A Primer on the Dead Sea Scrolls

One of the most important archaeological achievements of the Twentieth Century was the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls. The Dead Sea Scrolls are the largest and oldest repository of ancient Jewish texts currently available. The discovery of these scrolls has provided scholars with ground breaking information regarding Judaism and Christianity during the Late Second Temple Period (200 BCE – 70 CE).

What Are the Dead Sea Scrolls?

The Dead Sea Scrolls are a collection of writings that include both complete texts and several fragmented texts. The majority of the scrolls were written between 150 BC and 70 CE, predominantly in Hebrew, although some are in Aramaic and Greek. The scrolls were produced by the Essenes – a Jewish sect that resided in the JudeanDesertnear the Dead Sea, in the ancient town of Qumran. The scrolls were kept in eleven caves and placed inside ceramic jars for safekeeping.
Psalms_Scroll
The Dead Sea Scrolls were first discovered in 1947 by an Arab shepherd. After a series of long and complicated negotiations, Israeli Archaeology Professors Elazar Soukenik and Benjamin Mazar succeeded in purchasing some of the most important scrolls. Many of the remaining scrolls and scroll fragments were put in the Rockefeller Museum in East Jerusalem, which was under Jordanian control from 1949 to 1967. After Israel took control of the area in 1967, the scrolls were moved to the Jerusalem Museum, in the Shrine of the Book Museum, where they reside today.

What Do the Dead Sea Scrolls Contain?

The Dead Sea Scrolls, unlike the vast majority of ancient writings done on parchment, remained partially or completely intact for centuries, until the modern era. This is part of the reason why the Dead Sea Scrolls were a unique and important discovery. The preservation of the scrolls was due to the natural arid desert climate where the scrolls were held, which made it more difficult for them to disintegrate.

The scrolls include complete texts and excerpts from almost every book in the Jewish Bible, with the exception of the Book of Esther. They provide valuable insights into the different known versions of religious Jewish texts from the Second Temple Period (538 BC – 70 AD). These unique Biblical interpretations have helped teach scholars about the formation process the Bible went through, before it reached the final form which we have today.

Other important pieces of the Dead Sea Scrolls include excerpts from non-Biblical Jewish books, such as the Apocrypha and the Pseudepigraphia. The Apocrypha contains texts written during the Second Temple Period (538 BC – 70 AD) about Biblical figures and periods of Jewish history, not present in the Bible.

The Pseudepigraphia contains texts attributed to First Temple Period (1000-586 BC) Jewish authors, even though the texts were written during the Second Temple Period (538 BC-70 AD). This attribution was meant to add authority to the theological and social messages of the books. The Pseudepigraphia is very important due to the information it provides on the lives of Jews during the Second Temple Period (538 BC-70 AD).

Sectarian Outlook

Historians of the late Second Temple Period (~200 BCE-70 AD) have discovered that Jewish society in the land of Israel was divided into a number of sects, each of which had their own interpretations and practices of religious law. The first sect was the Saducees, who believed that only the written Torah is binding, and there is no such thing as an Oral Torah—interpretations of the Torah which can be adaptable to different periods of time. There were also the Pharisees, the precursors of Rabbinic Jewry of the Mishna and Talmud period. These Jews both believed in and developed the idea of the Oral Torah.

Aside from these sects, which held large followings, there was a third sect, or philosophy, known as the Essenes. These were Jews who practiced extreme piety, advocated a form of pacifism, and, in general, considered themselves to be the “children of light” as opposed to the rest of the Jewish people who they saw as the “children of darkness”.

The attitudes and history of the Essenes are recorded in some of the Dead Sea Scrolls both as sectarian texts, and also “sectarian commentaries” on Biblical texts, known specifically as Pesharim. The Pesharim include Essene interpretations of Jewish prophecies, in accordance with their sectarian world-view.

Understanding the beliefs of the Jewish people in the landof Israel during the late Second Temple Period (~200 BC – 70 AD) is not just important for the study of Jewish history, but for the study of Christian History as well. During the first century CE, Jesus and the first Apostles lived and worked alongside the different segments of the Jewish population. The Dead Sea Scrolls provide information regarding how the beliefs of the Jewish people influenced the founders of Christianity, namely Jesus and the Apostles.

Summary

The Dead Sea Scrolls serve as an extensive resource into the study of Second Temple Era Judaism (538 BC-70 AD) and the founding of Christianity. This massive trove of ancient documents continues to attract scholarly and lay curiosity. The Dead Sea scrolls have been on display in many museums, and at each exhibition they attract a wide array of visitors. Discovered over 60 years ago, the scrolls continue to be of fascination today.

