A Brief Survey of the State of Israel

Official Languages: Hebrew, Arabic

Currency: New Israeli Shekel (or shekel for short)

Population: 7.7 million (75% Jewish, 20% Arabs, 5% Other)

Capital: Jerusalem

The State of Israel is both a democratic and Jewish state. As a democracy, Israel grants full democratic rights to all of its citizens. Some of these rights include the right to vote, the right to be elected to public office, freedom of speech and the right to assemble, among many others. Minorities are free to pursue their own separate stream of education, and are free to maintain their own culture and way of life.

Israel is the only country in the world that holds a Jewish majority. Israel’s Jewish identity is represented symbolically in the country’s flag, which holds the Jewish Star of David, and in the country’s anthem, which discusses the Jewish spirit. Israel’s Jewish identity is further buttressed by The Law of Return, enacted in 1950, which grants Jews and descendants of Jews the inherent right to immigrate to Israel and receive citizenship.

Political Institutions

Israel’s Democratic system consists of three political institutions which serve as the governing body of the state of Israel: the ‘Knesset,’ which serves as the Parliament, the ‘Memshala,’ which serves as the government, and the ‘Batei Mishpat,’ or the Judicial System, which consists of both secular and religious courts.

The Knesset is made up of 120 members and is held in a designated building called the Knesset building, which is located in Jerusalem. The Knesset enacts laws, approves government budgets and oversees government activities. Elections are held every four years or if the government receives a Vote of No Confidence. A Vote of No confidence is a parliamentary motion, whose passing would demonstrate to the head of state that the elected parliament no longer has confidence in the appointed government, and that a new government must be elected.

Israel’s electoral system is based on Proportional representation, which means that these elected political parties are given the amount of seats in the Knesset that is proportional to the number of votes that they received. For instance, if a party receives 15% of the total votes, they will occupy 15% of the Knesset seats. The party with the best chance of gaining a majority of the seats in the Knesset, either alone or in a coalition, which is the combination of multiple parties, is given the right to run the country during that term.

The Memshala, or government, is composed of members of the ruling coalition parties, or the parties that gained the majority of seats, and is run by the Prime Minister. The Memshala is responsible for the day-to-day running of the country and is made up of ministries (Health, Defense, Education etc) responsible for administering and regulating their respective areas.

The Batei Mishpat, or court system, is made up of judges who are appointed by a committee comprised of three judges, two lawyers and four other members. These judges preside over three levels of courts – magistrate court, district court and the Supreme Court, which is the final court of appeal. The Supreme Court also serves as an arbitrator between citizens and government or governmental agencies in a court referred to as the High court of Justice. In addition to these courts, there are courts which judge specific issues like Labor Court, Traffic Court and so on.

The Batei Din, the religious court system, is made up of religious judges appointed by the government. Each religious group – Jews, Christians and Muslims – has its own religious court system. Religious courts are primarily responsible for judging and approving the legality of marriages and divorces of religious members, as well as approval of conversions to their religion. The religious courts are run according to religious, not civil, law. Each religious group – Jews, Christians and Muslims – has their own religious court system.

Cities, Towns, and Villages

Israel is made up of cities, towns, and villages. Communities are given a specific status according to size of population. For instance, a city is any township with over 20,000 people, or in specific situations less, as dictated by government decisions. Towns are generally a few thousand people, and villages can be small settlements. Towns are run by a Local Council and villages and small settlements are administered by a regional council, as well as a locally elected head. All townships elect their own leadership. Smaller villages and towns usually elect local leaders while cities can elect representatives of national parties. The supervision of local authorities is the responsibility of the Ministry of the Interior.

Military

The Israeli Defense Forces, or the IDF, are the military forces of the state of Israel, and consist of ground forces, air forces, and navy. The IDF works on a draft system in which all Jews, and select Arabs and Druze, of the age of 18 are required to enlist yearly. Drafted soldiers serve for a maximum of three years of regular army service, or two for women. After a soldier completes their active service, they are then placed in the reserve army, where they are required to serve a few weeks every year in the army for training and routine work.

There are a number of programs that combine military service with civilian study, both religious and secular. One such program, called Mechinot, is a pre-military institution, where boys of military age deepen their Jewish identity and develop their physical strengths and capabilities. Many graduates of these institutions go on not only to serve the full three years but also become regular military officers.

There are other available army tracks, in which inducted soldiers spend part of their service outside the army. For instance, students of Hesder Yeshivot break up their army service by spending a shortened active period in the army (about a year and a half) and spend the remained of their required army service in school focusing on Judaic studies.

Diplomatic Relations

Israel has full diplomatic relations with China, complete with an Embassy in Beijing and Consulates-General in Shanghai, Guangzhou and Hong Kong. In addition, the State of Israel maintains diplomatic and commercial relations with 159 states, and maintains 98 embassies in places such as the US, Europe, South America, and Asia.

