Defensible Borders Summary

A few years ago, a prominent Israeli think tank known as the Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs published a free online book titled “Israel’s Critical Security Requirements for Defensible Borders: The Foundation for a Viable Peace”. What follows is a summary of the book’s main arguments.

Background

In June 1967 the armies of Egypt, Syria, Jordan and Iraq amassed on Israel’s borders and threatened the young country’s existence. Israel launched a pre-emptive defensive strike against the attacking Arab armies. The Israeli Defense Force drove them back from the Israeli border seizing territories either legally belonging to or militarily occupied by the belligerent Arab states.

Both Israel and the international community hoped Israel could return control of the territories in exchange for a permanently binding peace treaty with Egypt, Jordan and Syria.

defensible borderThe practice of returning territories in exchange for peace is known as the “Territories for Peace” policy. This policy was incorporated into UN resolution 242. Resolution 242 was adopted by the UN on November 22, 1967. The resolution called for:

(i) Withdrawal of Israel armed forces from territories occupied in the recent conflict;

(ii) Termination of all claims or states of belligerency and respect for and acknowledgment of the sovereignty, territorial integrity and political independence of every state in the area and their right to live in peace within secure and recognized boundaries free from threats or acts of force.

In 1979 Israel signed a peace accord with Egypt on the basis of “Territories for Peace”. Israel returned all of the Egyptian Sinai Peninsula; Egypt agreed to cease all military hostilities. During the 1990s, Israel unsuccessfully conducted peace negotiations with Syria utilizing the same tenet – peace in return for the Syrian Golan Heights.

Some of the land that Israel seized in 1967 was internationally recognized territories of Arab States such as the Sinai Peninsula However, the territories of Judaea, Samaria and Gaza did not legally belong to any country; they were illegally occupied by Jordan and Egypt. The Israeli government resisted a full withdrawal from these territories for two reasons – security and history.

SECURITY

The security problems created by withdrawing from the territories of Judaea, Samaria and Gaza can be clearly illustrated by a map of the area (see map). The majority of Israeli citizens live only kilometers away from these territories. Even a small terrorist group armed with rockets and missiles could terrorize the Israeli populace and paralyze civilian life. If a regular Arab army was allowed to enter these areas, it would be easy for the Arab army to seriously endanger the Jewish state.

HISTORICAL

The second reason Israel was reluctant to give back all of the territories was their historical importance to the Jewish people. The region of Judaea and Samaria is the historical birthplace of the Jewish people. Most of the important Jewish religious sites from the Bible – Jerusalem, Hebron and Beit El – are located within these territories.

Nevertheless, Israel was and is willing to trade even these historically invaluable and security-essential territories for peace. Since neither Jordan nor Egypt claim them as their own, the only remaining party to whom Israel could hand over control of the territories is the local population – the Arabs living in the Palestinian Authority. Over the course of the 1990s, Israel tried to negotiate a peace agreement based on the following terms – transferring the land of Judaea, Samaria and Gaza in exchange for a permanent peace.

A Change of Policy?

The contributors to the book in the link below argue that “(all the) territories for peace” is not feasible. Peace treaties in the Middle East are not permanent. Treaties can be revoked or ignored once a new government ascends to power. Current events in 2011-2012 portray contemporary Muslim parties in Egypt clamoring for a revision of agreements with Israel and possible abrogation of the 1979 peace treaty existing between the two nations.

Because peace treaties in the Middle East are not permanent, the book’s contributors argue that Israel needs to change its policy from “territories for peace” to “defensible borders”. This means Israel must negotiate a treaty in which Israel retains borders based on their military defensibility.

The legal basis for not fully withdrawing from Judea and Samaria is UN resolution 242. The resolution calls for withdrawal from “territories” occupied in the 1967 war. The fact that the resolution doesn’t call for a withdrawal from “the territories” implies that Israel is not obligated to withdraw from all of territories but rather from some of them.

Furthermore, the resolution calls for all sides to recognize every state’s “right to live in peace with secure and recognized boundaries”. The books’ contributors argue that the pre-1967 lines are not “secure”. Therefore, Israel must negotiate for a withdrawal to “secure” borders. The book contains maps clearly indicating what those “secure borders” would look like.

All of the contributors are former Israeli diplomats or army officers. Thus, they speak with experience and expertise. This book is required reading for anyone who wants to learn more about the debate going on in Israel regarding future peace in the region.

