by the Torah, and it is meant as a prayer to God to forgive the Jews for various violations of religious law. Jews all over the world gather together in synagogues to pray on this day. InIsrael especially, a silence covers the country, as practically no Jew works or travels on this day. Thus does fasting become a uniquely collective spiritual experience, where an entire people reach a higher plane of consciousness.

Salutations for Fast Days

To Jews who are fasting, it is customary to say one of the following:

“Tzom Kal” or “Have an Easy Fast”

“Tzom Mo’il” or “Have a Meaningful Fast”

中文
Published: 25-08-2011

斋戒

犹太教主要通过语言与上帝沟通或者说叫做祈祷,不过犹太教也有一些其它祈祷行为是与行动有关,而跟语言无关。犹太教中这种非语言方式的祈祷形式之一就是斋戒-即白天时间(从日出到日落)或者整个犹太圣日(大约25个小时),自行断绝饮食。

斋戒是犹太教徒遵循传统最突出的表现。在以色列,在一定的日子里进行斋戒是非常普遍的现象,当地的主流报纸经常在开始斋戒前会就如何轻松地度过斋戒日提供各种建议。

犹太人为什么要进行斋戒?

斋戒最主要的原因是全国性的灾难哀悼-尤其是公元前586年和公元70年,耶路撒冷和犹太神庙被巴比伦人和罗马人所毁。为了犹太日历一共有四个全天候的斋戒日,- 围攻开始之日(提别月10日),(需要解释希伯来月份)城墙被破之日(塔莫斯月17日),圣殿被毁(犹太埃波月9日),以及巴比伦帝国统治期间犹太区长被杀害的日子(提斯利月3日),犹太区长被杀终结了巴比伦帝国统治下的犹太人复兴的所有希望。

第二,同样重要的原因是,犹太人斋戒是一种祈祷行为。根据传统,个别独特的犹太人,有时候整个犹太社区会进行斋戒,祈祷上帝阻止未来或当前的危险,如瘟疫、干旱、战争或屠杀的威胁。也许那些“集体斋戒”中最著名的一次是圣经以斯帖书里面提到的那次,即在波斯帝国的首都苏萨进行的斋戒,长达三天时间。这次斋戒是为了保护波斯王后以斯帖(她是犹太人),而当时波斯王后为了保护犹太人免遭迫害在跟波斯国王进行谈判。

祈祷斋戒最重要的表达方式是赎罪日(犹太日历的7月10号)。这是《托拉》规定的唯一斋戒日,意即向上帝祈祷,请求上帝原谅犹太人违反宗教戒律的各种行为。就在这一天,全世界的犹太人齐聚犹太教堂共同祈祷。尤其是在以色列,整个国家一片静谧,这一天,犹太人既不工作也不出行。所以,这使得斋戒成为一种独特的集体精神体验,整个民族达到一种更高的意识层面。

斋戒日的祝福用语

对于那些正在斋戒的犹太人,他们习惯说下面这样的话:

“Tzom Kal”或者就是“祝轻松斋戒”

“Tzom Mo’il”或“祝你斋戒有意义”。

English
Published: 25-08-2011