For more information on the Dead Sea Scrolls, see the following websites:

Online Display of Dead SeaScrolls

The Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls

The Library of Congress Exhibition of the Dead Sea Scrolls

The Dead SeaScrolls Foundation

中文
Published: 04-12-2011

《死海古卷》简介

20世纪最重大的考古成就之一就是发现了《死海古卷》。这是现存最大的,最古老的古犹太文字记载。这些卷轴重见天日,为专家学者提供了第二神庙晚期(公元前200年-公元70年)与犹太教和基督教有关的突破性信息。

什么是《死海古卷》?

《死海古卷》是一部文集,包括完整经文和一些零散文字。这些卷轴大部分写于公元前150年到公元70年之间,主要以希伯来文写成,也有阿拉姆语和希腊文。古卷由Essenes(艾赛尼派)所著-这是一支犹太宗派,住在死海附近的朱迪亚沙漠的昆兰古城(Qumran)。这些古卷存于11个洞穴的陶罐之内得以保存下来。
Psalms_Scroll
《死海古卷》最早在1947年被一个阿拉伯牧羊人所发现。经过漫长复杂的讨价还价,以色列考古学教授Elazar Soukenik和Benjamin Mazar终于成功从他手上买回一部分具有重大意义的卷轴。剩下的许多卷轴和卷轴残片存放在位于东耶路撒冷的洛克菲勒博物馆(Rockefeller Museum),1949年-1967年之间由约旦人保管。1967年以色列获得该地区的控制权之后,这些卷轴被送到耶路撒冷博物馆里的圣书博物馆内,保存至今。

《死海古卷》的内容是什么?

不同于绝大多数写在羊皮纸上的古代著作,千百年过去了,《死海古卷》大部分内容甚至全部内容依旧保存完好。这也是为什么《死海古卷》的发现是独一无二的。因为古卷保存在天然的干旱沙漠气候里,较难腐化,所以保存得比较完整。

除了《以斯帖记》,这些卷轴几乎包括犹太圣经所有经书的完整经文和节录。这些资料可以让人对第二神庙时期(公园前538年-公元70年)不同版本的犹太宗教经文有更深入的了解。这些独特的圣经释义帮助学者了解到,《圣经》在形成我们现在看到的最终版本之前,经历过怎样的过程。

《死海古卷》中其它珍贵的资料还包括来自非圣经犹太经文的节录,比如《次经》(Apocrypha)和《伪经》(Pseudepigraphia)。《次经》包括了写于第二圣殿时期(公园前538年-公元70年)与圣经人物有关的经文以及《圣经》中没有出现的犹太历史时期。

《伪经》是关于第一圣殿时期(公元前1000年-公元前586年)犹太作者的作品,甚至包括写于第二圣殿时期(公园前583年-公元70年)的作品。因为《伪经》提供了第二圣殿时期(公园前583年-公元70年)犹太人生活的情况,增加了经书的神学理论和社会信息,所以这些资料也是弥足珍贵。

教派展望

第二圣殿时期(公元前200年-公园70年)的历史学家们发现,以色列的犹太社会分为诸多教派,每个教派对宗教律法都有自己的解释和做法。最大的教派叫做Saducees(撒都该),他们相信只有成文托拉才有约束力,并没有所谓的口传托拉-即适应不同时期的《托拉释义》。另外的教派还有Pharisees(法力赛),是《密西拿》和《塔木的》时期犹太拉比的前身。这类犹太人相信并发展了《口传托拉》的教义。

除了这些教徒众多的教派,第三大教派或哲学叫做Essenes(艾赛尼教派)。这个派别的犹太人极端虔诚,主张和平主义,普遍认为自己是“光明之子”,而其他犹太人则认为自己是“黑暗之子”。

有一部分《死海古卷》中记载了艾赛尼派的态度和历史,有教派经文,也有对圣经经文的“派别评注”,也就是Pesharim(伯撒尔解经法)。根据艾赛尼教派的教派世界观,《伯撒尔解经法》包含了艾赛尼教派对犹太预言的诠释。

了解第二圣殿后期(公元前200年-公元70年)以色列大地上犹太人的信仰问题,不仅对于研究犹太历史至关重要,对于研究基督教的历史同样具有重要意义。公元一世纪,耶稣和他的十二门徒曾经在犹太人的不同时期生活过。《死海古卷》讲述了犹太人民的信仰如何影响了基督教的创始人及耶稣和他的门徒们。

小结

《死海古卷》是研究第二圣殿时期(公元前538年-公元70年)的犹太教和基督教的创立的宝贵资源。大量的古文献宝库不断吸引了学术界的好奇心。每次展览都能吸大量的参观者。六十多年前重见天日的《死海古卷》至今依然魅力无穷。

预知更多与《死海古卷》有关的信息,请参见以下链接:

死海古卷在线展示

死海古卷Orion研究中心

国会展览图书馆死海古卷

死海古卷基金会

English
Published: 14-07-2015