Link to the book: http://www.defensibleborders.org/security/

中文
Published: 23-02-2012

可防御的边界概述

公共事物耶路撒冷中心是一家知名的以色列智库。该智库在多年前出版了一本免费在线读物:《以色列安全需求的关键在于可防御的边界:稳定和平的基础》。以下便是对于此书主要观点的总结。

背景

1967年6月,埃及、叙利亚、约旦和伊拉克的军队聚集在以色列的边界,威胁着这个年轻国家的生存。以色列对这些阿拉伯军队发动了一次预先演练好的自卫性反击。以色列自卫军把敌人赶到了以色列边界,占领了属于这些好战的阿拉伯国家的合法领土或者他们军事占领的领土。

以色列和国际社会均希望能返还这些土地的控制权,作为交换,以色列将与埃及、约旦河叙利亚签署长期的和平协议。

defensible border以归还领土交换和平的做法被称为“和平领土政策”。该政策与联合国第242项决议不谋而合。联合国于1967年11月22日通过该项决议。它呼吁:

(i)以色列军事力量撤出在最近战争中占领的领土;

(ii)终止一切交战要求或交战状态,尊重和承认该地区每个国家的主权、领土完整和政治独立及其在安全和被认可的疆界内和平的生活而免遭武力的威胁或行为的权利。

1979年,以色列根据“和平领土政策”,与埃及签署了和平协议。以色列归还埃及整个西奈半岛。埃及同意停止所有军事敌对行动。在20世纪90年代,以色列使用相同的条款,答应归还叙利亚的戈兰高地,但最终与叙利亚的谈判以失败告终。

以色列在1967年占领的一些领土被国际上承认为阿拉伯国家的领土,例如西奈半岛。但是,犹太地区、撒玛利亚和加沙地区在法律上并不属于任何一个国家;他们却被约旦和埃及非法占有。以色列政府反对完全从这些地区撤军,主要有两个原因–安全性和历史性问题。

安全性

从犹太地区、撒玛利亚和加沙地区撤军引发的安全性问题能在该地区的地图上明显看出(查看地图)。大多数以色列人的住所离这些地区仅有几公里远。甚至是一个武装有火箭和导弹的恐怖主义小队就能对以色列民众进行恐怖侵袭,破坏普通民众的生活。如果一个普通的阿拉伯军队能得到允许进入这些领域,那么他们就很容易能对犹太国家的安危起到严重威胁。

历史重要性

以色列不愿意归还所有领土的第二个原因就是他们对于犹太人的历史重要性。犹太地区和撒玛利亚是犹太人历史上的诞生地。圣经中提到的很多犹太宗教遗址—耶路撒冷、希伯伦和拜特厄尔等都位于这些领土上。

虽然如此,以色列一直愿意用这些历史上无价并具有安全性意义的领土来交换和平。既然约旦和埃及并没有宣布这些领土归自己所有,那么以色列能把控制权归还的唯一一方就只能是当地的民众,生活在巴勒斯坦地区的阿拉伯人。在20世纪90年代,基于以下条款,以色列试着进行协商,签订和平协议,归还犹太地区、撒玛利亚和加沙地区,以交换长期的和平。

政策的改变?

文章最后链接中的这本书的编著者认为“和平领土政策”并不可行。中东地区的和平协议不能长久。一旦新政府上台,协议会被废除,或被忽略。2011年-2012年的一些时事报道了当前在埃及的穆斯林政党强烈要求修改与以色列签署的协议,并且取消两个国家之间于1979年签署的和平协议。

因为中东地区的和平协议并不长久,这本书的编著者也认为以色列需要把“和平领土政策”改为“可防御的边界政策”。这就意味着,以色列必须商议签订一个能根据它的军事防御能力来保留自己的边界的协议。

以色列不完全撤军犹太地区和撒玛利亚地区的法律依据是联合国第242项决议。这项决议呼吁以色列军队撤离1967年战争中占领的领土。这一决议并没有呼吁以色列从某地区撤军的事实暗示着以色列不必从所有领土撤军,而只需要从部分领地撤军。

此外,联合国第242项决议也呼吁各方承认每个国家“在安全和被认可的疆界内和平的生活的权利”。本书的编著者认为1967年前的边界并不安全。因此,以色列必须进行谈判,撤军到安全的边界。这本书里也列出一些地图,清楚展示这些“安全边界”的真实面貌。

本书所有编著者都是前以色列外交官或者军队官员。因此,他们都是用自身的经验和专业知识进行议论的。这本书适合所有希望了解更多以色列对于区域内的未来和平发展趋势辩论的读者。

查看此书请点击以下链接:

http://www.defensibleborders.org/security/

English
Published: 13-07-2015