A History of Zionism – Part II: The Herzlian Moment

The Jewish State

Benjamin Ze'ev Herzl

Benjamin Ze’ev Herzl

Theodor Herzl (1860-1904), considered by many to be the founder of the Zionist movement, was an Austrian journalist living in Vienna. Born to a secular household, he wrote many stories of interest throughout the world for his paper. In Vienna and abroad, Herzl was witness to numerous serious anti-Semitic events. In his own Vienna, for instance, Karl Lueger, a rabid anti-Semite, was elected mayor twice in the 1890s and widely supported.

Incidents like this made Herzl devote more thought to the question of the Jewish people. He realized that the non-Jewish societies where Jews were living around Europe would never let Jews fully integrate. Individual Jews who gave up all connection to their Judaism and Jewish culture and history might be accepted, if they completely assimilated. The bulk of the Jewish people would have to look elsewhere for a ‘home’.

In 1896, Herzl published his views in a little pamphlet called “The Jewish State”, which was translated into several languages. In addition to explaining the impossible situation of the Jews, who were rejected by their host societies, he explained that the solution to the problem of the Jews was an independent state. Only in an independent state, with its own flag and government, would the Jews be able to stand proudly among the nations and live as equal citizens with full human rights.

What made Herzl’s views different than, say, those of Leo Pinsker, was that he placed the emphasis on Zionism as a political solution. In Herzl’s view, all the Zionist efforts should be geared towards gaining international recognition of Jewish national rights in a territory of their own (A “charter”, in his words). Although Herzl kept open the possibility of acquiring territories other than the land of Israel, ultimately he chose Israel as the desired, territory because it was the only place where the Jewish people had an ancient historical connection and where Jewish culture could be fully actualized.

“In Basel, I founded the Jewish State”: The Zionist Congress

First Zionist Congress

First Zionist Congress

Herzl was not satisfied with only writing a pamphlet. Already in 1865, he began approaching wealthy Jews in Western and Central Europe for financial support for his idea. They rejected him, as his ideas seemed impractical. Herzl decided that he needed to strengthen the Zionist movement before continuing with his ideas otherwise he would never be taken seriously. For that, that he needed to organize the disparate Zionist societies, still stagnant after the failure of the Lovers of Zion movement. It was time to unite them into a single Zionist movement, and that required a general Congress.

On August 29, 1897, 197 Jewish delegates from all over the world attended the first Zionist Congress in Basel, Switzerland, organized by Herzl himself. Herzl was the first speaker, and he was greeted with thunderous applause. The Congress was a milestone, its reputation reaching far and wide. Now people, both Jewish and non-Jewish, throughout the world, knew of the existence of the Zionist movement.

The Congress established as its aims the establishment of a national home for the Jewish people in the land of Israel, to be accomplished through political and practical (i.e. settlement) means. The Congress established a permanent Zionist Organization and rules for elections to its institutions. The Congress also decided to work towards establishing a Zionist bank (established in 1902, inspired by Herzl), a fund for financing the Zionist movement (established in 1920, called Keren Hayesod, or Foundation Fund) and a fund for purchasing land in the land of Israel (established 1901, and called Keren Kayemet Leyisra’el, or the Jewish National Fund).

At the end of the Congress, Herzl wrote in his diary-

“If I had to sum up the Basel Congress in one word—which I shall not do openly—it would be this: At Basel I founded the Jewish state. If I were to say this today, I would be greeted by universal laughter. In five years, perhaps, and certainly in 50, everyone will see it.”

It would take much more toil and sweat, as well as many crises and disappointments, but Herzl’s vision would ultimately come true – only nine months later than his original fifty year prediction.

Diplomacy and Crisis

Herzl spent much of his time between 1898 and 1903 negotiating with world leaders trying to gain political support for Jewish national rights to the land of Israel. Unfortunately, his efforts ran into trouble. The Ottoman Sultan, ruler of the administrative districts that included the land of Israel, refused to allow any substantial Jewish immigration or settlement there. All attempts to change his mind failed.

Herzl tried to persuade the Ottoman Sultan indirectly by talking to his ally, the German Kaiser Wilhelm II, when the latter visited Jerusalem in 1898. Although the Kaiser was courteous, he turned Herzl down. Germany would not enter a confrontation with its ally on this issue. Yet another path to Jewish independence was closed.

