Cyrus Declaration

Between the 8th-6th centuries BCE, Ancient Middle Eastern Empires, such as Assyria and Babylonia (both in modern-day Iraq), expelled nations that refused to accept their Empire’s authority and pay the imperial tax. The Hebrew People living in the Land of Israel were no exception to this rule. Over the course of the 8th century BCE, the ten tribes of the northern kingdom of Israel, who rebelled against the Assyrian Empire, were expelled from the land of Israel to Assyria. Then, in 586 BCE, the Babylonian Empire expelled most of the Hebrew People in the southern kingdom of Judah and destroyed the city of Jerusalem and the First Jewish Temple. With their kingdoms destroyed and most of the Hebrew People living in exile, the Jewish people had reached a historical nadir.

The Cyrus Cylinder at the British Museum

The Cyrus Cylinder at the British Museum

In 539 BCE, the fate of the Hebrew People began to change when Cyrus, the king of Persia, conquered the Babylonian Empire. Unlike the Assyrians and the Babylonians, who believed in using harsh measures such as the threat of mass killings and expulsions to ensure loyalty to their empire, Cyrus had a different approach. Cyrus, along with his successors, believed in giving autonomy to their subjects. This autonomy allowed the peoples of the empire freedom to contribute money to their temples and the ability to live and practice their own religions freely. The subjects’ obligations towards the Persians were limited to remaining loyal to the empire, contributing imperial taxes, and participating in military service when and if necessary.

The Hebrew People were no exception to this policy of internal autonomy. According to the Biblical book of Ezra, Cyrus issued an official proclamation allowing the Hebrew People to return to their homeland in the land of Israel, rebuild their temple, and live according to their ancient laws. Those Hebrew People who stayed behind in Babylonia and Persia were ordered to supply the Hebrew People returning to the land of Israel with gold and silver. The English translation of Cyrus’s declaration found in book of Ezra (1: 2-4), written originally in Hebrew, reads:

‘Thus said Cyrus king of Persia: All the kingdoms of the earth hath the LORD, the God of heaven, given me; and He hath charged me to build Him a house in Jerusalem, which is in Judah. Whosoever there is among you of all His people–his God be with him–let him go up to Jerusalem, which is in Judah, and build the house of the LORD, the God of Israel, He is the God who is in Jerusalem. And whosoever is left, in any place where he lives, let the men of his place help him with silver, and with gold, and with goods, and with beasts, beside the freewill-offering for the house of God which is in Jerusalem.’

There is external archeological evidence that Cyrus’ benevolence as described in the Declaration was extended to all subject peoples in his empire, thus confirming the authenticity of the Declaration mentioned in the Book of Ezra. This evidence comes in the form of a clay cylinder inscribed with ancient Akkadian writing. The text on the cylinder describes Cyrus as being the benefactor to Babylonia who restored the Babylonian temples, repatriated expelled peoples, and improved the lives of those living in the Mesopotamian region (now modern day Iraq). This cylinder is clear evidence of Cyrus’ policy of autonomy towards conquered peoples, including the Hebrew People.

中文
Published: 01-11-2011

居鲁士宣言

公元前8世纪-公元前6世纪之间,中东古帝国如亚述与巴比伦(两者都是现代伊拉克的前身)将那些不愿服从他们的统治,不愿意缴纳帝国税的民族驱逐出境。居住在以色列地的希伯来人民也逃不过此劫。公元前8世纪,以色列北部王国的十个部落因为反抗亚述帝国的统治,被驱逐出了以色列地。后来,公元前586年,巴比伦帝国将约旦南部王国的大部分希伯来人驱逐,并毁灭了耶路撒冷和犹太第一神庙。家国遭毁,大多数希伯来人过着流亡生活,犹太历史几乎不再。

The Cyrus Cylinder at the British Museum

The Cyrus Cylinder at the British Museum

公元前539年,希伯来人的命运开始发生改变。波斯国王居鲁士(Cyrus) 征服了巴比伦帝国。亚述王朝和巴比伦帝国相信要用严厉的措施,如大屠杀和驱逐的威胁来确保对帝国的忠诚,居鲁士与他们不一样,他采取了不同的方法。他和他的继承人们赐予他们的属国自治的权利。这种自治权赐予帝国臣民捐钱修庙的自由,生活与宗教践行自由。属地臣民的义务则仅限于向帝国尽忠纳税以及必要时服兵役而已。

希伯来人也不例外,可以享受这样的内部自治政策。据《圣经以斯拉书》记载,居鲁士大帝正式颁布宣言,允许希伯来人返回他们在以色列的家园,重建神庙,并循其古法生活。曾经待在巴比伦人和波斯人背后的那些希伯来人被勒令向那些回归以色列地的希伯来人供应金银。居鲁士宣言的英文译本可以在以斯拉书(1:2-4)中找到,原文以希伯来文写就,大意为:

“波斯王居鲁士诏曰: 天下之土,尽归我主耶和华。主令我于约旦之耶路撒冷重修圣殿。 尔等凡属我主之信徒,主与尔等同在-带他前往约旦之耶路撒冷,为我主耶和华修建圣殿,我主是以色列之神,我主乃耶路撒冷之神。凡居留不往者,需为前往者奉上金银财帛及献祭牲口,供奉于耶路撒冷之神殿。”

有外来考古证据显示宣言中所述居鲁士的仁慈惠及其帝国下所有民众,也验证了《以斯拉书》中宣言的真实性。这份证据来自一个刻有古阿卡德(Akkadian)文字的土缸子。土缸子上的文字说明,居鲁士是巴比伦人的恩主,他恢复了巴比伦神庙,召回被驱逐的人民,改善了那些住在美索不达米亚地区(即当代伊拉克)的人民的生活水平。这口土缸子清楚地证明了居鲁士让被征服地区的人民拥有自治权,其中就包括了希伯来人民。

English
Published: 01-11-2011