中文
Published: 24-07-2011

以色列国简介

官方语言:希伯来语,阿拉伯语

货币: 新以色列谢克尔(或简称谢克尔)

人口数量: 770万(75%犹太人,20%阿拉伯人,5%其他人种)

首都:耶路撒冷

以色列既是一个民主国家,也是一个犹太人国度。作为民主国家,以色列赋予所有民众完全的民主权利,包括投票权,担任公职的权利,自由言论权和集会权,以及其它很多权利。少数民族也有权追求独立的教育流派,有权保持自己的文化和生活方式。

以色列是世界上唯一一个以犹太人为主的国家。以色列犹太人的身份象征可以从国旗中找到,代表犹太人的大卫之星(六芒星),国歌颂扬的也是犹太人的精神。1950年颁布的《回归法》进一步验证了以色列犹太人的身份,保证犹太人及其后裔生来就有权移民到以色列并获得公民身份

政治机关

以色列民主体系由监管国家的三大政治机关组成:起到议会职能作用的Knesset,作为政府主体的Memshala,和具有世俗传统法庭和宗教法庭的司法系统Batei Mishpat。

Knesset议会由120位成员共同组成,在耶路撒冷特定的Knesset大厦里举行。Knesset负责制定法律,批准政府的预算,并且监督政府行为。选举每四年举行一次,或者如果政府得到不信任票,也需要进行选举。不信任票是一种议会动议,只要议会动议通过不信任票,就向国家元首证明议会不再信任任命的政府,必须选举新一届的政府。

以色列的选举体系是比例代表制,这意味着这些选举的政治政党在Knesset议会里有一定的席位,与他们得到的投票数成相同比例。例如,如果一个政党达到15%的总票数,那么他们将占议会15%的议会。能在议会中得到多数席位的政党,不论是单一政党还是多数政党的联合,都能得到权力在任期内管理国家。

Memshala,即政府,由执政联盟的成员或者获得多数席位的政党组成,由首相主持。政府负责日常的国家管理,由不同部门共同组成,像卫生、国防、教育等部门,分别负责管理相关领域的事物。

Batei Mishpat,即司法系统,由法官组成,他们是由三位法官、两位律师、四位其他成员组成的委员会任命。这三位法官分别主持三个不同层次的法院—裁判法院,地区法院和最高法院。最高法院是终审法院,它也扮演者裁决者的角色,在高等法院上对公民和政府或者政府机构之间作出裁决。此外,还有一些负责判决具体事物的法院,像劳工法院、交通法院等等。

Batei Din,即宗教法庭系统,由政府任命的宗教法官组成。每个宗教团体—-犹太教、基督教和穆斯林,都有各自的宗教法庭系统。宗教法庭主要负责判决和批准宗教成员的结婚离婚的合法性,以及批准宗教成员宗教信仰的转变。宗教法庭的运作是基于宗教法而不是民法。每个宗教团体都有各自的宗教法庭系统。

城市,城镇和乡村

以色列由不同的城市、城镇和乡村组成。社区依人口大小有不同的具体情况。例如:一个有超过2万人口或者在特殊情况下少于2万人口的乡镇,在政府决定的指示下,便能形成一座城市。城镇一般只有数千人口,乡村可能就只有几户人家。城镇是由市政委员会管理的,乡村和少数居住者则由区域委员会以及选举出的村长共同管理。所有乡镇选举各自领导,更小的乡村和城镇通常选举当地领导,而城市居民则能选举国家政党的代表。内政部的职责是监督地方政权。

军队

IDF, 以色列的国防军队是以色列的国家军事力量,包括陆军、空军和海军。IDF采取征兵制,所有的犹太人,部分选出的阿拉伯人和德鲁士人,年满18岁,都被要求入伍。征集的士兵要有最多三年的正规军服役,女性则两年。一个士兵完成三年的正规服役之后,就会进入预备役军队,在那里,他们被要求每年几个星期在军队中进行训练和例行工作。

有很多项目把军队服役和宗教和世俗的民间学习结合在一起。Mechinot就是这样一个项目,它是一个入伍前必须进入的机构,在那里,达到军队要求的年龄的男孩子们能深化他们的犹太身份,提高身体素质和能力。这个机构的很多毕业生不仅参加了三年服役,而且也成为军队官员。

以色列军队有其他的军队编制,引导士兵们在军队以外服役。例如,Hesder Yeshivot学校的学生们在军队中缩短服役期(大概一年半时间)并在学校中进行犹太研究从而完成剩下的军队服役。

外交关系

以色列与中国有着全面外交关系,在北京有驻华大使馆,在上海、广州和香港有领事馆。此外,以色列与159个国家保持着外交和商业关系,在美国、欧洲、南美以及亚洲有98个大使馆。

English
Published: 24-07-2011