Herzl then approached the last remaining power which had lands close to the land of Israel: the British Empire. Since 1882, the British ruled Egypt and the Sinai Peninsula (1906), which was on the border of the land of Israel. Herzl approached the British government to get permission to settle Jews in the el-Arish region of the Sinai Peninsula, which could later serve as a springboard for Jewish settlement of the land of Israel itself. Yet once again, the British turned him down, as the project would require far too much water from the Nile.

Herzl was becoming increasingly frustrated and desperate. The situation of the Jews of the Russian empire was becoming steadily worse. Mostly poor, forced to live in restricted conditions, these Jews were subject to increasing anti-Semitic decrees and attacks. In 1903, Jews were attacked in a violent pogrom in the city of Kishinev, leaving 49 Jews horribly murdered. The Jews needed to be evacuated and fast. They could not wait forever for the Ottoman Sultan to eventually allow them to go to the land of Israel.

In 1903, British Colonial Minister Joseph Chamberlain proposed that the Jews settle part of British East Africa (today Kenya and Uganda). Herzl, desperate to help his brethren, decided to propose in 1903 to the annual Zionist Congress to accept Chamberlain’s proposal. Herzl argued that this region serve as a “temporary shelter” for the Jews until the land of Israel becomes available.

Zionist delegates were shocked at what they felt was a betrayal of Zion. The proposal to send a committee to investigate the feasibility of what was known as the “Uganda Plan” was passed by a bare majority thanks to Herzl’s prestige (because part of the land included Uganda). Those who objected walked out of the congress in protest, protesting loyalty to Zion alone. It was the worst crisis the Zionist movement had faced since its inception.

Herzl, already tired out and ill from his frantic diplomacy and Zionist activities, died in 1904, before the next meeting of the Zionist Congress. In this Congress, the Zionist Organization decisively rejected the idea of settling the Jews anywhere other than Zion. The Uganda plan was dead.

Theodor Herzl had dedicated everything to the Zionist movement – his fortune, his prestige as a foreign journalist, and ultimately, his health. He was not successful in his goal to achieve diplomatic recognition for Zionism. However, he succeeded in turning Zionism into a world-wide force. Jews and Gentiles the world over knew of Zionism and its goals, and Zionism was recognized in the capitals of the world. This recognition would help pave the way for the Zionist movement’s first real diplomatic success – the Balfour Declaration of 1917.

中文
Published: 21-01-2011

犹太复国主义 第二部分:赫茨尔运动

犹太国

Benjamin Ze'ev Herzl

Benjamin Ze’ev Herzl

西奥多•赫茨尔(1860-1904)是一位生活在维也纳的奥地利记者,被广泛认为犹太复国主义运动的创始人。他出生于一个世俗家庭,为世界各地的报纸撰写了大量有趣故事。在维也纳和海外,赫茨尔目睹了大量严重的反犹事件。例如就在他的生活的维也纳,卡尔•鲁伊格,一个狂热的反犹主义者在十九世纪90年代,两次高票当选为市长。

这些反犹事件使赫茨尔更多地为犹太人的出路陷入深思。他认为生活在欧洲的非犹太人社会永远也不可能完全接纳犹太人。只有放弃犹太教、犹太文化和历史,彻底地被同化的犹太人才可能被接纳。大量的犹太人将不得不到其他地方寻找家园。

1896年,赫茨尔出版了反映其观点的小册子“犹太国”,被翻译成几种语言。除了解释被主流社会所排斥的犹太人悲惨遭遇以外,他也论述了解决犹太人问题的唯一办法就是建立独立的犹太国家。只有独立的犹太国,拥有自己的国旗、政府,犹太人才能自豪地屹立于世界民族之林,像其它国家人民一样拥有平等的权利。

与平斯克等人的不同之处在于,赫茨尔的犹太复国主义强调政治解决方案。根据赫茨尔的观点,犹太复国主义所有的努力,应该是争取犹太人在自己领土上的民族权利(用他的话说就是“宪章”(Charter))获得国际承认。尽管赫茨一直在寻求在以色列地之外的其他地方获得领土的可能性,但最终他选择了以色列,因为它是唯一犹太人有长久历史联系并能真正实现犹太文化的地方。

“在巴塞尔,我创立了犹太国”:犹太主义者大会

First Zionist Congress

First Zionist Congress

1897年8月29日,197名来自世界各地的犹太人代表出席了由赫茨尔组织的,在瑞士巴塞尔召开的第一次犹太复国主义者大会。作为第一个发言者,赫茨尔获得了雷鸣般的掌声。这次大会是一个里程碑,获得了广泛的声誉和影响。此后无论是全世界的犹太人还是非犹太人都知道犹太复国主义运动的存在。

这次大会确立的目标是,通过政治或者现实的(例如建立定居点)方式为犹太人在以色列地建立民族家园。这次大会建立了一个永久的犹太复国主义组织及其选举规则。大会决定建立一所犹太复国主义者银行(在赫茨尔的支持下,1902年成立),成立一个基金用以资助犹太复国主义运动(1920年成立,被称为Keren Hayesod或者基础基金),成立一个基金用来在以色列购买土地(1901年成立,被称为Keren Kayemet Leyisra’el或者犹太民族基金)。

大会结束时,赫茨尔在他的日记中写到,

“如果我用一句话总结巴塞尔大会——秘密地说——那就是:在巴塞尔我创立了犹太国”。今天我说的这些,将会受到普遍的欢呼。五年后,或许50年后,人人将会看到这个目标实现。

为实现这个目标将会付出更多的辛苦和汗水,危机和失望。但是赫茨尔的憧憬将会最终变成现实——只比他预测的五十年多出了九个月。

外交与危机

赫茨尔在1898年至1903年期间花了大量的时间与世界各地的领导人会谈,努力为犹太人回归以色列的民族权利争取政治支持。最终他的努力遇到了麻烦。奥斯曼苏丹,当时是包括以色列地在内的帝国的统治者,拒绝允许任何大规模的移民和定居以色列。所有对苏丹的外交遭到了失败

1898年当德国盟友威廉二世皇帝访问耶路撒冷时,赫茨尔试图间接通过他劝说奥斯曼苏丹。威廉二世皇帝非常有礼貌的拒绝了赫茨尔的要求。因为德国不愿意在这个问题上与盟友奥斯曼苏丹发生对立。所以又一条以色列独立的途径失败了。

然后赫茨尔求助于当时控制着以色列领土的大英帝国。从1882年起英国统治埃及,从1906年起统治位于以色列边界地区的西奈半岛。赫茨尔求助于英国政府,要求允许犹太人在西奈半岛的厄尔•阿里什地区定居,该地方后来成为犹太人移居以色列的跳板。但是英国政府再次拒绝他的要求,因为该方案意味着将从尼罗河获得太多的水资源。

赫茨尔变得越来越失意和绝望。在俄帝国犹太人的处境越来越糟糕。许多犹太穷人被要求居住在限制区域,这些犹太人正遭受着不断增多的反犹主义法令的迫害和袭击。1903年,犹太人在基什尼奥夫城遭受暴力大屠杀, 49名犹太人被残杀。犹太人需要尽快从这些地方撤离。他们不能再无望地等待奥斯曼苏丹最终允许犹太人返回以色列定居。

1903年,英国殖民部长约瑟夫•张伯伦建议犹太人在英属东非(今天的肯尼亚和乌干达)定居。赫茨尔渴望急于帮助他的同胞们,于是在1903年召开的犹太复国主义年度大会上建议接受张伯伦的意见。赫茨尔建议把该地区作为犹太人的临时避难所,直到以色列可以最终作为定居点。

犹太复国主义代表对此感到十分震惊,他们认为这是对锡安山的背叛。“乌干达计划”被送到一个专门委员会调查该计划的可行性。由于赫茨尔的威望,该计划以勉强多数票获得通过。那些反对该计划的代表宣布退席以示抗议,声称他们只忠于锡安山。这是犹太复国主义运动以来面临的最严重危机。

由于大量的外交和犹太复国主义活动,导致过度劳累和疾病,赫茨尔于1904年在下一届犹太复国主义大会召开前夕去世。在这次大会上,犹太复国主义组织断然拒绝犹太人定居锡安山以外的任何地方。这样,乌干达计划夭折了。

西奥多•赫茨尔把一切都奉献给了犹太复国主义运动——他的财富、国际新闻记者的威望、甚至整个生命。犹太复国主义获得外交认可的目标没有成功实现。但是他成功地将犹太复国主义变成一股世界力量。全世界范围内的犹太人和非犹太人都知道犹太复国主义及其目标,犹太复国主义得到世界各国的广泛认可。这些认可为犹太复国主义运动的第一个外交胜利铺平了道路——1917年的贝尔福宣言。

English
Published: 21-01-2011